We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slaughters Manor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

my husband and i stayed at this amazing hotel and cannot praise it enough. from the warm welcome on arrival from all the staff and the most amazing room i have ever stayed it which took my breath away. the bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a great shower and a roll top bath complete with bathrobes and slippers and great toiletries too. we ate at the pub across the road but the breakfast was very good at the manor, set in a lovely dining room where once again the service was exceptional. this is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting, definitely 5 star and will be returning again soon. i highly reccomend a stay - the cream tea is also worth trying too!

Room Tip: room at the front of hotel is quiet with lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Julie W,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us!

I am delighted that you had such a fabulous time with us, and that you enjoyed your cream tea. Perhaps on a future stay, you might like to have dinner in the restaurant as well - the food is amazing!

Kind regards,

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    102
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
75
317
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend. The room was lovely and the welcome when we arrived made us feel at home straightaway. Yes, it is expensive but it's worth it - you have to treat yourself sometimes. Excellent location. Would have given excellent but for a very minor thing. The Italian bloke behind the bar was great too - give him a pay rise!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for your review, and I shall pass your praise onto Lorenzo, who looked after you at the bar!

I'm so pleased to hear you felt at home while you were with us, and if you felt so inclined, I would be interested to find out what the minor issue was - all feedback helps us to improve the service we offer!

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
generalmanager@lowerslaughter.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is in an idyllic setting - quite tucked away in a peaceful location. Our suite in the annex was absolutely wonderful. Amazing bathroom - very generous l'occitane toiletries. Best suite ever! The restaurant served a very good evening meal - expensive but delicious. Breakfast was very good as well. There is a sister hotel across the road which is less formal & serves pub style food.
A very relaxing sort of place - no pool or gym - just a chill out quiet hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Madeleine34

Thank you for writing a review of Lower Slaughter Manor. As you say it really is an idyllic location in the Cotswolds, so delighted you were able to really relax!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - you might like to try one of the suites in the main house next time for a different view! Nina is one of my favourites!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staff delightful ,food excellent but rooms were disappointing .we stayed in 2 different rooms.the first was large but one window had an outlook of a black fire escape and the other window had 2 broken paynes of glass in it. The second had a much nicer outlook but was quite cramped. The dining room was stuffy and too warm and didn't seem to have any air-conditioning or ability to open a window.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor, and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us.

The replacement window panes have already been ordered and we are currently awaiting delivery of them; please accept my apologies that this was not mentioned to you when you were shown to your room.

With regards to the temperature in the dining room, it can be difficult to regulate at this time of year as guests sitting in front of the open doors can feel the draught quite easily. Tom Curtis, our Restaurant Manager, has already carried out some training with his team however to ensure that they are more aware of the ambiance as a whole in the restaurant.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile


I have had the opportunity to stay in this hidden gem located in the middle of the Cotswolds, and have remained positively impressed. At check in, an agreeable smile from the hotel team was waiting for me, after a tour where the friendly receptionist explained to me the history of this imposing Manor House, I was led to my wide and luminous room, quite perfectly, a grand and soft bed, a big bath with natural light with a fantastic shower and separated bathtub and amenities of l'occitane! After a relaxing shower, dinner at the restaurant, simply delicious, from the starters to desserts: to die for! The day after, a fresh breakfast with a la carte choice as well as a buffet, what else could I expect? Service was always second to none, I just want to thank all members of the team for making my stay a memorable experience! I'll come back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Palmatraveler,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor. It was a pleasure to share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the team at Lower Slaughter Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in Lower Slaughter Manor for 3nights in March. We loved every minute of it. As a family, we took 2 interconnecting rooms in the guest house and we were blown away by the hotel attention of details including setting kids bedsheets for my kids beds, adding toys on their beds & welcome letters to all adults in the room. The service is 5* hotel and we were very sad to leave after 3nights with them. Definitely going back, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the guest house, not main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear HJ1974,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Lower Slaughter Manor. It sounds like you and your family had a super time, and I'm glad the children liked their duvet covers and gifts! We hope that all our guests feel special, no matter how young or old they are!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the manor in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the team at Lower Slaughter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on a friend's wedding. I didn't pay for the room, so I don't know anything about pricing.

The service was splendid, from reception, showing of the room, to dinner, and breakfast. I stayed in the room named 'Rose', directly upstairs from the reception area. Wifi worked, and the reception was courteous enough to accommodate my request to make a printout of an e-mail I sent to their desk.

The room itself was grand, nicely decorated, and supplied with L'Occitan toiletery.

The hotel is probably optimal for serving a large function like a wedding. The manor has multiple reception rooms and lounge areas to accommodate many guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoCamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear BusAndLeisure,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us last month. I'm so pleased we looked after you well, and hope you had a lovely time at your friend's wedding!

As you mention, the manor house works very well for a private event, but it is also a great place to stay for a quiet leisure break - there's a super atmosphere when the lounges are buzzing and people are wandering around the gardens.

We hope to see you back in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
The Slaughters Manor House Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing