We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ormskirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Ormskirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I were impressed with the overall quality of this lovely B & B. The accommodation has everything you could expect and more, making it excellent value for a short break. It is a perfect stopover for people wanting to travel on to the races at Aintree and Haydock but would also be a great base for spending a few days visiting the sights of Liverpool. Deborah and Steve are pleasant easygoing hosts who make you feel at home and for whom nothing is too much trouble. Upon arrival, we were offered afternoon tea and cake which was most welcome after our long journey. Our room was spotless, well equipped and had nice touches such as little boxes of chocolates each side of the bed. The spacious en-suite bathroom housed a relaxing jacuzzi and an efficient easy-to-operate shower. Guests also have exclusive use of a comfortable lounge and a hearty breakfast is served in an adjoining bright and airy conservatory. It would be hard to fault any aspect of our stay as everything provided was of a high quality with particular attention to detail. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and would suggest having an evening meal at the excellent Blue Mallard in nearby Burscough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great B&B - just the ticket for a relaxing stay. Stayed here for a night on a business trip earlier this month and was taken care of very well.

The breakfast was great and the rooms were very comfortable (nice comfy bed, spotlessly clean and the en suite had a good shower) with all the facilities that you need, plus high quality hot drink/biscuit on offer. Cozy guest lounge with a fire and comfy sofas too.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Better than any 5 star hotel and Debs' attention to detail gives a wonderful homely feel, even to lighting the fire on a cold afternoon. Thank you for a very comfortable stay and the little extras that made our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: Easily accessible for Liverpool, Wigan and Edge Hill university. The comfort and welcome negate any...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

B&B's can sometimes be a hit and miss affair, but this one sets a new standard. This converted old barn in Lancashire offers an exceedingly high quality level of stay. The building is lovely and very 'homey' once inside. Deb greeted me at the door and made me feel very welcome and looked after. The place was spotless, everything looked brand new! The room was large and spacious with a much larger and 'posher' en suite than expected - large power shower and jacuzzi corner bath. Real effort has been made here to make customer feel comfortable and actually enjoy the stay rather than just use it as a base whilst visiting to crash over in. The room also had a TV/DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities as well as a bag of Thorntons Chocolates.....which didn't last lone, well it was Christmas!

In the morning I was awoken with the unmistakable smell of a fine English cooked breakfast, which tasted just as good as it smelt.

Paying for the stay via PayPal was easy and convenient as I could do it via my phone upon departure not worrying about having the right money with me.

Couldn't ask for more, top marks....not sure if B&B's can carry a 5 star rating, but this one would certainly get it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWalker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was like staying with relatives, only better! From helping us to get around and make our plans, to the charming accommodations and wonderful breakfasts we were served every morning, we truly didn't want to leave. We were treated so well, taken care of, and felt at home from the moment we arrived...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormskirk
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.4 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Birches Brow Boutique Guestrooms
0.8 mi away
Briars Hall Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Brook Farm B&B
Brook Farm B&B
#4 of 11 in Ormskirk
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hoscar Cottage Hoscar Moss Road | Hoscar, Nr. Burscough, Ormskirk L40 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ormskirk
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoscar Cottage Bed and Breakfast is set in the heart of the Lancashire countryside. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodation with a warm and friendly welcome. We have two double en-suite rooms,one with a power shower and the other can also be a twin room, with power shower and jacuzzi bath. There is a guest living room with open fire which leads onto a breakfast room with open views. Easy access to Burscough, Ormskirk, Preston, Liverpool and Manchester. We are a 2-minute walk to Hoscar Railway Station on the Manchester to Southport line. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoscar Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ormskirk, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing