We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel, very helpful owner”
Review of Sydney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The owner of Sydney Hotel welcomes you with cold orangejuice. That is what the hotel is about. It is a good basic backpackers hotel. The rooms are not too big, but everything is there. Airco, refrigrator, privat bathroom with shower. The breakfast is verry good. But the best thing is its's owner Angelo. He gives good information how to visit the Meteora monestry's and getting away from the crowds. And he is verry helpfull in planning the rest of your trip in getting the hard to get infromation about train en bustimes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent location, breathtaking view and a very hospitable host. We were 4 adults and a kid who arrived at the hotel on an evening in April, planning to stay there only for a night we had booked a Quadruple room. The owner felt it could be too congested for the 4 of us there and he himself offered 2 separate rooms at no extra charge. Then in the morning he served us with an excellent, full filling breakfast. He gave us all the information and driving instructions.
Not very fancy but decent rooms at quite reasonable price(Brkfst incl). In the end we were all happy with the service and location. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Sydney is a nice hotel, located at the nice place. We felt like exclusive guests in the hotel. The owner was very kind and hospitable, interesting speaker. He provided us with great information about surrounding attractions. Our room had nice view to the rocks where monasteries were located. Two old neglected monasteries were visible on these rocks. These all made impressive spirit of the place, opening from the room balcony.
Kastraki is an excellent place, where historical spirit is preserved more than in other places around. There is good tavern near the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naddika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The place is remarkable and it was a true delight to chat with the owner. A little cold for early October but a magnificent breakfast. A quite place to stop after Meteors.

Room Tip: Try mountain view rooms, first floor rooms are good also with nice small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zotta_zotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very nice owner, very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are quite basic, but you cannot wait more for such cheap price. Breakfast (inc. in price) for Greece was very good.
Beautiful view of the rocks of Meteora, yard for parking, balcony.
Very good place to stay for cheap, would recommend to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_M046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

You will get a warm and friendly welcome at the Sydney. It is an excellent base for exploring Meteora. In the evening you can sit on your balcony or the hotel terrace with your choice of drink and watch the fantastic rock formations slowly blend into the twilight. The village is small but has a couple of shops including a bakery. There is a good value taverna next door.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We arrived at Sydney hotel for a two night stay. We got a wonderful newly refurbished room and were welcomed with a glass of orange juice from our host.

The next day we woke up to go and explore meteora and got a map and explanation about the region.

The next day we had to leave early to get to another city so the owner woke up extra early to give us breakfast and hour and a half earlier than usual.

The location is great, outskirts I kastraki, 5 min to the center And 15 min walk to kalambaka.
Lots of tavernas around to choose from.

The rooms were clean and organized and there was free wifi in the lobby.

All in all a great place to stay for cheap with fantastic service, would recommend to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uri_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastraki
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meteoritis
Hotel Meteoritis
#3 of 7 in Kastraki
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meteora Hotel
Meteora Hotel
#4 of 7 in Kastraki
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#3 of 34 in Kalambaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Divani Meteora Hotel
Divani Meteora Hotel
#5 of 34 in Kalambaka
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#17 of 34 in Kalambaka
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dellas Boutique Hotel
Dellas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 34 in Kalambaka
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Hotel

Address: Kastrakiou, Kastraki, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka > Kastraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing