We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
  
Ways to Experience Meteora
from $24.27
More Info
from $119.90
More Info
from $111.91
More Info
from $34.26
More Info
Reviews (4,914)
Filter reviews
4,914 results
Traveler rating
4,482
380
43
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,482
380
43
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monasteries perched rock formations out of this world amazing place bucket list holy trinity great meteoron long skirt breathtaking views awe inspiring dress code entrance fee tour buses your eyes sunset tour greece athens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,706 - 1,711 of 4,914 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

definitely wort a trip! although it rained for the first day of our visit, this only added to the atmospheric setting of misty mountains and somehow enhanced the experience. This is not to say that the landscape was not equally stunning during the next beautifully sunny day!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently visited Volos Greece as a port stop on a Black Sea cruise. Having limited time and wanting to see as much as possible we decided to hire a car / drive. We found on-line, and through emails made arragements for taxiinvolos.gr to drive us to visit the Meteora monasteries. The monasteries are handsome and charming, the settings are stunning. Each has its own unique charm. The switch back road was a scenic ride up to the monasteries. Our driver introduced us to a excellent restaurant for lunch before driving to Makrinista. The view of Volos and the sea from the hills was impressive. Our guide was friendly, very professional and a good host. I highly recommend Taxi in Volos.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A must see!

Wrote review about one forgotten Convent Saint Barbara Holy Monastery

Walking down through the winding steps through a wooded area makes one wonder if they are lost, is there really a monastery somewhere in these woods. Finally you find yourself on the newly constructed steps which lead to a not so sturdy looking bridge to the monastery.

You will find yourself greeted by a nun, dressed in a black habit with a ready smile. Don't let that smile fool you, if you aren't dressed properly she will let you know.

The 15th century building is a convent with approximately 30 nuns in resident. This is the only building which can be seen from the city of Kalambaka. If you have enlisted the aide of a tour guide you will learn the history dating back to the 15th century through present, with emphasis on the nun who arrived there in the 1960's after years of the building bring uninhibited after bombing during WWII.

The grounds are beautifully maintained, along with a tiny gift shop near the entrance but check out the items the nuns made outside the chapel area - worth taking home a memory.

Like all the monasteries the view is fabulous!

Walking down through the winding steps through a wooded area makes one wonder if they are lost, is there really a monastery somewhere in these woods. Finally you find yourself on the newly constructed steps which lead to a not so sturdy looking bridge to the monastery.

You will find yourself greeted by a nun, dressed in a black habit with a ready smile. Don't let that smile fool you, if you aren't dressed properly she will let you know.

The 15th century building is a convent with approximately 30 nuns in resident. This is the only building which can be seen from the city of Kalambaka. If you have enlisted the aide of a tour guide you will learn the history dating back to the 15th century through present, with emphasis on the nun who arrived there in the 1960's after years of the building bring uninhibited after bombing during WWII.

The grounds are beautifully maintained, along with a tiny gift shop near the entrance but check out the items the nuns made outside the chapel area - worth taking home a memory.

Like all the monasteries the view is fabulous!

Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is the most unique and most interesting place I have been to. There are 6 or 7 monasteries suspended in the air. You are practically close to heaven when you visit the place. These rock formations were the genuine creation of God and should be voted one of the seven wonders of the world.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank ronrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

On a recent visit to Greece, my husband and I used taxiinvolos.gr to visit the Meteora monasteries. I had been looking forward to this tour and was disappointed when the day turned to be a gray and rainy. However, once we saw the first monastery, we realized this wet, gray day seemed to enhance the experience. After we viewed the monasteries we went to a restaurant recommended by our guide for a delightful lunch before driving to Makrinista. Viewing the town of Volos from this vantage point was gorgeous. Driving past homes that seemed to spring from the rocks fit perfectly with our visit to Metora where the monasteries looked like they had been carved from solid stone. Our guide was very professional and offered good suggestions on how to maximize our limited time. I would recommend Taxi in Volos without any hesitation.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Gayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews