We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming and peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Rebeco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Rebeco
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fuente De
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A charming and peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were on a motorcycle ride in the north of Spain in September and decided to head for the Picos de Europa for a couple days. We decided to pass on Pote as it seemed a bit noisy and busy for us and we followed the road to its end at Fuente De instead.
We were delightedvwithnour choice at the hotel rebeco, it was very reasonably priced and our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hotel wasn't very busy at all so it was very quiet. It may be noisier when it's full but we didn't have that experience. The food and service was very good , theres a lovely patio outside and it's only a few hundred meters from the teleferico to the top of the mountain.
We enjoyed two nights here, the hiking was very nice. All in all a real gem for us during our two month trip!

Room Tip: We didn't get a room with a balcony , I think it would have been nice. Also the wifi didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartofagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

An ideal place to eat after a day in the Picos de Europa. We dined there 2 nights. Much less expensive than the parador across the street. Good service - the waitress advised us against over-ordering. We had grilled salmon, croquettes, chicken soup, fabada, and cocido lebaniego. The last dish was a star - a dry stew of chick peas, kale, chorizo, and stewed beef and pork. I almost never order the same dish two nights in a row but made an exception here. Solid wine list - we had crianzas but you may wish to go with something heartier for sturdier dishes like fabada (bean and chorizo stew).

We stayed in the parador.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodsearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are only 2 choices in Fuente De. We chose Hotel Rebeco because we did not want to pay parador prices when the ratings were not especially high. Hotel Rebeco was clean, quiet and certainly comfortable. It was like an older mountain chalet. Ask for a room facing the telefarico so you can see the mountains from your balcony. Breakfast was modest; dinners in Espinama were better and less expensive than in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The view and location is spectacular, with free parking immediately outside.

The staff were most sympathetic to my slightly unusual dietary needs, but were easily able to satisfy my hunger ! The food was good.

Bedroom had a great view of the mountains and was well-appointed and clean; as was the bathroom. Shower, etc. worked well. There was a balcony, with two chairs and table.

Breakfast was fine.

Most restful: a good, well-run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Rebeco on a through-hike, for lack of a cheaper alternative. It is a lovely old mountain hotel in the spectacular rock-wall fastness of Fuente De, a town at the end of the road in the Picos de Europa.
Staff was cold and efficient, room clean and pleasant, but no extra efforts were made to make our stay memorable. Food in the dining room was tasty, but vastly overpriced: an average salad for 11 Euro?? Fuente De has few services, so I suppose you take what you can get... and pay through the nose for it. Next time I will stay in Espinama, a couple of km. farther down the mountain, with more services and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: End of the hallway, away from the stairs. First floor has nice terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

A character hotel with friendly family staff. A very relaxing time. Front rooms have an amazing view but the back are just overlooking trees so make sure you have the front and a balcony. Evening meals not particulary wonderful but alot of people came over from the Parador the only other option, to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The best holiday for along time. A fantastic family run hotel with breathtaking views of the mountains.
If you like walking with breathtaking scenery this is the place to stay.
The hotel should be rated 3 or 4*. The staff are wonderful making you very welcome in a family atmosphere. We could not fault the holiday, will be back.
Thank you!!
Carl & Joyce. Yorkshire

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuente De
0.0 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Rebeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Rebeco

Property: Hotel El Rebeco
Address: | Parque Nacional Picos de Europa Fuente de, 39588 Fuente De, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Fuente De
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fuente De
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Rebeco 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Rebeco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing