We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Olive - CLOSED

The Fat Olive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our concept at The Fat Olive is based on providing fresh homemade food with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. With menus styled with a International theme and an added Traditional Lancashire twist you can be sure that there will be a dish to suit everyone's taste from either the a la carte menu or weekly changing specials. The restaurant boasts great modern decor and a friendly ambience offering a full wine list with draft and bottled beers available.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Ok so we've eaten here quite a few times and it's been lovely food every time but and this is a big BUT -1 scores on the doors???? How???
Even the local take away can get a 3 so how can they get a 1?? Won't be going back until things improve. Pity as I wanted to go for my birthday

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I am sorry to read your response to your latest visit to the Fat Olive. I would like to notify you that our current score of 1 on the rating system was not due to hygiene in the kitchen but to a maintenance issue that we were left with after an experience with a bad tradesman. This has now been remedied and we are having a new inspection in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    60
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Arrived for a birthday bash on Friday; Great atmosphere because we were there; unfortunately the food was very bland to say the least. we were asked to keep the noise down because the 40th birthday party on the next table thought we were too loud lol and had to knock £70 from their bill; we weren't that bad. As a large group of friends we eat out a lot together unfortunately The Fat Olive wont be getting any fatter from us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpinningJen, Owner at The Fat Olive, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am sorry to see that you only rated the Fat Olive with three stars following your party last weekend. I think it is rather unfair that you have announced the food was 'bland' on the public domain of Trip Advisor, when your party did not mention anything to us on the night.
You are correct when you said that the other party complained about the noise and language coming from certain members of your party.
When they brought their concerns to our attention and our Manager asked your party to lower the volume, they then complained again that they were being personally insulted by some diners in your party because they had complained.
We did indeed have to refund their party money, due to a reason that was not our fault I.e food or service, and for small family business owners, this is very frustrating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpected and very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Trying to find somewhere to eat on a Monday night in a wet Ormskirk! Little gem in Fat Olive. Fairly quiet on our arrival but this didn't stop the waitress checking they had room - it got better. The service was food, the owner was very friendly and the food was fab. We had some starters from the Specials to share - black pudding in peppercorn sauce and deep fried Brie. Brie were large slices but very tasty so not complaining and the black pudding was absolutely brilliant !! Reasonable choice of mains and we all chose either stuffed peppers or tagliellete with prawns (gamberone). We were all very happy with our choices - really delicious . Would definitely recommend!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I regularly dine at the Fat Olive, and can honestly say I have never had a bad meal or experience here! Staff are always superb, food is cooked to perfection, presented beautifully and full of taste, and the surroundings are tasteful and elegant. Fabulous restaurant in all aspects!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamondjay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Gave it another chance...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited one wet Saturday in October about 3 for late lunch, early tea with children. Was quiet but nice and good service until a party turned up upstairs. The children's menu was not as good as it used to be and there were no specials. Once the party arrived the staff forgot to see if we wanted more food, forgot orders and we stood up to pay the bill rather than wait longer.I think 3 is still a fair mark that says this place is ok but could be lots better and others probably have better experience. The party was probably great and nice venue with lots of space and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Olive also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Scarisbrick, Ormskirk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing