We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Villa Sokol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain's Villa Sokol
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lumbarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Villa sokol was fabulous - large apartment with a balcony and wonderful sea view. High standard of accommodation with free use of kayaks and bikes and we took advantage of both. Very friendly and helpful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. They brought breakfast to our apartment each day which was lovely - even when we left at 530am for the ferry they made us sandwiches and drinks for the journey. We could not fault this place - we loved it. Korcula town is only 5 to 10 mins away by taxi and there are plenty or taxis - it was never a problem getting one even for 5 of us. If you want an active or relaxing break in a quiet location away from the crowds book it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedqueen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Cannt fault this place.
Beds were comfy. Hostess and cleaner were incredibly kind people.
Air con was great, loved the sunbeds on the balcony.
We got free ise of bikes, kayak (didn't use these but were offered) and swam in the little beach at front (1 min walk) as well as many other beaches on island. Got a car for a day and went to some amazing beaches - LOVED Korcula, this accommodation was perfect. The free platter of snacks in the fridge was so tasty & generous. Honestly, the internet was fast and strong, too. Not sure how to make this place down as it was just perfect, and I was super pleased to be in Lumbada rather than Korcula town - a cpl of quick visits was more than enough, and big cabs tended to do car pooling so reduced rates anyhow. Felt fortunate not to be one of the mass tourism Korcula Town sheep, and had many experiences that others missed out on. Wished I stayed here much longer, and Hvar, Split and even Dubrovnik did not match up.

Room Tip: Paid for a 1 bedroom, received a 2, amazing value and beds were comfy (we were worried about my trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyOnHerOwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our hostess was very friendly and accommodating. We were given the 2 bedroom apartment which had a great balcony and view however, for 2 people it was a bit large, it felt a bit vacant. We thought that it was a bit expensive on the whole however, the free use of WiFi, kayaks, deck chairs, pontoon and bicycles were a definite bonus. We self catered for breakfasts and lunches but dined at the nearby Natura Restaurant almost every night. Don't expect the service to be fast as all the food is cooked fresh, to perfection and reasonably priced - noticeably less than prices in Korcula Township & is of a better quality. The owner/manager was full of life, a friendly, colourful character who, with his staff, enriched our memories of the time we spent in Lumbarda.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank emberlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place is roomy, hostess very friendly and helpful, free kayaks and bikes and a wonderful area to use both. just one back from the water with lovey views, good swimming, lovely walks to beaches, and a wonderful vineyard just 10 mins walk away.We were very glad we stayed here and not in Kortula as it was just so relaxing being amonst locals rather than tourists all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Villa Sokol is only a hundred yards or so from its own jetty area, from where we were able to use the canoes for free and to swim in beautiful clear water. Bikes were also freely available. The owners were very nice and friendly without being intrusive. The terrace had a lovely view over the sea. The centre of Lumbarda is about a mile away where there is a nice small beach and beach bar, a choice of restaurants (The Lina has a great position), a supermarket and cash point. There are also a couple of nearby sandy beaches. Korcula town is wonderful and only about three miles away. We had a hire car for the length of our stay and this made a big difference in being able to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here with a friend in a 2 bedroom apartment and we loved it! it is the perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. if you get bored of relaxing you can make use of the free kayaks or bikes, go swimming in the beautiful crystal clear water off the jetty at the bottom of the drive or go on one of the many exciting daytrips that the owner also runs that leave from the jetty ("Sokol adventures"). the apartment had everything we needed, was very clean, well furnished with comfy beds, airconditioning, nice bathroom and a gorgeous deck. the owners(who live on the top floor) were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. when you arrive in the apartment there is some local wine and a plate of yummy local cheese and cured ham to greet you. best wine we tasted on our trip. zoran also dropped us down to the local supermarket on the first day so that we could get some supplies which was really appreciated.
lumbarda is about 7km away from korcula main town. there is a bus but it is infrequent so if you don't have a car you made need to catch a taxi to and from town (unless you are keen to bike). we really liked being 'out of town'. it was much more peaceful than if we had stayed in korcula town(which gets overrun with tourists when the cruise ships pull in). there was a really excellent local restaurant in lumbarda which wasn't far too from the villa.
i would really recommend this place. i would love to go back for another stay. we regretted not having more time as we would have loved time to bike to explore some of the local vineyards and would have liked to go on one of Zoran's daytrips to one of the other islands.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our 1 bedroom apartment at Villa Sokol was enormous after a small studio within the old town in Dubrovnik!
We had a large specious apartment, large balcony overlooking the sea and across to one of the smaller islands off the coast of Korcula. The town of Lumbada was a 15-20 minute walk away, you could also borrow bikes free from the hotel which we used to get to the sandy beaches a little further away.
We also used the sea kayaks to explore the islands and coast of Korcula, and there are also free sunbeds just in front of the hotel.
The owner Zoran was friendly and his wife was lovely, always saying hello, giving us restaurant tips and even giving us a lift into town one day
We would definitely recommend Villa Sokol!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxy998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumbarda
2.2 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
297 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Korkyra
Hotel Korkyra
#1 of 7 in Vela Luka
225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#6 of 30 in Korcula Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
118 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
15.6 mi away
Aminess Lume Hotel
Aminess Lume Hotel
#1 of 1 in Smokvica
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Villa Sokol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Villa Sokol

Address: Lumbarda 44, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia (Formerly Villa Sokol)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Lumbarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lumbarda
Price Range: $258 - $1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain's Villa Sokol 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small boutique-style hotel is located in a beautiful stone building in the peaceful traditional fishing village of Lumbarda. It's the perfect property for those seeking an effortless blend of comfort, luxury and adventure during their stay on Korcula island.Guests staying in our villa on a tailor made holiday package will receive the following inclusions:Full daily breakfast service,Daily al fresco lunch service on each of our excursions, A farewell Mediterranean five course dinner, Daily tailor made excursions,Round free airport transfer via private chauffeur service or sea plane, your own free rental car and your own free speed boat. Whether you fancy exploring the unspoilt natural paradise of Mljet island, or discovering the glitzy charms of Hvar town, we offer countless excursions all within a 2-hour boat trip of our base in Korcula. The villa includes all the essentials and more you'll need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay, from a 24 hour front desk with courteous staff and daily housekeeping service, to free car and speed boat rentals.In the villa grounds you'll find an al fresco dining area, BBQ facilities, large Jacuzzi, gym and table tennis facilities. We also offer guests free use of our mountain bikes and sea kayaks. There are also plenty of comfortable sofas for relaxing in the shade in your downtime and a spacious balcony that's the perfect spot for a chilled out evening dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain's Villa Sokol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain's Villa Sokol Lumbarda, Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing