We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive , will return again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very impressive , will return again”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really exceptional Cotswold 5 star accomodation along boutique lines are hard to find. Cowley Manor hasn't moved on in a decade and is tired and also overpriced. Whatley Manor is spectacular although pricey. Lower Slaughter Manor has been around a long time I think is well priced but offers a truly luxury boutique experience amidst stunning surroundings.

The local front desk staff are knowledgeable about the local area, this part of the Cotswolds is stunning, tons of great hills and walking, super pubs, great restaurants and shops in nearby Stow-on-the-Wold etc.

What I really liked about the Manor is the very large and recently refurbished rooms, along with the oversized bathrooms, good ceiling height and a real feeling of space. We stayed in the Coach House which was super and a bit more private. The grounds are superb, the adjacent village literally on your doorstep plus stream and walks are just stunning.

The restaurant is excellent, food of a very high standard and the wine cellar is exceptional with something for all budgets. The head sommelier is knowledgeable and helpful and the front desk really make an effort to be accommodating. We have already booked a return visit.
Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: get advice from front desk as the rooms are all pretty large and vary a lot in terms of design and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear MrFrankReviews,

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of your stay with us – the reception and restaurant teams in particular were touched by your kind words!

We are so pleased you have already made a reservation for a future visit, and Howard, our sommelier is already working on some recommendations for next time!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    121
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
80
372
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent two nights here and had dinner in the hotel on both nights! Service and food was second to none, the 7 course tasting menu reminded me of a meal at Le Manoir! Staff can't do enough for you only minor gripe would be the rather quiet atmosphere in the lounge areas you had to whisper, and a poor tv signal, but that's it! Would recommend to any couple looking for 1st class food, service, setting and what seemed an hourly turn down service!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Craig B,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit! Jamie, our chef, is particularly delighted you were so impressed by his menu and cooking!

It is a shame you felt you had to whisper in the lounges – we have from time to time having music in the Drawing Room & Salon, but feel this would be a little unnatural. With regards to the television signal, our maintenance team has retuned the TVs as necessary.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Gone are the days when lovely Cotswold Hotels were staffed by local people who had no real interest in the hospitality industry. Now, as here, London standards of service are expected and achieved. The mostly mature male staff at the Manor are really excellent, friendly, welcoming, and so professional. The decor is lovely, quality furnishing in spotless rooms, with the amazing ceilings of the old rectory it once was.

Food was beautifully presented, excellent quality, superbly cooked, very good value. I was looking at the wine racks, and the sommelier stopped to chat, and seemed very knowledgable and friendly.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear cotswold47,

The team and I were delighted to read your glowing review of your recent visit to the Manor.

Our sommelier, Howard, is always happy to talk about his cellar and so will look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I pack up the dogs for a week and stay in a cottage near Stow every year. We all like Lower Slaughter but have never been to the Manor, so I popped in and made a reservation for dinner the next day.

When we arrived we were taken down to a fairly empty restaurant that remained quiet but not "dead" all evening. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel special. We had a drink first and looked the menu over. The ordering was fun and the waiter explained, when we asked, how some of the dishes were prepared and cooked. The wine waiter was also helpful and knowledgeable and in a very nice way challenged my choice of white wine to go with the starters, he said it may be too sweet and suggested an alternate, we went with that and he was quite right, it was a better option! We did not choose the taster menu as I have a seafood allergy but the choices on the table d'hote menu are pretty wide and should please all diners.

The breads that were brought out were great and between each course was a "pre" taster, all very good.

The meal was fantastic, certainly borderline Michelin standard in my view. Starters were delicious. For mains we had Wild Sea Bass for my wife and I tried Cotswold Beef Fillet that was out of this world. The deserts are also unbelievably good. The variety of red wines is particularly good and the Barollo we chose was just perfect and not wincingly expensive either.

Coffees, liqueurs and chocolates we decided to take in the lounge, they were dutifully brought up to us to enjoy in lovely surroundings and without being followed around to make sure we didn't leave without paying, a little thing I know but a rare courtesy we felt.

This was a great and special experience, more expensive that many dinners out but when considering the location, quality of food, fine wine and particularly the marvelous staff well worth every penny.

Thank you all so much, we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UxbridgeJmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear UxbridgeJmc,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent meal with us - I know Jamie, our chef, is delighted to read such feedback!

On a future visit, you would be very welcome to try the Tasting menu - if you advise us on booking of any allergies or dislikes, Jamie & the team will happily tailor the menu to suit your requirements.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Lower Slaughter Manor for a rare 2 nights away from our young children! We wanted somewhere to be able to properly rest with fantastic food & fantastic service. We definetely got all 3. The hotel itself looks beautiful on arrival & we were greeted faultlessly. Bags carried, 100% attention on check in & an upgrade to a junior suite. Couldn't have been better. The suite was lovely, and we spent hours reading and relaxing in it due to its very large size. Perfect. We ate the first evening in the restaurant. Food was Michelin quality - beautiful. Breakfast both mornings was delicious & the service faultless. Our only criticism here is the ambience (or lack of) in the dining room. The room desperately needs breaking up somehow so that you dont have to whisper/feel like youre in one big room.

Overall the most outstanding thing about this hotel is the service. The staff really do genuinely seem to want to do absolutely everything they can to please. They definetely achieved that for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Puddle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Puddle34,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted we were able to provide the right place for you to rest & relax!

We have also taken your comments onboard regarding the restaurant - we have recently completed phase 1 of the redecoration project and so hopefully once the flooring and accessories are completed, the ambience will change.

Hoping you won't leave it too long until you return,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Lower Slaughter Manor is located in a gorgeous little village. The building is so charming and in keeping with the historical setting. I enjoyed the fact that you can feel the age of the building and that the floors are a little uneven and the stairs creek. We were upgraded to a Junior suite called "Kate" which was very spacious with a four-poster bed. It was really nicely decorated but starting to look like it might need a little refurbishing - for example, there was a crack in one of the floor tiles in the bathroom. However, the hotel was so charming and so were the hotel staff, that they nearly get away with some shabbiness. However, the service at breakfast on Sunday was a bit of a disaster. The staff seemed to either be inexperienced or over-worked, or both. We were left waiting 25 minutes for our cooked breakfast and actually gave up and left before receiving it. There also seemed to be some confusion amongst the staff about which table had ordered what! It was a bit of a pity and marred what was otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear CornishCat,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor, and I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. Kate is one of my favourite rooms, with it's view over the front lawn, and when Mr & Mrs Brownsword commence the refurbishment of the bedrooms in the future, I know that Kate's bathroom will certainly be renovated with the highest quality fixtures & fittings.

With regards to breakfast, I have spoken with our restaurant manager to find out what happened, and it appears that two dockets got mixed up in the kitchen and this caused quite a lot of confusion. We are sincerely sorry, and rather embarrassed at the ensuing delays in the dining room, and I do hope that this will not be your lasting memory of us.

Hoping that you return to visit us again in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This beautiful country manor house in the Cotswolds is a real gem. Set in a gorgeous park like setting it has lovely rooms and spectacular food. The meal was one of the best we have ever had. If you are traveling through this part of England you must stay here. It is a Relais & Chateau, so is pricey, but we thought worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELP733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear ELP733,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor. We are so pleased we made your Cotswold trip memorable and hope you will return in the future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,062 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
The Slaughters Manor House Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing