We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with fabulous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slaughters Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just completed the most enjoyable stay at this wonderful hotel. Every single member of staff engaged with us as we came across them and made us feel completely at home. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. They were a joy to be around for this Christmas period.

Our room "June" was a delight and the domestic staff kept it superbly clean. A large really comfortable bed which was hard to vacate in the morning. A good size bathroom with a large shower and bath. Fluffy towels and dressing gowns.

Our meals were served expertly with the standard of dishes first class. Jamie the head chef deserves the highest of praise. We were guided expertly on the choice of wine by the Sommelier.

Abbi the Hotel Manager along with her Front of House staff deserve the highest of praise and our grateful thanks for making Christmas a really enjoyable occasion for us.

Will we return? Of course we will.

Happy New Year to you all.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Ann-Marie P,

Thank you for writing a review of your festive experience! We are delighted that you chose to spend the Christmas break with us, and it was our absolute pleasure to look after you!

We hope you had a fabulous New Year celebration and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    112
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
77
348
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We came for our work Christmas lunch on Friday. Last year we had visited Buckland Manor and had a truly amazing, relaxing experience.
To start with we were slightly surprised at the over-friendliness of the sommelier, in fact he kept interrupting our conversations and joining in.. He was insensitive as to who was ordering (our boss is a lady) and was quibbling over half bottles sizes and prices in front of us all.
There was quite a bit of faffing regarding the serving of the canapes and it seemed to take three people to do it.
As it was very quiet (in fact empty), the restaurant downstairs was pretty soul-less, we would have been better maybe in a private room.. It was chilly, so after the waiter had fiddled with the radiator the maintenance man was called and he seemed to fix it.
The food was limited in choice, and we felt the portions were quite small, but tasty nonetheless (some of us did however make detours on the way home for some fast food!).
We were quite astounded at the price of your Irish coffees too, are they really £15 each??!
It was a shame, the location and hotel are amazing, but overall we were disappointed and felt the hotel was let down by the service. We even had to search for some extra wood and stoke our own fire!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear sam j

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lower Slaughter Manor and first and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to expectations.

As a result of your comments I have spoken with our sommelier who has asked me to convey how sorry he is if he caused any offence. We do expect all of our staff to be friendly and outgoing, and I am disappointed if he was overzealous on this occasion.

Both Laszlo, our Restaurant Manager, and Jamie, our Head Chef have taken your comments onboard about your lunch and we will review your feedback to ensure that our service is improved moving forward.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Back again for our annual visit and once again we were totally impressed from start to finish. On arrival we got a complimentary room upgrade which was unexpected, but well received. The room was fantastic with great views over the surrounding countryside. The quality of the food and overall service that surrounds the evening meal experience was top quality.

I am not a major reviewer as you will see, but this hotel warrants me taking the time to post this. We will be back in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COF139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear COF139,

Thank you for reviewing your meal with us! We are so pleased that we still live up to expectations and that you felt moved enough to write on Tripadvisor!

Hopefully we will see you again early in 2014, but we look forward to seeing you whenever you come!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break. The exterior and grounds of the manor is breathtaking! Then you step into the reception and you are made to feel very special. The staff are friendly, yet professional, and always remembered us by name. The hotel was dressed for Christmas, it felt magical. We were upgraded to the 'June suite' (thank you) which was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable! We ate in the dining room on the Saturday night. We are a couple that like to dress for dinner and felt that we could in this hotel. We couldn't find fault with anything! Excellent all round! The only minor comment is how quiet it was in the lounges. I noticed that this has been mentioned by other reviewers and agree that playing music would help. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something special or to just relax in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Christmasy,

It is lovely to see that you have returned to Lower Slaughter Manor, and thank you for reviewing your break with us.

Susan, our Housekeeper is delighted you enjoyed the upgrade, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your whole stay!

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a find!!! We have just returned from a truly magical break here. The service, food and room were exceptional. Just beautiful in every single way. My husband booked a last minute break for us. He will be staying in my good books for a very very long time :-) Never felt so special in my life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Amy B,

We are delighted to have made such an impression on you, and it was our absolute pleasure to have looked after you!

Don't leave it too long before returning!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here as a base to enjoy the Cotswolds. It was the perfect spot!
I was fortunate to score a great deal on this property, which as I was travelling as a single, I really appreciated.
I found that the staff from Reception to Wait Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. In particular the Manager was a gem. He however was on his way to work in one of Her Majesty's residences. I had a major problem with my smart phone and they were very helpful.
The food was really special particularly dinner although not inexpensive. I liked the option of having both cooked to order options and food from the buffet.
The shared areas are well furnished and spread over several areas. I always managed to find a cosy nook.
Lower Slaughter is quite a walkers' and photographers' haven. The weather was a tad cool for me but many stoic souls were out there enjoying the countryside.

Room Tip: My mini suite June was in the main building and away from the shared spaces. It is great as long as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear SunshineScoop,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay earlier this year. It is lovely to read you were able to feel so at home whilst you were with us!

Hopefully you will return again in the future, perhaps in the summer when the weather is warmer!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really exceptional Cotswold 5 star accomodation along boutique lines are hard to find. Cowley Manor hasn't moved on in a decade and is tired and also overpriced. Whatley Manor is spectacular although pricey. Lower Slaughter Manor has been around a long time I think is well priced but offers a truly luxury boutique experience amidst stunning surroundings.

The local front desk staff are knowledgeable about the local area, this part of the Cotswolds is stunning, tons of great hills and walking, super pubs, great restaurants and shops in nearby Stow-on-the-Wold etc.

What I really liked about the Manor is the very large and recently refurbished rooms, along with the oversized bathrooms, good ceiling height and a real feeling of space. We stayed in the Coach House which was super and a bit more private. The grounds are superb, the adjacent village literally on your doorstep plus stream and walks are just stunning.

The restaurant is excellent, food of a very high standard and the wine cellar is exceptional with something for all budgets. The head sommelier is knowledgeable and helpful and the front desk really make an effort to be accommodating. We have already booked a return visit.
Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: get advice from front desk as the rooms are all pretty large and vary a lot in terms of design and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear MrFrankReviews,

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of your stay with us – the reception and restaurant teams in particular were touched by your kind words!

We are so pleased you have already made a reservation for a future visit, and Howard, our sommelier is already working on some recommendations for next time!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
The Slaughters Manor House Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing