We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new family... Toni, Maja and Masha”
Review of Apartments Val

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumbarda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartments Val
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our new family... Toni, Maja and Masha”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We came as guests and left feeling like we were part of the family. We have never felt so well cared for and NOTHING was too much trouble for Maja and Toni to arrange or do for myself and my fiance. In addition to this the accommodation is perfectly situated at the waters edge with stunning views across the bay. We stayed in the studio apartment and it was very clean, spacious, with a tv and DVD player and the small kitchen had everything you need to make simple meals. Not like you would want to cook dinner for yourself because Toni is an A* chef who used to have his own restaurant. The food was out of this world! Make sure you try the king risotto and my favourite the buzara! My advice... book well in advance because this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Studio is perfect for two people. Has it's own balcony and terrace with gorgeous views of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissGeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is truly a taste of paradise. We stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment which had views to die for and a selection of terraces to relax on. Travelling with two teenage boys I was worried that there might not be enough to do - I was wrong. With the warm sea just a few strides from our accommodation the boys swam, snorkelled and fished in the sparkling azure water for endless hours. Our hosts Toni & Maya could not have been more welcoming, we enjoyed an adventurous day exploring the nearby islands on Toni's boat, used the complimentary guest bike to cycle 5-mins into Lumbarda for fresh bread each morning and sampled some of the most delicious cuisine of our whole stay in Croatia thanks to Toni's excellent culinary skills. As previous reviews have stated - Toni & Maya could not do enough for us, they are exemplary hosts offering 5-star treatment from their beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I'm not sure I can add much to the wonderful reviews that have been mentioned previously, all of which are fully deserved.
Toni and Maya are incredible hosts and completely over deliver on what you may expect. Nothing is too much trouble and everything you ask for is only ever answered with a, "no problem". If you want to rent a boat, hire a car, have babysitting, lift to the local supermarket.....nothing is too much trouble and is always greeted with a wonderful smile and a yes. If only 5 star hotels could deliver such impeccable service.
This of course is not a 5 star hotel but a completely and thoroughly clean and basic apartment, with al the facilities you require in a vey relaxing bay. If you want to completely relax and get away from your hectic life back home then don't hesitate to book.
Toni and Maja were absolutely incredible with our 2 children (7 months and 2 and half year old) and feel like family after only a week. The children will definitely miss them. A lot.
Other positives is that Toni is an incredible chef and of the 6 nights we stayed we dined 4 nights with him. I could enthuse even more here, but to be honest just put your trust in him and he will over deliver! King's Risotto and Scampi allla buzara and lamb were just some of the highlights.
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful people. A pleasure to stay with such a fabulous couple.
Toni and Maja - thank you so much!

Room Tip: If we were to stay again we would choose the 2 bedroom apartment as it would have been perfect for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFoodLover1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Apartments Val for two nights on our way from Vis to Montenegro. Maja and Toni were quite welcoming even when we arrived quite late to the apartment. The room was very clean and a quiet location on the bay. While not walking distance to Korcula, it is walking distance to Lumbarda which has quite a few restaurants. A good base for anyone who is exploring Korcula.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I knew it was right to come back, when Toni met us in the harbour and our girls run right into his arms! The atmosphere is so relaxing, the apartment is spotlessly clean, and the garden is so well kept that it was a pure joy to return. Nothing is ever too much trouble for Maja and Toni. This time we needed help to take our 5-year-old to a doctor and I only needed to mention it and we were on our way. Tickets for the Moreshka were arranged without even having to ask and on the last day Toni took us out on a lovely little boat trip. Nothing said below is exaggerated. Maja and Toni puts pride in their business and they do it in a most friendly and personal way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubla
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stopped off here for a few days before going to Dubrovnik. In a nutshell this area is a quiet retreat from Korkula.We stayed in the studio apartment with a sea view and own small balcony and terrace. 2 adults and toddler. apartment was spotless and well equipped.
The hosts toni and maja and their family are very helpful, but not intrusive.
I have nothing but good things to say about the stay.
If you want to get away from it all switch off read a book and stare out at a wonderful setting then this is the place for you. Bus at the top of the road will take you to the beach or the opposite way to Korkula. 10 minutes either way. all in all very nice apartment and lovely setting.
Lubarda itself is also a lovely spot, very nice pizzeria and well stocked shop. local wineries on your doorstep easily reached by foot or bus.

Room Tip: Studio perfect for short stay as a base for exploring the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had high expectations of Apartments Val having read the previous comments and have to say that these were exceeded during our stay. Toni and Maja were wonderful hosts - so friendly and helpful. Toni organised bike hire at a good discount for us and also went into Korcula Town to get us tickets for the Moreshka - well worth seeing. Our apartment was very comfortable and well equipped with a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. Maja has created a beautiful garden with many fruit trees and lovely smelling herbs and lavender and it was nice to be greeted by their lovely dog every morning. Toni is an excellent chef and we ate twice on the beautiful terrace. There is a menu in your apartment and you tell Toni what you would like in the morning and he shops during the day ensuring absolutely fresh ingredients. We would particularly recommend the Kings Risotto and the fish and meat 'Pekas'. Lumbarda is a nice quiet village with the centre only 10 mins walk away - the nice sandy beach of Bilin Zal is a further 10 minutes walk along the coastal path. The bus to Korcula Town stops at the end of the road and runs till 7pm - after that you need to take a taxi - Toni will drive you for a reasonable rate. Overall this was the best part of our trip to Croatia and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Apartments Val.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumbarda
0.0 mi away
Captain's Villa Sokol
Captain's Villa Sokol
#2 of 5 in Lumbarda
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Borik
Hotel Borik
#5 of 5 in Lumbarda
69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartments Kastel Lumbarda
0.9 mi away
Apartments Tanja
Apartments Tanja
#7 of 30 in Lumbarda
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Villa MARIS
Apartments Villa MARIS
#1 of 9 in Lumbarda
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Val

Property: Apartments Val
Address: Uvala Racisce bb, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Lumbarda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Lumbarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Val 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa on the waterfront with 3 separate units. There is two bedroom apartment, one bedroom apartment and studio. It can accommodate up to 10 persons in total. Each unit has separate entrance, private terrace. There is parking place which is out of charge, WI FI and air condition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartments Val Lumbarda, Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing