We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I took my mother to this lovely manor home for two nights in late June. The staff was friendly from check-in to check-out. Our guest room was nice, not exceptional or great, but nice. The two windows had a pretty view. We enjoyed walking around the property, the Dovecote, nearby church & cemetery, etc. We sat on a bench in the front and observed a small discreet wedding reception on the beautiful lawn. It is a wonderful place to unwind and relax. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the sitting room and dinner was fabulous in the restaurant. The only thing I regret is that we didn't rent a car. We missed out on exploring the other villages in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: I would suggest a guest room in the coverted stables next to the manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueReview10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear TrueReview10,

Thank you for your review of your short break at Lower Slaughter Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, and if on a future stay we can assist with such things as car hire, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to arrival.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    118
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
79
363
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked a night at Lower Slaughter Manor for New Year's day - after visiting family further south for New Year's Eve. Lower Slaughter itself is a delight and is a beautiful little village. When we enquired about accommodation over the phone - we were only offered one room price of £450..... we went online and booked a room for £185 B & B.

We arrived mid afternoon and check in was fine and the staff were really helpful and attentive.

We were shown to the Faye Room which is above the reception area at the rear corner of the building at first floor level - we have a lovely view of the emergency fire escape from one window and the kitchen extractor ductwork from the other - and there was a constant drone from the extractor motors which was audible in the room, which did genuinely spoil the peace and tranquility of our stay. We were both a little delicate from the festivities the night before, so didn't bother to ask to move.

The room was generally well presented - but there were two dead insects in the bath, and there was a fire escape door from the bathroom in to the main first floor corridor - it was a little disconcerting being in the bathroom and hearing conversations of people passing in the corridor immediately adjacent!

We ordered tea in the room, and this duly arrived - with nothing else (we naively assumed that they might send up at least a biscuit to go with it! - but apparently not).

The Hotel markets itself as a grand country house hotel - and it sort of is, but it needs some investment. Carpets in places were completely threadbare, paintwork to external windows in places was peeling, there are weeds in some of the gutters and some of the outside door frames are rotten. It was all just a bit tired.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The restaurant is down a flight of stairs in a sort of basement level extension with a flat roof. If you were hoping for a traditional oak panelled country house dining room, it will be a disappointment - it just has rather naff wall paper with a pattern to mimic panelling and we found it a bit charismaless and soulless. The food was however exceptionally good and the waiting on staff were charming and attentive without being intrusive. Top marks to the catering staff!

We had coffee in one of the lounges upstairs, and were a bit disappointed that they had let the fires go out by 10.30pm and they also hand't cleared the tables, so we were met with a table full of dirty crockery, which threw the waitress a little when she arrived with our coffee. She forgot to leave any sugar, and we had to use the sugar bowl from the previous guests who were sat at the table - just hope they had washed their hands!

So to summarise - its not a bad hotel, just not a great hotel. The staff are helpful and very pleasant, the food is great, the setting is magical - its just the fabric - it needs money spending on it to bring up to scratch. I've stayed in much better hotels.

Room Tip: If you get offered 'Faye' refuse it - the views are none existent and its plagued by noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear 998,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Lower Slaughter Manor and please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to expectations.

We have had some difficulty with our online rates over the festive period as we changed our booking engine, and so the rate that you were able to book should not have been live. As this is not something that should impact on our guests, we chose to honour the rate and not even mention to you that it was incorrect. I am sorry if you felt that we were not offering you the best rate over the telephone, as this is certainly not the case, and we offer the same tariffs over the phone, online and through the various agents we use.

It was disappointing that you did not like your room, and that there were insects in the bath. Our housekeeping standards are normally exemplary and I am surprised that the Housekeeper would have returned the room in that condition. It is also a shame that you did not tell us that the room was not to your liking, as we would have happily moved you. Faye is a very popular room because of its spaciousness and so we thought you were happy there.

With regards to the carpets and the restaurant, these are both works in progress. The carpet fitter is actually with us next week to measure up for replacements, and the restaurant floor will be replaced at the end of January. I am saddened you didn’t like the wallpaper as it’s very new and has been met with great approval. We are also planning further external redecoration when the weather improves long enough, but due to the listed nature of the building, the actual replacement of the window casements and door frames is something we need to be sensitive about.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal in the dining room, and that the staff looked after you well, and Laszlo, our Restaurant Manager has asked me to express how sorry he is for the lapses in service with your tea in the afternoon and coffee after dinner. He will certainly take these points up in his training briefs.

At the end of the day, there is no excuse for the issues you experienced, however it is just a pity that you did not express your disappointment whilst you were in the hotel, as we would have gladly taken action to rectify this.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to impress in the future, in which case we will be delighted to welcome you back to the Manor.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just completed the most enjoyable stay at this wonderful hotel. Every single member of staff engaged with us as we came across them and made us feel completely at home. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. They were a joy to be around for this Christmas period.

Our room "June" was a delight and the domestic staff kept it superbly clean. A large really comfortable bed which was hard to vacate in the morning. A good size bathroom with a large shower and bath. Fluffy towels and dressing gowns.

Our meals were served expertly with the standard of dishes first class. Jamie the head chef deserves the highest of praise. We were guided expertly on the choice of wine by the Sommelier.

Abbi the Hotel Manager along with her Front of House staff deserve the highest of praise and our grateful thanks for making Christmas a really enjoyable occasion for us.

Will we return? Of course we will.

Happy New Year to you all.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Ann-Marie P,

Thank you for writing a review of your festive experience! We are delighted that you chose to spend the Christmas break with us, and it was our absolute pleasure to look after you!

We hope you had a fabulous New Year celebration and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We came for our work Christmas lunch on Friday. Last year we had visited Buckland Manor and had a truly amazing, relaxing experience.
To start with we were slightly surprised at the over-friendliness of the sommelier, in fact he kept interrupting our conversations and joining in.. He was insensitive as to who was ordering (our boss is a lady) and was quibbling over half bottles sizes and prices in front of us all.
There was quite a bit of faffing regarding the serving of the canapes and it seemed to take three people to do it.
As it was very quiet (in fact empty), the restaurant downstairs was pretty soul-less, we would have been better maybe in a private room.. It was chilly, so after the waiter had fiddled with the radiator the maintenance man was called and he seemed to fix it.
The food was limited in choice, and we felt the portions were quite small, but tasty nonetheless (some of us did however make detours on the way home for some fast food!).
We were quite astounded at the price of your Irish coffees too, are they really £15 each??!
It was a shame, the location and hotel are amazing, but overall we were disappointed and felt the hotel was let down by the service. We even had to search for some extra wood and stoke our own fire!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear sam j

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lower Slaughter Manor and first and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to expectations.

As a result of your comments I have spoken with our sommelier who has asked me to convey how sorry he is if he caused any offence. We do expect all of our staff to be friendly and outgoing, and I am disappointed if he was overzealous on this occasion.

Both Laszlo, our Restaurant Manager, and Jamie, our Head Chef have taken your comments onboard about your lunch and we will review your feedback to ensure that our service is improved moving forward.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Back again for our annual visit and once again we were totally impressed from start to finish. On arrival we got a complimentary room upgrade which was unexpected, but well received. The room was fantastic with great views over the surrounding countryside. The quality of the food and overall service that surrounds the evening meal experience was top quality.

I am not a major reviewer as you will see, but this hotel warrants me taking the time to post this. We will be back in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COF139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear COF139,

Thank you for reviewing your meal with us! We are so pleased that we still live up to expectations and that you felt moved enough to write on Tripadvisor!

Hopefully we will see you again early in 2014, but we look forward to seeing you whenever you come!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break. The exterior and grounds of the manor is breathtaking! Then you step into the reception and you are made to feel very special. The staff are friendly, yet professional, and always remembered us by name. The hotel was dressed for Christmas, it felt magical. We were upgraded to the 'June suite' (thank you) which was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable! We ate in the dining room on the Saturday night. We are a couple that like to dress for dinner and felt that we could in this hotel. We couldn't find fault with anything! Excellent all round! The only minor comment is how quiet it was in the lounges. I noticed that this has been mentioned by other reviewers and agree that playing music would help. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something special or to just relax in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Christmasy,

It is lovely to see that you have returned to Lower Slaughter Manor, and thank you for reviewing your break with us.

Susan, our Housekeeper is delighted you enjoyed the upgrade, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your whole stay!

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a find!!! We have just returned from a truly magical break here. The service, food and room were exceptional. Just beautiful in every single way. My husband booked a last minute break for us. He will be staying in my good books for a very very long time :-) Never felt so special in my life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Amy B,

We are delighted to have made such an impression on you, and it was our absolute pleasure to have looked after you!

Don't leave it too long before returning!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
The Slaughters Manor House Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing