We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tsikeli Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kastraki(Kalambaka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sydney Hotel(Kastraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Meteora(Kastraki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pyrgos Adrachti(Kastraki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meteora(Kalambaka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meteora Hotel(Kastraki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
222
142
34
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
142
34
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat gardentoasted sandwichbreadvery nice hotelgarden arearooms are cleanhotel ownersgreat place to stayfamily hotelminute walkthe location is perfectgreat breakfastkastraki villageenjoyed our staymeteora rocksmountain viewhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 418 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Tsikeli Hotel is an excellent place to stay if you want to see the sights at Meteora. You could hardly be closer to the monasteries. My friend and I had nice good sized rooms with balconies overlooking the towers. Breakfast was included and generous if simple. All for a really good price. In addition Ioannes and his mother always seemed to be available for a smile and a chat and helped us with choosing where to go. There is good parking at the hotel and a choice of tavernas nearby in Kastraki or down the road in Kalambaka.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doc Mike UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

When visiting Meteora Monasteries stay in the charming little village of Kastraki instead of the town of Kalambaka . Kastraki is just a little further up the road to Meteora and is a small village where you can find some good restaurants and shops nearby; you can walk everywhere in town.The Tsikeli Hotel is a nice small hotel family run hotel with a good bed, clean room, modern bathroom with toilet, and they have a nice breakfast in the morning. Very quiet with a great view of Meteora from the garden and our room. The hotel owners were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs with a mountain view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCo893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

All of the previous posts clearly describe the good qualities of Tsikeli Hotel~ Excellent internet connection and plenty of hot water! ~So I'm focusing more on the logistics of visiting the area. We had chosen independent train from Athens, with 3 night hotel stay, instead of the package bus tour. It was perfect for us, allowing quiet down time between hikes and the chance to use a superior local guide agency. Definitely a savings, without much effort. More days allows you to plan your visits around each monastery's 1 closed day per week. (ALL are OPEN on Sundays)
Only difficulty was getting between train and hotel. My fault entirely. I didn't realize that Tsikeli Hotel was in Kastraki Village, just outside Kalambaka / also spelled Kalampaka, but definitely NOT walking distance from the train station. There are similar street names in both towns, so we thought we'd found it on the map board in the town square. No way!! Lucky we have no aversion to asking for directions and a kind resident in Kalambaka called us a very inexpensive taxi (she didn't understand the word "cab") We traveled back to town for dinner one night approx 3.5 Euros each way.
As it turned out, Kastraki is uphill on the way to the monasteries, although the number of restaurants open for dinner in the immediate area is much fewer than "in town" of Kalambaka. Tsikeli Hotel is just a couple doors down from two tiny mini markets run by friendly women who speak some English. Besides drinks and snacks, that's where you'll catch the 9AM bus to the top monastery (Grand Meteora - don't skip it!) Bus comes from town, up through the village and continues up the mountain. Get off there, schedule at least an hour and 3 Euros, to visit the big monastery, and depending upon other plans (local tours ) you can probably walk downhill back to the village, past entrances to 2 other monastery options (Vaarus and St Nicholas) We found that visiting the remaining monasteries was much easier, fun and informative on one of the local Meteora tours. The innkeepers are more than willing to help with any questions you may have.

Room Tip: Put one of the thick woolen blankets beneath the sheet as a mattress pad. No need to worry about street noise in any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Family run hotel with great views of the mountains. Rooms very spacious and clean. Lots of places close by to eat and the staff very helpful in helping you get to them. Breakfast was fairly simple but was good and we did not leave hungry!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougE142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had read all of the glowing reviews of Tsikeli Hotel and, as soon as we arrived, it was clear that they were all true. This family-run hotel is perfectly located away from the touristy hustle and bustle of Kalambaka but very close to the Meterora monasteries. The owners are extremely helpful and every restaurant that they recommended was superb. Having breakfast under the magnificent Meteora rocks in Tsikeli Hotel's garden was also an experience I'll always remember.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Meteora mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plunkessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews