We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good carvery”
Review of The Kicking Donkey

The Kicking Donkey
Ranked #44 of 139 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub/RestaurantTelephone: 01695 572657Postcode: L40 8HY
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good carvery”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on 2 consecutive Sundays and had the carvery on both occasions good choice of meats, food was good and cooked well,lovely traditional puds,landlord and staff were very friendly and efficient, a nice warm atmosphere,well worth the drive from Southport we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute disgraceful”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I went to The Kicking Donkey on Sunday 6th October 2013, the choice was abysmal the service was very poor and the food was much below what is standard acceptable. My wife chose the Turkey, this cuts that were given were in pieces from the lower end, the carver had no idea how to carve a simple piece of Turkey, my wife chose the carrot and turnip which is her favourite, there was very little stuffing and a poor choice of other vegetables. When my wife commenced eating the carrot and turnip was ice cold, it had definitely been defrosted and someone forgot to heat it up. My wife was advised that a side plate was to be given for her carrot and Turnip and it was heated up, by time it arrived back my wife had finished most of the meal. I will not even mention that the choice was Turkey, Beef or Gammon, there gammon was on its last literally a bit left, I had no choice but to go for the beef which I didn't really want, again I also had the same experience with the carrot and turnip as I also didn't know it was cold. At least 5 other couples complained at the same time. We will never go back there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not what it says on the tin!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

really nice pub and nice service, but I for one I,m fed up of signs saying home cooked food and then getting cheap frozen chips, kids meal same as maccys, frozen nuggets, chips and no toy or drink,, nope sorry, don't have home cooked food signs up and serve frozen food I wouldn't eat at home for that price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_b346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“New menu - same great welcome !”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy times here and are always looked after on every level.
On this occasion Andy the publican greeted us and our elderly relative in the car park after a three week absence through ill health - and made us especially welcome. What a nice guy Andy is and his assistance was genuine.
The food as ever was very good - and served with a smile.
The new look menu has some excellent new dishes and the specials board keeps the whole thing lively.
I don't drink alcohol as I'm driving - but I've heard that the beers are exceptional.
Long may this lovely couple continue to get the support from the local community which they so richly deserve !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Cutting across from Southport to the Motorway yesterday and decided to pop in for some dinner; once again, not disappointed. Had the home made Turkey and Ham Pie with veg and chips. The veg was clearly fresh and everything was piping hot, as it should be. Washed down with a pint of Abbots Cask Ale.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kicking Donkey also viewed

Lathom, Ormskirk
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to The Kicking Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing