We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade pies and real fires”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #85 of 146 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were looking for a traditional pub lunch on Saturday and spotted the reviews here. I thought that a restaurant under new management would be trying hard to please and - it did! The homemade pies are excellent (steak and ale/cheese and onion) and very good value and there is plenty of variety on the menu. The two ladies waiting-on were friendly and extremely helpful and the chef also popped out to chat. A bit of a smile from the barman would have been nice though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you all enjoyed your visit. The homemade pies seem to be going down a storm, so very glad you all enjoyed them too. Sorry the barman wasn't as friendly as our team, the bar and restaurant are managed separately but i will pass that information on to the Bar-management team. We welcome you all back soon.
Thank you again,
kind regards.
Restaurant staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Four of us went yesterday, it was our first visit since it reo-openend and yes we were pleasantly suprised. The dining area is spacious and well-layed out. Very freindly service from all the staff, who come and took our order. We ordered Steak & Ale Pie with chips and peas, Chicken & Beef Cock & Bull (of the specials), Cumberland Sausage and mash (plus loads of gravy....yum), and ham, egg and chips from the Light Bite Menu. All the food was served piping hot, well presented with a friendly and helpful waitress service. The chef also came out to see if everything was ok with our meals. If you want good value for money and especially if you have family/riends we all recommend the Kings Arm's. The four of us all adult ate for £30 and that included the drinks. The food portions will even challnge the most hungry of Horace's..............well done, we will be back next time to try the Sunday Lunch. We wish the new owners well and it is right what another review says its just what Haskayne needs. Well done all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandgrounder41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

thank you very much for your review ,the team are glad you enjoyed your visit to the kings arms and welcome you and your family back again soon .your review is very important to us for future improvements ,and are open to suggestions and feedback .once again thankyou and kind regards
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been in a few times now since re-opened for food.
Sunday lunch is just fab, had a slice of each meat, which came with all the trimmings and extra gravy, served really nicely by a very polite waitress, who cannot look after you enough.
Just what Haskayne needs....proper home cooked food from local farms.
Make sure you dont eat though if heading that way, as the meals are plenty.
Had a few drinks with the locals in there after too, a very plesant and friendly pub, even the punters make you feel welcome.
Now looking forward to the summer when the BBQ's start outside and eating in the lovely beer garden too :)
Well done guys!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

thanks for your review ,the team are glad you enjoyed your visit to the kings and welcome you and your family back again soon .your review is very important to us for future improvements ,and are open to suggestions and feedback .once again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Elaine Macleod
my husband+i went out for a meal friday night at the kings arms i had the lite bite meal which was gamon and egg chips and mushy peas which was delish all for a fiver well worth hubby had the big burger chips and salad which was to die for he said and he is a big feller will defo go back again very soon as the staff could not do enough for us keep up the good work king arms thank you xx
Like · · 16 March at 20:33 near Liverpool

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elaine6055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

thank you very much for your review ,the team are glad you enjoyed your visit to the kings arms and welcome you and your family back again soon .your review is very important to us for future improvements ,and are open to suggestions and feedback .once again thankyou and kind regards
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

my husband and I ate at the Kings Arms the food & service was excellent, my husband had the homemade steak pie chips peas and gravy it was huge my hubby was full couldnt squeeze anymore in. I had Scampi chips & salad with the chefs homemade Tar tar sauce which was gorgeous i have never tasted tar tar sauce like it superb flavour. will be going again when I'm shopping in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshFoodChef, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

thank you very much for your review ,the team are glad you enjoyed your visit to the kings arms and welcome you and your family back again soon .your review is very important to us for future improvements ,and are open to suggestions and feedback .once again thankyou and kind regards
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing