We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Slaughters Manor House
Nearby Hotels
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lords of the Manor Hotel(Upper Slaughter)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dial House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
$112
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$112
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveler rating
401
141
65
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
141
65
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor houseafternoon teatasting menufront lawnl'occitane toiletriesupper slaughterdeluxe roommichelin starwonderful hotelluxury hotelhot tubthe main housespecial occasiondrawing roomold millseparate showersmall portions
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 641 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

10 of us dined at Lower Slaughter Manor , we had the private panelled dining room and all of us agreed that it was a lunch to remember.

We were all used to fine dining but somehow the management and staff went that extra mile, and how we appreciated it.

Our arrival was 12 noon and we were shown into one of the sitting rooms were we were served drinks and exceptional olives in front of a welcome fire. The service was excellent but not "stuffy or subservient ".

Lunch was served for us in the panelled dining room and we all felt that the chef had excelled himself. It was beautifully presented, the plates were HOT,when appropriate and the duck nicely pink.

What of the desserts. I for one am a cheese girl, and was not disappointed by the 6 cheeses, grapes, celery, and caramelised walnuts presented to me. The "ooohs and aahs "of those indulging in the chocolate sorbet, served with a gooey, high calorific sauce must have been heard in the entrance hall.

Coffee and petit fours did not disappoint either, 3 platefulls for 10 people-!------------- Yes, we polished off the lot! Not that we were greedy, only that we may not get anything quite so good at our next Book Club luncheon.

Thank you to Abbie, the General Manager, Matthew,the Restaurant Manager and to those whose names we did not catch who waited on us and made our day so special; but above all to Chef who certainly tickled our taste buds.

This hotel has changed hands in the last year and the staff all seem to be relatively new and immensely keen, Do go and enjoy, The Lower Slaughter Manor Experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isla001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear isla001 and the Book Club!

It was our pleasure to look after you and both Matthew and Jamie, our chef, were touched to receive such glowing praise!

Hopefully you won't leave it a whole year before returning!

Kind regards
Abbi and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose the Lower Slaughter Manor as it wasn't too far from home and it was one of the few "luxury" hotels that would allow me to book just a Saturday night stay. Not easy to get 2 nights away when you are expecting the grandparents to look after the kids. Well we were staying to celebrate my wife's birthday and I have to say we couldn't fault the hotel. We were in the Magnolia suite and were surprised to find this included use of a hot tub and so a long soak was a great start to our stay. The staff were very helpful, polite and down to earth. Will definitely try to return

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Edward L,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you found the team to be relaxed and friendly - it is important to us that our guests feel relaxed while they are with us!
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, perhaps to try the other Garden suite and hot tub!
Kind regards
Abbi and the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel, hoping for some peaceful time and sound sleep. We first had a Deluxe room under the roof called Lydia. Arrangements are quite impressive at first : huge king size bed, big flat screen tv, stylish furniture and a rather big bathroom. But the room felt a bit stuffy and warm and opening the windows did not take away that feeling entirely. Also the room had no safe, no minibar and no tea/coffee facility. Next morning we were disturbed by some road works in front of the hotel so we asked to be moved to a quieter room. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite in the annexe called Beech. We were at first delighted but it proved later to be a very bad move. The room appeared to be located next to a building containing a pump or generator that produced a constant, very disturbing noise throughout the night. We hardly slept at all. When we mentioned this to the staff the next morning they seemed surprised, as if we were the first to complain about it. We cannot imagine for a second that this is the case. So overall a big disappointment, considering the price of the hotel and that we specified we wanted a quiet room when we booked.

Room Tip: Avoid the two Suites at the garden end of the annexe.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Choosy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Choosy57,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor and first and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that your time with us was not as tranquil as you had hoped.

With regards to the rooms and their facilities, I am glad that your initial impression was a positive one. As the manor house is a listed building, it has proven quite difficult to install air-conditioning and so some of the rooms, particularly those in the eaves can be quite warm – I will ask the Housekeeping team to double check that there are fans in all of the bedrooms. At Lower Slaughter, we aim for a homely, country house feel, rather than that of a hotel and so have taken the decision not to install minibars or hospitality stations and instead offer complimentary morning tea & coffee and a wide selection of drinks available for room service. We constantly review our offerings however and so will bear your feedback in mind for the future. I do agree with you regarding the lack of safe in the room, and this is currently in progress – in the meantime, any valuables can be securely deposited in the safe at Reception.

The road works are actually a vital, 2-week project to replace the damaged weir in the river Eye and we weren’t expecting it to be as disruptive as it has been. Having spoken with our maintenance manager, the noise you heard during your stay in Beech was actually a faulty pump, which he has swiftly replaced. Despite these explanations, I am disappointed that they impacted on your stay and that your request and subsequent comments were not handled in a professional manner. Rest assured, I will follow up with my team.

I hope that the rest of your stay in the Cotswolds was a pleasant one, and should you choose to stay at Lower Slaughter Manor in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you.

With kind regards

Abbi Hardiman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went for lunch, having previously admired the beautiful building and grounds. The service was excellent (as you would expect for a hotel of this quality), as was the food. The dining room and lobby areas are beautiful. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nonnelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Nonnelle,
I was delighted to read about your recent visit to Lower Slaughter Manor. We have recently been joined by a new Executive Chef and I know both his brigade and the restaurant team will be pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience.
Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Abbi and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and I were in Lower Slaughter at lunchtime and were enticed in to Lower Slaughter Manor by the lunch menu displayed outside. From the point we went inside, the experience went steadily downhill. We were left in a lounge for at least half an hour. A waiter took our drinks order, and only after that point were we told that the lunch menu wasn't actually available to us (despite other diners being allowed into the almost empty restaurant). The staff acted as though they were doing us a favour by letting us pay for over priced bar food, eating with our food on our laps sitting in the lounge because they couldn't be bothered to lay a nearby table for us. They got our order wrong, and although they did apologise we very much felt that they were trying to get us out of the door. If they don't want lunch customers, why do they advertise their menus outside the gates?

Despite the fact that we weren't actually allowed to enter it, we would strongly recommend avoiding the poor service and over priced food served at the Lower Slaughter Manor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank louisehon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Louisehon,

I was deeply disappointed to read of your recent experience with us a Lower Slaughter Manor and first and foremost would like to convey my sincere apologies for this unacceptable lapse in service. We serve lunch in our 1658 Restaurant until 2pm and I have asked Matthew Balman, our Restaurant Manager to investigate why we were unable to welcome you when you visited earlier in the week. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly, either by email generalmanager@lowerslaughter.co.uk or on the telephone?

With kind regards
Abbi Hardiman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews