We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Ranked #21 of 135 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Canal-side restaurant with good food and service, in countryside location
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Today we have had Sunday Lunch at the Saracens Head.

My hubby had the gammon and eggs anf I had the turkey roast meal.

Have to say it was beautiful.The food was very well presented.well cooked and very tasty.

I would recommend this venue for Sunday lunch or indeed any other meal.

The service was excellent.Prices are good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissylolsuepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    112
    42
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“No Christmas atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for evening meal on Boxing Day, party of 6 people (one in a wheelchair). Upon arrival, we were informed that our table was up a step. When I mentioned one of our party was in a wheelchair, I was met with the comment - you didn't mention that when you booked - this was said in an unfriendly way. Two of the meals were cold, the extra chips we ordered were very late arriving. There was no Christmas atmosphere at all, no decorations at all in the area we were sitting. When we originally booked, we were told that the only table available was either 5.00 pm or 5.30 pm as the restaurant was full. When we were leaving at about 8.00 pm., the restaurant was nowhere near full. We thought the meals were overpriced for what they were and there was not a great selection of vegetarian meals. The lighting was very dim, so much so that we were unable to take any photographs.

We have been to the restaurant previously several years ago in the summer and really enjoyed our meal but obviously things have changed.

Baxter Family

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Went for boxing day evening meal - food was really good and no complaints at all. Good value for money at £80 for 3 for starters and mains with drinks.
Service was fast and polite. Venue was good.
Overall I would recommend the restaurant - oh and the starters were piri piri king prawns, crab cakes and black pudding. Mains - belly pork, duck and Toulouse sausages. Everyone was impressed, well cooked and tasty

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David-Claire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“12.00 ~ 2.00pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went for lunch with 2 friends yesterday. Enjoyed every mouthful of my food. I had a goats cheese croute to start and the Goosnargh chicken breast for main. I fancied the glazed parsnips that accompanied another dish and they added them to my meal without any extra charge. We also shared a portion of ice cream. The amaretto and cherry was to die for! The service was very good and I would certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretentious and sloppy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were a party of ten, and we've had a number of family meals here - this was our last. As usual, we were amused by the flowery language on the menu, but (for example) if you really must print 'pan gravy' on the menu, don't then serve poor-quality roast meat sitting in a large pool of obviously packet-mix gravy, then wait for it to congeal for five minutes before bringing the veg, microwaved to death at the last moment. They have an ongoing problem with this: at every meal we've had there, someone has got their veg very late, or not all in one case. Winter veg soup with rosemary cream and chopped chestnuts: bland green soup with a bit of foam floating in it - no sign of chestnut. Overprice, pretentious and sloppy. Charming and helpful staff, by the way: the problem is very much in the kitchen.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Lathom, Ormskirk
Scarisbrick, Ormskirk
 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing