We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse Papastathis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Papastathis
Ranked #1 of 6 Kastraki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Guesthouse Papastathis”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely guesthouse and lovely people that are running it. Breakfast was lovely. We had a room at the front and our friends at the back. Both rooms were comfortable. We had views over two monastaries and the main village is in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
79
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

From our room we could see 2 of the monasteries & St. Georgios Mantilas. Breakfast was good. People very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend it. The town of Kastraki was in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse probably has the best location in the village, its the last house on the road to the monasteries and the views from the balconies are amazing . The rooms are simple but have everything and the breakfast was the best we have had in a week and this was the least expensive of those places! It's not a buffet. A much better experience than staying at a hotel Kalambaka

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmettMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just came back from Meteora in Greece and we stayed 1 nice in this guesthouse. It is a simple and clean guesthouse. They are just down the Meteora rock and amazing view ! The owner are very very friendly. For breakfast, homemade toast was delicious ! The only thing is that it was low season (just before Easter) and the town was a little bit dead !

Room Tip: We had room number 21 or 22 (not sure) with an amazing view on Meteora
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Hess, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great simple place to stay at when you visit Meteora. Rooms are somewhat Spartan, but everything else is great including location, tidiness (everything is super clean), the hosts. Free parking and free (relatively fast compared to other places we stayed at in Greece), add to the fold.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank y0ramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great hotel. Clean rooms. Very nice breakfast. The owner waited up fo me until almost 3 am when i was lost on the way there. You have a great view and you are staring face to face w the huge rocks of Meteora. Very reasonable pricing.. I would highly reccomend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMphotographY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in April. It is a great location for visiting the monasteries and there are several restaurants within easy walking distance.
The owners don't speak much English - Greek or German is preferred. This is the only reason they didn't 5/5 for service. They were very welcoming and happy to give advice on walks etc in the area. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate - it is not a buffet - you sit at the table and they serve you. Plenty of parking.
I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpachNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastraki
0.4 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doupiani House Hotel
Doupiani House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Kalambaka
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#9 of 34 in Kalambaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dellas Boutique Hotel
Dellas Boutique Hotel
#1 of 34 in Kalambaka
1,189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alsos House
Alsos House
#11 of 34 in Kalambaka
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Meteora
Grand Meteora
#5 of 7 in Kastraki
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Papastathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Papastathis

Property: Guesthouse Papastathis
Address: Kastrakiou - Meteoron, Kastraki, Kalambaka 42200, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka > Kastraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kastraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Papastathis 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Papastathis, beautifully set in the shade of the rocks of Meteora, is only 1 km away from Kalambaka and within walking distance from the centre of the picturesque village Kastraki.The first monastery of Meteora is only 100 metres from the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guesthouse Papastathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing