We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summers Day by the Canal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Ranked #25 of 136 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Canal-side restaurant with good food and service, in countryside location
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Summers Day by the Canal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a lovely venue. Pub alongside the Canal, sun shining, vibrant atmosphere, and a clean and modern interior. Didn't try the food, but will do in the future, because it was a pleasant place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diablo_Nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    113
    42
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Canalside location and food with a modern twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is far from being the traditional idea of a country pub with horse brasses and predictable menus. After a big revamp about 5 years ago the Saracens Head has great views of passing narrowboats from the light and airy dining room. The food provides an excellent choice of modern European dishes together with old favourites like chicken, ham and leek pie and chips. The £13.95 2 course lunch menu offered a wide variety of interesting dishes. I chose chicken liver parfait with onion marmalade and toasted ciabatta and followed with grilled fillet of hake over risotto. Sadly the generous portions meant no room left for pud! There was a lovely bottle of Sancerre for under £25. Service was very friendly and eager to please. There is a fenced in childrens play area and seating for diners on the canal bank and plenty of parking space.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The most fabulous place around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited the Saracens head last week during this glorious weather and it was fair to say the place was booming. Even though this was the case both courses arrived promptly and were delicious to say the least...that is what you call real value for money! The pub itself is decorated to such a high standard and is different to any other country pub I have ever been to and the setting on the canal is second to none! All the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful with recommendations of what to order! Even though they were so busy, nothing was too much. We were regularly checked upon by the manager on duty who had a really lovely charm about him. I would sincerely recommend the Saracens head and can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRM0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“One of the best locations around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a lovely meal. The food was perfect and really well priced on the specials menu. 2 courses 15 quid is good value. I had haloumi with salad and J had Thai fish cakes then we both had baked hake for main. Lost a blob as we waited ages to pay pay. Food amazing, lovely location and play area if you have kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Craziest food ordering service ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Im normally pretty chilled when it comes to eating out - but this place was just odd. Went for an evening meal. Told we couldn't even place an order for food for 30 minutes as a large group were expected. (The staff didn't offer to come and find us when we could order). After 30 minutes went to the bar again to order and told I had to wait for other people to come in from outside who were due to place an order before me. They made me wait at the bar for 5 minutes but nobody else waiting or ordering! Eventually they decided to take my order, only to tell me that half the menu options were sold out. After the first course, we had to go back inside the bar with a slip of paper to tell them that we were ready for our main course. I've never known a system like it. Why couldn't the waiting staff clear the first course plates in a timely manner and let the chef know we were ready to eat - just like any other restaurant. Overall disorganised chaos. When the food arrived portions were average and didn't justify the price - I guess we were paying for the fancy plates...next time I'm going to The Kicking Donkey which is nearby. Thats another country pub with benches outside that offer great value food and portions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Lathom, Ormskirk
Burscough, Ormskirk
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing