We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break. The exterior and grounds of the manor is breathtaking! Then you step into the reception and you are made to feel very special. The staff are friendly, yet professional, and always remembered us by name. The hotel was dressed for Christmas, it felt magical. We were upgraded to the 'June suite' (thank you) which was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable! We ate in the dining room on the Saturday night. We are a couple that like to dress for dinner and felt that we could in this hotel. We couldn't find fault with anything! Excellent all round! The only minor comment is how quiet it was in the lounges. I noticed that this has been mentioned by other reviewers and agree that playing music would help. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something special or to just relax in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Christmasy,

It is lovely to see that you have returned to Lower Slaughter Manor, and thank you for reviewing your break with us.

Susan, our Housekeeper is delighted you enjoyed the upgrade, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your whole stay!

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 570 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a find!!! We have just returned from a truly magical break here. The service, food and room were exceptional. Just beautiful in every single way. My husband booked a last minute break for us. He will be staying in my good books for a very very long time :-) Never felt so special in my life!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Amy B,

We are delighted to have made such an impression on you, and it was our absolute pleasure to have looked after you!

Don't leave it too long before returning!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here as a base to enjoy the Cotswolds. It was the perfect spot!
I was fortunate to score a great deal on this property, which as I was travelling as a single, I really appreciated.
I found that the staff from Reception to Wait Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. In particular the Manager was a gem. He however was on his way to work in one of Her Majesty's residences. I had a major problem with my smart phone and they were very helpful.
The food was really special particularly dinner although not inexpensive. I liked the option of having both cooked to order options and food from the buffet.
The shared areas are well furnished and spread over several areas. I always managed to find a cosy nook.
Lower Slaughter is quite a walkers' and photographers' haven. The weather was a tad cool for me but many stoic souls were out there enjoying the countryside.

Room Tip: My mini suite June was in the main building and away from the shared spaces. It is great as long as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear SunshineScoop,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay earlier this year. It is lovely to read you were able to feel so at home whilst you were with us!

Hopefully you will return again in the future, perhaps in the summer when the weather is warmer!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really exceptional Cotswold 5 star accomodation along boutique lines are hard to find. Cowley Manor hasn't moved on in a decade and is tired and also overpriced. Whatley Manor is spectacular although pricey. Lower Slaughter Manor has been around a long time I think is well priced but offers a truly luxury boutique experience amidst stunning surroundings.

The local front desk staff are knowledgeable about the local area, this part of the Cotswolds is stunning, tons of great hills and walking, super pubs, great restaurants and shops in nearby Stow-on-the-Wold etc.

What I really liked about the Manor is the very large and recently refurbished rooms, along with the oversized bathrooms, good ceiling height and a real feeling of space. We stayed in the Coach House which was super and a bit more private. The grounds are superb, the adjacent village literally on your doorstep plus stream and walks are just stunning.

The restaurant is excellent, food of a very high standard and the wine cellar is exceptional with something for all budgets. The head sommelier is knowledgeable and helpful and the front desk really make an effort to be accommodating. We have already booked a return visit.
Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: get advice from front desk as the rooms are all pretty large and vary a lot in terms of design and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear MrFrankReviews,

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of your stay with us – the reception and restaurant teams in particular were touched by your kind words!

We are so pleased you have already made a reservation for a future visit, and Howard, our sommelier is already working on some recommendations for next time!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent two nights here and had dinner in the hotel on both nights! Service and food was second to none, the 7 course tasting menu reminded me of a meal at Le Manoir! Staff can't do enough for you only minor gripe would be the rather quiet atmosphere in the lounge areas you had to whisper, and a poor tv signal, but that's it! Would recommend to any couple looking for 1st class food, service, setting and what seemed an hourly turn down service!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Craig B,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit! Jamie, our chef, is particularly delighted you were so impressed by his menu and cooking!

It is a shame you felt you had to whisper in the lounges – we have from time to time having music in the Drawing Room & Salon, but feel this would be a little unnatural. With regards to the television signal, our maintenance team has retuned the TVs as necessary.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Gone are the days when lovely Cotswold Hotels were staffed by local people who had no real interest in the hospitality industry. Now, as here, London standards of service are expected and achieved. The mostly mature male staff at the Manor are really excellent, friendly, welcoming, and so professional. The decor is lovely, quality furnishing in spotless rooms, with the amazing ceilings of the old rectory it once was.

Food was beautifully presented, excellent quality, superbly cooked, very good value. I was looking at the wine racks, and the sommelier stopped to chat, and seemed very knowledgable and friendly.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear cotswold47,

The team and I were delighted to read your glowing review of your recent visit to the Manor.

Our sommelier, Howard, is always happy to talk about his cellar and so will look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I pack up the dogs for a week and stay in a cottage near Stow every year. We all like Lower Slaughter but have never been to the Manor, so I popped in and made a reservation for dinner the next day.

When we arrived we were taken down to a fairly empty restaurant that remained quiet but not "dead" all evening. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel special. We had a drink first and looked the menu over. The ordering was fun and the waiter explained, when we asked, how some of the dishes were prepared and cooked. The wine waiter was also helpful and knowledgeable and in a very nice way challenged my choice of white wine to go with the starters, he said it may be too sweet and suggested an alternate, we went with that and he was quite right, it was a better option! We did not choose the taster menu as I have a seafood allergy but the choices on the table d'hote menu are pretty wide and should please all diners.

The breads that were brought out were great and between each course was a "pre" taster, all very good.

The meal was fantastic, certainly borderline Michelin standard in my view. Starters were delicious. For mains we had Wild Sea Bass for my wife and I tried Cotswold Beef Fillet that was out of this world. The deserts are also unbelievably good. The variety of red wines is particularly good and the Barollo we chose was just perfect and not wincingly expensive either.

Coffees, liqueurs and chocolates we decided to take in the lounge, they were dutifully brought up to us to enjoy in lovely surroundings and without being followed around to make sure we didn't leave without paying, a little thing I know but a rare courtesy we felt.

This was a great and special experience, more expensive that many dinners out but when considering the location, quality of food, fine wine and particularly the marvelous staff well worth every penny.

Thank you all so much, we shall return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank UxbridgeJmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear UxbridgeJmc,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent meal with us - I know Jamie, our chef, is delighted to read such feedback!

On a future visit, you would be very welcome to try the Tasting menu - if you advise us on booking of any allergies or dislikes, Jamie & the team will happily tailor the menu to suit your requirements.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,099 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: $229 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, The Slaughters Manor House is a beautiful 17th Century manor house which combines contemporary interiors with country charm, attentive service and one of the most acclaimed restaurants in the Cotswolds. Spring 2016 saw the entire ground floor renovated to restore the character of the building, exposing and emphasising architectural details contrasted with a modern, vibrant interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
The Slaughters Manor House Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing