We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel for family vacation and small groups events”
Review of Hotel Spongiola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spongiola
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodarica
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect small hotel for family vacation and small groups events”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've introduced Hotel Spongiola for the first time when I was appointed to organize regional conference for group of my collleagues form BASF Construction Chemilcals team in June 2007. 24 of us spent affordable working and relaxing time in Spongiola and from that time me and my collleagues have visited Spongiola very offten.
Equiped with all you need, supported by high professional, very polite team with a small personal touch, located on a small island without traffic but only 365 m from the coast (in case you miss civilisation) it is perfect choice for peacefull vacation for families, bussines people (particularly out of main touristic seasone) as well as perfect location for events (conferences, seminars etc) for small professional groups (up to 25 people).
Spending your time in Spongiola you can enjoy peaceful relax, swim on the beach direct in front od the hotel, you can dive (hotel is equiped with all equipment you need for diving), sail, use wellnes, fitnes or swiming pool. You can enjoy in a good food for a reasonable price in the hotel restaurant but also in some nice small restaurants on the island as well as on the coast (I can recommend Restorant "Zlatna ribica" in Brodarica just oposite of the hotel Spongiola where you can have excellent fresh fish and shells).
If you like to introduce surrounding and wider area you can use Spongiola as a base for numerous nice trips and visit National park Krka, National park Kornati, Šibenik, Split, Zadar, Trogir, country side etc.
Hotel shutle boat is on your service 24//7 free of charge.
Ones you spend few days in Spongiola most probably you will fill it as your alternative home and will come back fom time to time like almost all guests are doing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZJembrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed last week as part of a Strel swimming holiday.

Thank you Nino and Diana for providing a wonderful base for us to return to after our swimming adventures. You and your team did a great job of looking after us, and you provided a very high level of flexibility and a wonderful personal touch. I was so grateful to Diana for taking me to the pharmacy to replace some of the medicine I'd left at the airport. The massages were just what I needed at the end of the day, and the food was delicious (especially the grilled fish). I know my fellow swimmer was also very touched with her birthday gifts.

Thank you so much. I'd love to return.

Room Tip: I was lucky to have a balcony with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eightytwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently returned from a week at the Hotel Spongiola and just read the previous review posted by Helen from London. I agree with everything she wrote about this hotel. It was a delight to stay there and enjoy all that it had to offer. Many thanks to the very gracious, hard working staff members.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeGuestSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I liked this hotel so much, I decided not to bother heading to Hvar as planned after a week-long swimming holiday but to stay an extra two nights. Krapanj Island is tiny but beautiful. If you are looking for nightclubs etc, it's not for you. If you want to relax and enjoy stunning scenery, excellent swimming in crystal clear waters and some delicious but unpretentious and reasonably-priced food - all away from the usual hustle and bustle of tourist resorts, it really is perfect. The Hotel Spongiola is very clean, well-equipped and brilliant value for money. The breakfasts were better than I have had in hotels that charge twice as much - scrambled eggs or omelette (by request), melon and other fresh fruit, cheese, ham, mortadella, Italian-style brioche (sweet croissants), yoghurt, cereal - and the view from the breakfast terrace is wonderful. The staff, though fairly reserved, were polite, attentive and helpful. The group I was travelling with asked respectively for lower pillows, help with the air-con, help with the shutters (which guarantee a great night's sleep), help working the heated towel rail. Within moments someone from reception was there with what we needed. Because I extended my stay, I slept in two different rooms. Both were clean, spacious and had sea views - one had a balcony. If I had to make one small criticism, it would be that the hotel restaurant is not brilliant - definitely not bad and very reasonably-priced, but a bit hit and miss (lovely soups and desserts, overcooked vegetables). There are, however, other good restaurants on the island and the hotel has a free boat-taxi that will (with 5 minutes notice) ferry you across the 500m of water that separates Krapanj from Brodarica, which has even more good restaurants - including an excellent and rather posh (but still affordable) fish restaurant directly opposite the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. As well as being a perfect beach retreat, the island is a good base for exploring other islands and visiting the Krka National Park. It also has an indoor pool and spa/'wellness centre' and can organise massage on request.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This excellent hotel is situated on the waterfront of Krapanj Island, with a magnificent view over the 400m wide channel to the mainland and the mountains beyond. It has a good swimming beach in front of the hotel, and is a 200m walk along the waterfront to the island's restaurants and main ferry landing. The ferry landing is largely academic, however, as the hotel has its own ferry that it uses to shuttle guests direct to the hotel - notify the hotel of your arrival time in advance to minimize the wait at the wharf in Broderica. Rooms are well fitted out and spacious in this 7 year old hotel, many have balconies, although views are along the waterfront rather than over the water itself. There is free wifi in the lobby and restaurant, where a good solid breakfast is served to guests each morning. The island is a treat, being only 3km around, a mixture of pine forest and village. Situated in some of the most beautiful waters across the whole Adriatic, this hotel is the base for Strel Swimming's activites in the Sibernik.

Room Tip: A number of south-facing rooms have balconies, and the first floor has larger balconies than the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Came for a swimming trip with Borut Strel and we've had the best week of our lives. The hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet island in the most stunning water imaginable. The rooms are clean and practical, staff become friendlier every day and the dinners are inspired.
This is the place from which to base your diving or swimming vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This is the place if you want to relax, but still be able to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgenFrohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodarica
2.3 mi away
Solaris Hotel Ivan
Solaris Hotel Ivan
#3 of 13 in Sibenik
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Solaris Hotel Jure
Solaris Hotel Jure
#4 of 13 in Sibenik
118 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Life
Hotel Life
#1 of 5 in Rogoznica
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Life Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlatna Ribica
Hotel Zlatna Ribica
#3 of 3 in Brodarica
26 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1 of 1 in Primosten
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spongiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spongiola

Property: Hotel Spongiola
Address: Obala I br.58 | Krapanj, Brodarica 22010, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Brodarica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodarica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spongiola 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spongiola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing