We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Christmas Home”

Review of Garth Barns

Hafod Barn from pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn Garth Lake at Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn
Garth Lake at Sunset
Hafod Barn
Hafod Kitchen
Bedroom 5, Hafod
Bedroom 1 Hafod
Bedroom 2 Hafod
Oak Wood on the Farm Trail
Ty Nant Lounge
Bedroom 2 Ty Nant
Bedroom 1 Ty Nant
Bathroom 4 Ty Nant
Siteplan, Garth Farmhouse, Hafod and Ty Nant
Hafod floorplan
Ty Nant floorplan
Winter sunshine!
Ty Nant, rear view
Ready for the Dinner Party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
19 Bedrooms, 19 Bathrooms, Sleeps 48
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AJackson2...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Christmas Home”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Having just returned from a week at Garth Barns I had to write to say what a wonderful place it is. We stayed in Hafod Barn and the attention to detail was fantastic. We celebrated Christmas, a 50th Wedding Anniversary and a 40th birthday whilst we were there and the open plan living area worked for all of these occasions. Our group ranged from 21 months - 70 years of age and the accommodation suited everyone. You can easily get to the local village and there are numerous walks to suit all ages. Seriously considering a summer holiday there to make the most of all the outside area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonH55...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wonderful wonderful ..”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have returned today from our family Christmas holiday at Garth barns. From the moment we drove up the drive to the barns we knew we had made the right choice. On entering the barn the whole family where overwhelmed with the size of the barn, how modern, clean and warm it was. The owner Veronica had set up 2 Christmas trees and various Christmas decorations around the lounge area. We stayed in Hafod barn, the layout and finishing touches are spot on, the pictures we saw before we went there really don't do it justice, 2 of the family bedrooms are enormous, the lounge area is really nice and the games room a godsend for the men and the kiddies. there are no negatives only positives we have had many family holidays away but this was by far the best, we will definitely be returning at some point.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noori1985
London
1 review
“Memorable few days”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I visited Garth barns in the middle of September with a group of 30 adults and 8 chidlren including 4 toddlers. Every single person on the trip had nothing but positive things to say about both Garth Barns and about Veronica and John (the owners.) The barns are beautifully decorated with everything taken care of. The rooms are large and spacious with towels provided. The kitchen/ living area was big enough for us all to sit in and was fully equiped right down to foil and cling film! We had an amazing few days and made use of all the facilities including the lake, the rowing boats, the outdoor bbq, the camp fire, the treasure hunt and especially the sauna!
Three days is definitely not enough time and we have all started planning a trip back in Summer for a week. The surrounding area is beautiful with lush green countryside as far as the eye can see. I would highly recommend visiting Wales and staying at Garth Barns, its defininitely value for money and you wont regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was even better than we expected
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to complain about except wish we had stayed a few more days
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinkspang...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for a blissful getaway Garth barns is the place to go. The accommodation is stunning and has everything you could possibly need to keep everyone happy from young to old. We took family and close friends for our wedding over a long weekend and the owners were more than helpful with getting everything planned and organised. There is nothing that I would say negatively about the couple or their converted barns. The surrounding area was entertainment enough for us but there is so much to do nearby that no one could possibly have a bad holiday staying at the barns. We loved it so much we are already bugging family members to plan a weeklong trip to the barns so that we get to go back again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing I could list here
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locations layout for partying or tranquility yet safe for children.
Liked least: I can't think of anything we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feeling of quality.
Liked least: Wish it was nearer to where I live!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee G
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation and location for a celebration”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Garth Barns to celebrate my 30th birthday. There was a group of 30 of us and we stayed at Garth Barns from the Friday until the Monday. I was looking for a rural venue where my family and friends could all go to celebrate my birthday. The barns were the perfect venue and all my family and friends were overwhelmed by the high standard of the accommodation. Haford Barn was very spacious and this was the main party house easily big enough for all 30 of us to eat drink and dance the night away.

The views and surrounding area are a joy to behold and the barns fit into this setting perfectly. All of our party agreed the pictures really don't do justice to the accommodation. Veronica the owner is very accommodating on was always helpful (even helped to arranged the sleeping arrangements which for 30 people can be quite tricky) from the first enquiry all the way through to our departure. Veronica was even able to recommend lots of options of activities for the group to partake in during our stay. We opted for the off road karting option at Mid Wales Off-Road Karting and what a choice it was. All the lads went off for the day and had a great and very muddy day at the venue racing around the track. After that it was back to the barns for the party to begin.

In Conclusion i would like to thank Veronica and Garth Barns for providing an absolutely fantastic venue for my birthday weekend the memories will long live with me. I would highly recommend Garth Barns to anybody and hope to visit there again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No mobile signal
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing