We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely meal in a cosy pub on a snowy evening”
Review of Fox and Hounds - CLOSED

Fox and Hounds
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A really lovely meal in a cosy pub on a snowy evening”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate here only 2 nights ago and had a great meal. The fire and atmosphere was warm and welcoming on a snowy evening. The menu had a good selection to choose from including a home made pie of the day - which was first class - and our meals were beautifully prepared and cooked. The bottle of red wine was served at the right temperature and tasted superb. The meal was very good value for money. The lady behind the bar was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely return with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidejemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well, the metamorphosis appears to be complete, one Landlord now, and one heck of a good place to eat and drink. Lovely warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble; the food is excellent always high quality and lashings of it. Comfy settees coupled with tradition bar seating make it flexible and comfortable. This pub is actually in Barley, a delightful, rural village, about four miles from Royston. It is well worth the short drive and I would thoroughly recommend, it is a good all rounder, but you have to try the Sunday lunch, it's a 'proper' roast, yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyWandererEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We are so lucky”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having just moved to Barley we are so luck to have this as our local. We probably go there once a week to eat and the staff are without doubt the best and friendliest I have ever encountered. The food is fantastic and the pub is beginning to grow into its skin in terms of layout inside. It could be a little cosier with some effort. My fav pub to visit. Thank you!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hegletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Didnt book because we didn't think we needed to.....found the place very busy which can only be a good sign! Great choice on menu - so many lovely things - plus choice of roasts - excellent value and very friendly service. Perfect xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub lunch”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Good value pub lunch in lovely friendly pub. Made to feel very welcome - been before and will definitely be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Barley, Hertfordshire
 
Royston, Hertfordshire
Nuthampstead, Royston
 
Royston, Hertfordshire
Bassingbourn, Royston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing