We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place, great owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xalet Refugi Pere Carne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really cute, building, comfortably furnished throughout. We took a private double room, so can't speak for the hostel rooms, but were very comfortable. Really quiet as we were there in September, as the summer season was finishing.

The food provided for the evening meal was great, and the wine well suited.

Throughout our stay, the owners went out of their way to be helpful and available, providing advice on walking routes, places to visiting, mountain biking tips, and loaning use of equipment. I would be concerned about the small number of bathrooms during peak time however.

Room Tip: Upstairs seems nicer than the basement - although the basement bathrooms are bigger and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Mi sobrino y yo Rubén fuimos a hacer BTT y lo pasmaos genial en el Refugi. Gracias a Manel y su compañera encantadora por el trato familiarlos con consejos y rutas para la bici. Buneas instalaciones, tanto de alojamiento como de equipamiento "bike-friendly". Y una cena deliciosa. Rutas espectaculares entre montaña y valle. Intentaré volver en primavera/verano.
My nephew and I had a mountain bike weekend at the Refugi. Great food, lovely and friendly owners, and good bike-friendly installation with bike tools. Manel (the owner) gave us advice on routes and was always there to talk to. We had a great weekend, sadly very short, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanBcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited La Molina in December for a snowbaording trip and chose the Xalet Pere Carne. What can I say except "STAY HERE!!". We were treated like family and introduced to other travellers as a formality. We had delicious local meals and enjoyed wine as part of meals.

Our hosts painted a great picture of Catalan culture and hospitality and helped in every way that they could.

The rooms were clean and tidy and the place has beautiful views and is easily found by catching the bus from the train station (which we did and then used the same ticket to get to the ski slopes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I cannot recommend this place enough. It is great value. For 36 euros you get a bed , breakfast and evening meal. The rooms are not big and the beds are bunk beds as you would expect in this type of accomodation. But the kids love it. Its fun and very friendly. The atmosphere is very sociable and I believe the overall experience is better than staying in a 3 or 4 star hotel for double the money that is less friendly and with worse food. Usually hotels in the mountains offer a buffet of 20 dishes...all bad. Here there is a set menu of home made catalan classics. 4 courses. A big bowl of soup, a salad, a stew/caserole of some sort and desert, a jug of red wine and a jug of water...all in with the price of the bed. What more can you want? Its perfect mountain food after a days skiing. Don´t expect to get chips with reheated frozen chicken nuggets etc. For that pay double and goto a hotel nearby. And leave those in the know to stay at this little gem. Pre dinner they put a projected film onto a big screen for the kids and there´s a smoking bar with tv for adults...and a lounge area with roaring fire and board games to play. Only critisism is there is no table football or satelite tv for Barca games!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikkirokkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

A couple of years ago I stayed at the Refugi Pere Carné with some friends for a long weekend of skiing. We had a 7-bed room to ourselves, use of shared facilities, breakfast and evening meal for the bargain price of £20pp per night. The facilities are clean and warm, the beds are comfortable and the staff very friendly. There's a small bar on site and a fire to make it cosy.
I'm actually planning a big group trip back to the same place for next year.
The only downside is that the ski lifts at La Molina are a few kilometers from the refuge meaning you really need your own transport, although I understand there is a bus service. As the hotel is quite isolated evening entertainment is limited. As I said before, it's perfect no-frills accommodation for a budget ski break.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Molina hotels
0.6 mi away
Guitart La Molina Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supermolina
Hotel Supermolina
#9 of 10 in La Molina
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adsera
Hotel Adsera
#6 of 10 in La Molina
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niu dels Falcons
Niu dels Falcons
#4 of 10 in La Molina
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
HG La Molina
HG La Molina
#3 of 10 in La Molina
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xalet Refugi Pere Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xalet Refugi Pere Carne

Address: C/ Font del Gatell 15 | A 10-minute walk from the train station of La Molina, 17537 La Molina, Alp, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Alp > La Molina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in La Molina
Price Range: $79 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Xalet Refugi Pere Carne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing