We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed terrible meals” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #81 of 135 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed terrible meals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'm not sure who the 11 Excellent reviews have come from I'm assuming regulars or staff as our meals were not very good. Starters were not bad but you can't really make a mess of black pudding? The menu was very limited to start, ordered drinks and my partner got a "can" of coke but charged for a glass, I had steak for main course which was like chewing a farmers boot, this came with Frozen chips - in fact the best part was the mushrooms! Very disappointed! On top of this we couldn't really talk due to punters shouting and swearing at the football match that was on in the other side of the bar. Won't be going again, and would definately question as to whether the excellent feed back above is genuine?!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Badguts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
i have just seen your review, i must say how disappointed we are in your comments .if you had brought it to our attention on the day that you had an issue we would have looked into it and tried to solve your problem , we are newly opened and in the learning stage .but we cannot solve issues unless we are aware at the time .you have used strong words like terrible food .we beg to differ with that comment .it was also unfortunate that you where there at the same time that the football was on because as most people are aware its quite rowdy anywhere when the game is on .as for other reviews that our customers have made, and suggesting improper behavior that is unfair for you to say .we can make amends for your disappointing meal by offering you the chance to return on another occasion and make yourself known to staff who will be pleased to put this right.looking forward to hearing from you .the kings arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is now My Local....moved onto new build.So only up the Road..Dave has the Football on or Racing, whatever you like ....
Use to go The. Bluebell till it shut down..
Friendly Atmosphere, Great Log Fires..
Great Beer....10/10...,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcusEverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Passed this pub while out for a ride and decided to go in for a bite to eat. Had the fish and chips off the lite bite menu. One of the best decisions I have made in a while. Delicious food, relaxing atmosphere, cracking beer garden. Will have to go back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food in a great little pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate here after having a boat cruise on board the Pride of Sefton. We booked for 5 children and 6 adults and we were welcomed warmly on arrival. Children's food came promptly...stopped any moanings of hunger! Our food came shortly after and we were all very impressed at the quality, price and choice. Excellent pub food, with roaring log fires, friendly staff, great with children. Nice to know good food still exists in traditional pubs!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Homemade pies and real fires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were looking for a traditional pub lunch on Saturday and spotted the reviews here. I thought that a restaurant under new management would be trying hard to please and - it did! The homemade pies are excellent (steak and ale/cheese and onion) and very good value and there is plenty of variety on the menu. The two ladies waiting-on were friendly and extremely helpful and the chef also popped out to chat. A bit of a smile from the barman would have been nice though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you all enjoyed your visit. The homemade pies seem to be going down a storm, so very glad you all enjoyed them too. Sorry the barman wasn't as friendly as our team, the bar and restaurant are managed separately but i will pass that information on to the Bar-management team. We welcome you all back soon.
Thank you again,
kind regards.
Restaurant staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Lathom, Ormskirk
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing