We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem - genuine, friendly and hospitable”
Review of Orchard House

Orchard House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchard House
Ranked #4 of 11 Royston B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem - genuine, friendly and hospitable”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed with Tiggy and Pete the night before an important job interview. They welcomed me into their home and went above and beyond all expectations of hospitality. The room was clean and welcoming, the bathroom immaculate, breakfast was tasty and I was extremely glad of the tea and reassurance while I re-ironed my shirt for the interview! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great value place to stay with a homely, welcoming touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What an excellent B&B! Everything was of a very high standard - clean beautifully presented room - generous portions of good food and great hospitality.

This B&B is quite a find - and as a single female traveller I also felt very safe:)

Pete and Tiggy are great hosts too - thank you so much for a great stay I shall be back:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Oustanding excellent guest house situated in an ideal location (few minutes walk from the town centre). The room was perfect (spotless, comfortable & relaxing). Breakfast was excellent with a great variety. I highly recommend this place to anyone requiring a quiet, comfortable B&B, with warm, friendly hosts who go that little extra to please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This B & B was amazing..Orchard House was outstanding there hospitality was 2nd to non couldn't do enough for us to make our stay very enjoyable, spotless clean with lovely touches to the room, Food was fantastic and overall this is an ideal place to stay when in the area...Thank You xx

Room Tip: Sorry pressed swimming pool by mistake there is no swimming pool. But can highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine_196256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at orchard house only because the company booked but what a choice, wasnt home from home because i dont get this well looked after at home!! Bed very comfy, bedroom very clean, tiggy n pete very welcoming and superb hosts :-)
And thats not the whiskey talking pete lol
10/10 recommend anytime

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogmansheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

After searching online for a bed and breakfast to spend the night in, I decided that Orchard House looked by far the nicest option.
I was greeted at the door with a warm welcome and after sitting down and having a quick chat I was shown around their home and eventually shown to my room. It was a nice room and the bed was very very comfortable.
I was offered dinner but I had already made plans to eat out with friends, so I didnt experience the food, they were however more than happy to make me feel at home and told me that if I wanted or needed anything I needed only to ask.
After staying out with friends,alot longer than I thought I would be ... Ziggi bless her, was still up waiting for me, and was even awake before I was ... just to make sure I didn't oversleep :)

I did only stay the one night but it was a very enjoyable experience and I would book with them again if I ever needed to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royston
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
11.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
8.4 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,265 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
323 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 11 in Royston
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House

Property: Orchard House
Address: 29 Serby Avenue, Royston SG8 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Royston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Royston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard House Royston, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing