We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gem of a hotel in the mountains!”
Review of Hotel del Oso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cosgaya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Oso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel on a motor biking holiday in June 2013. We had heard good reviews about it and decided to detour here for a night's stay before catching our ferry home. We were very glad we did! We stayed in the main building on the second floor in a beautiful room overlooking the stream and the annexe building. We had dinner here in the evening, and the food was excellent with huge portions. We then had a coffee outside admiring the view of the mountains. The service was good throughout our stay and I hope we go back to stay there again some time in the future! 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Card S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Oso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 561 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value and the service exceeded our expectations. The location is just perfect and so tranquil.
Our room was clean, comfortable and overlooked the pool.
This is the perfect place to stay to explore the Picos and the hotel also provides details of local walks which are well worth doing.
The restaurant is excellent with a good menu and again we couldn't fault the service.
We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a perfect base from where to explore the Picos - a lovely village Cosgaya with beautiful views, set by a little river.

The hotel staff are simply wonderful, helpful, friendly, polite. The hotel is extremely comfortable and the food is excellent - and it is very good value.

There is plenty to do around the area - cycling, endless walking, visiting other villages nearby. But the hotel is a perfect place to relax and take it easy too (see the St. Bernard dogs if you need inspiration on how to relax!).

We look forward to our return visit!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor on the village/river side. It was lovely to keep the doors to the balcon...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank injun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our party of four stayed two nights at the Hotel del Oso. It is situated just off Highway CA-185; the main building is separated from the roadway by a mountain stream while an annex is across the road. The road isn't busy, so we weren't bothered by the fact that it featured in the view from our balconies. The Picos soared high above and put things in perspective. Throughout the day there were the sounds of the dairy herd grazing in the meadows behind the annex. The tinkling of the cow bells mixed with the noise from the rushing stream. The one word for it is bucolic. Bedrooms and bathrooms are smallish. But there were large public lounges on our floor and the floor above, as well downstairs. The really distinctive feature of the hotel, which isn't especially cheap, is the impeccable service. Every staff member went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. And the food in the hotel's restaurant is very good. The breakfast buffet is worth every penny. FYI, when you want to try something different there is another very good place to eat (Urogallo) just up the valley on the other side of the road..

Room Tip: See if you can stay in the main building. It is just more convenient than the annex.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A real gem of a hotel!

And you can see that by the reviews – no-one has given it even an average rating. Everyone loves it.

Beautifully sited in a gorge with towering peaks all around, by a little river and just 10 minutes by car from the cable car at Fuente De.

It’s not a Five Star Luxury hotel, so there’s no pillow menu nor minibar in the rooms, which are just a tad cramped – no room for any chairs, for example, just some upholstered stools that slip under the sort of dressing table.

But they have pulled out all the stops to make your stay as comfortable as possible, with good quality bedding, all embroidered with their emblem of a bear, good quality mattress, lovely quilts and curtains, and modernised bathrooms with hairdryer and more than one piece of soap.

There are also plenty of sockets for all your gadgets to be re-charged, but do see WARNING 3 below.

The hotel sort of started in the 60’s, when the parents of the four sisters who currently run it had a small grocers shop across the road, with a bar attached. They expanded into a restaurant, and then ten rooms. In 1980 they opened the purpose-built current hotel, with 33 rooms now all en-suite. The former guest-house, just across the (not busy) road, is now the Annexe with 17 rooms and its own guest lounge. Used only in the summer season and at busy bank-holiday weekends, the annexe is more peaceful than the main hotel, and less than a minute away.

But even on busy weekends, the place is pretty peaceful overall. The road through the village is a dead-end in 6 km, so there’s not an awful lot of traffic. Mostly what you hear is birds and cowbells, plus the gurgle of the little river right under your windows.

The very big PLUS of this hotel is the quality of the staff. Even when rushed off their feet – the restaurant was packed one Saturday evening – they are friendly, smiling, helpful, always wanting to get everything perfect for you.

The restaurant – remember to reserve your table when you book your room at peak times – serves extremely generous portions of good solid food. Our second night, I didn’t order a meal at all – I told the waitress that I would eat off my husband’s plate, and she very happily brought me a plate and cutlery to do that. Even so, between the two of us, we couldn’t eat it all. The first night was embarrassing, there was so much left over. No wonder their dogs are so enormous – they get to eat the leftover meat doubtless! Do NOT order any food ever for children – I reckon that four children and two adults could eat two meals ordered for just the adults.

The food is, basically, good home cooking just like your mother or grandmother cooked. Assuming, of course, that she was Spanish! My husband, whose mother and grandmother were indeed Spanish, adored it all.

The one downside of the hotel is that the wifi is not reliable. Yes, I know, you’re not supposed to need it on holiday, but to be frank, we are all looking at our tablets and phones, especially when abroad as you can use your smartphone on wifi without facing horrendous bills for data charges under roaming. They used to have wifi via the phone company, but that was a very weak signal, so they changed to satellite internet. But satellites in a mountain area, with clouds gathering, is not very reliable either! See TIP 7 below for best wifi.

TIP 1: It’s the first building on the right as you come into the little village, past the traffic-calming traffic lights. Drive 20 yards past it then turn right over a little bridge into the carpark

TIP 2: Don’t arrive at a weekend before 5 – you’ll never get into the carpark which will be packed with locals having lunch. If you do, however, just drive along the rough track past the hotel and park in the meadow overflow carpark

TIP 3: Don’t look around for a hefty lad to carry your suitcase – apart from the Handyman, Chef and part-time barman, all the staff are women

TIP 4: If you can, in high season avoid the Friday night-to- Sunday lunchtime period, when the hotel and restaurant are likely to be packed out

TIP 5: And also avoid January and the first fortnight of February, when it has its annual closure :-)

TIP 6: Best views from rooms 109 to 113, 101 to 108, 201 to 208 and 209 to 213. The second floor rooms have little balconies, the others don’t. The 9-13 rooms are probably the best of all for views.

TIP 7: Each floor of the main hotel has its own sitting room, well equipped with sofas, armchairs and piles of magazines and books in various languages. And these rooms seemed to get better wifi signal too.

TIP 8: Have the mini-breakfast in the bar. You get a hot drink, fresh orange juice, a piece of sponge cake and two slices of toast with butter and jam. After the amount you pigged out on the night before, it’s more than enough.

TIP 9: If the hotel is shown as booked on Booking.com and similar sites, try ringing up – they may have a room or two to spare despite what it says.

TIP 10: Tip 9 only works if you can speak good Spanish . . .

WARNING 1: Although only two hours’ drive from Santander, the road through the gorge is a little nerve-racking. The road is very narrow, very winding. On one side is a sheer cliff up, on the other is a sheer drop down into the river. When a large lorry comes bounding round the corner – do you want to be crushed against the cliff face, or plunge headlong down the gorge? :-)

WARNING 2: Our H&S inspectors might not approve of some of the things in the hotel, so if you are of a nervous disposition, plan ahead to avoid these. There are very few fire alarm push buttons and fire extinguishers – they are *round the corner* of the long corridors, check out their position when you arrive. Also check the exits. This is a hotel with floors, ceilings and furniture all made of wood –many modern concrete hotels wouldn’t be so likely to burst into flame.

WARNING 3: While I was pleased at the number of sockets in the room, I was less pleased with the socket on the bathroom wall 12 inches above the wash-basin and its taps . . .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We got this hotel through a search on booking.com and tripadvisor, looking for a place to spend some time in the Picos. Based on the reviews we were expecting a good hotel. The reality was even better, super friendly staff, great setting, immaculately clean and excellent food. The bonus all of this for a reasonable price. In October we spend on average 100€ per day per person in this hotel (including breakfast, packed lunch and three course diner with wine!). Amazing value for money

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A fantastic family owned hotel set in the Picos area. There are many walks in the area. A ten minute drive up the gorge to a cable car which takes you close to the top of the mountains where many walks are available and for the really fit a walk back down the mountain. The views are spectacular. Vultures where visible in the sky above us. There is ample parking. We had a good size bedroom with walk in shower. This hotel is professionally run with friendly staff. Turning to the food it is excellent and the portions are over generous. The breakfasts are also excellent. The hotel boast an outdoor swimming pool set in pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.6 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
741 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
407 reviews
22.6 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
111 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Arpa de Hierba
11.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Oso

Address: Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing