We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Christmas atmosphere”
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Ranked #32 of 141 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Canal-side restaurant with good food and service, in countryside location
A TripAdvisor Member
“No Christmas atmosphere”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for evening meal on Boxing Day, party of 6 people (one in a wheelchair). Upon arrival, we were informed that our table was up a step. When I mentioned one of our party was in a wheelchair, I was met with the comment - you didn't mention that when you booked - this was said in an unfriendly way. Two of the meals were cold, the extra chips we ordered were very late arriving. There was no Christmas atmosphere at all, no decorations at all in the area we were sitting. When we originally booked, we were told that the only table available was either 5.00 pm or 5.30 pm as the restaurant was full. When we were leaving at about 8.00 pm., the restaurant was nowhere near full. We thought the meals were overpriced for what they were and there was not a great selection of vegetarian meals. The lighting was very dim, so much so that we were unable to take any photographs.

We have been to the restaurant previously several years ago in the summer and really enjoyed our meal but obviously things have changed.

Baxter Family

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    120
    46
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Went for boxing day evening meal - food was really good and no complaints at all. Good value for money at £80 for 3 for starters and mains with drinks.
Service was fast and polite. Venue was good.
Overall I would recommend the restaurant - oh and the starters were piri piri king prawns, crab cakes and black pudding. Mains - belly pork, duck and Toulouse sausages. Everyone was impressed, well cooked and tasty

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David-Claire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“12.00 ~ 2.00pm”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went for lunch with 2 friends yesterday. Enjoyed every mouthful of my food. I had a goats cheese croute to start and the Goosnargh chicken breast for main. I fancied the glazed parsnips that accompanied another dish and they added them to my meal without any extra charge. We also shared a portion of ice cream. The amaretto and cherry was to die for! The service was very good and I would certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretentious and sloppy”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were a party of ten, and we've had a number of family meals here - this was our last. As usual, we were amused by the flowery language on the menu, but (for example) if you really must print 'pan gravy' on the menu, don't then serve poor-quality roast meat sitting in a large pool of obviously packet-mix gravy, then wait for it to congeal for five minutes before bringing the veg, microwaved to death at the last moment. They have an ongoing problem with this: at every meal we've had there, someone has got their veg very late, or not all in one case. Winter veg soup with rosemary cream and chopped chestnuts: bland green soup with a bit of foam floating in it - no sign of chestnut. Overprice, pretentious and sloppy. Charming and helpful staff, by the way: the problem is very much in the kitchen.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue for a Larger Function”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We needed a venue for a mid-afternoon family gathering for 80 people and what an excellent choice the Saracens Head in Halsall was. The premises were comfortable and tastefully decorated and furnished. We went on a wet wintery afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Alison and the rest of the staff. We chose a buffet meal and we received many positive comments from our guests about the quantity and quality of the food that was served. The staff were very friendly and attentive. There was a large selection of sandwiches, salads, mountains of ‘chunky’ chips and unlimited teas and coffees. It was all very reasonably priced. If you are arranging such a gathering then I have no hesitation in recommending the Saracen’s Head as they were easily able to deal with such a large number. I shall definitely be visiting again to try out some of their other menus as will other guests. A big thank you to Alison for making the function stress free for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burscoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Lathom, Ormskirk
Scarisbrick, Ormskirk
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing