We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay at The Slaughters country INN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We decided to go to the Cotswolds and sheer luck we booked the Slaughters. From the moment we stepped inside we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was lovely, food excellent waiting on staff absolutely lovely in fact everyone we met was extremely polite helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom was clean and well appointed with double aspect view of the grounds. The only thing I would say is a plug nearer a dressing table for the hair dryer and maybe some lovely fluffy dressing gowns would have made our stay even better. I would recommend this country hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was 'Holland' lovely dual aspect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Maureen M, I am so please you enjoyed your one night away with us, you will have to stay for longer next time.
Best Wishes
Stuart
PS Dressing gowns are available on request

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first visit and the Inn was just as advertised in the most wonderful location. We were told that it had changed hands and was no longer a hotel so the star rating no longer applied. This reflected in the restaurant service which on the first night was very poor and we complained, the second and third night we were well looked after. The hotel asked for smart casual for the dinner sitting, but the waiting staff were in jeans!! Overall we enjoyed the stay but it was top prices for less than top service. We were in a cottage and being tall I did not feel comfortable in the upstairs bedroom pitched roof ceiling that was low over the bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Peter George B, I glad that we managed to correct our failings at dinner on your first night and that you enjoyed good service on the other two nights you had dinner with us.
Changing from a hotel to an Inn, is all about the atmosphere that we try to create, being relaxed and without so much formality, I am sorry if you felt that this was to the determent of our service.
I do hope we will see you again
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just stayed at The Slaughters................wonderful weekend. I chose this place as it catered for dogs and we were not disappointed. Dog was able to enjoy the wonderful grounds and the walks some of which take you to the other local villages.We had a very warm welcome and the bed room was comfortable, well heated and lovely. Location is outstanding, typically English and well maintained. A relaxed ambience and atmosphere permeates the whole experience. The dining room is contemporary well lit with wall mirrors that give an airy feel to the room. Food was very good - well presented and tasted delicious. Service was very good although the hotel was full - personnel were charming. The whole layout of the premises is just gorgeous...................as it is autumn the foliage was distinctive with its autumnal glow. You simply step back in time. Well worth it! We will return with the dog ...........in the spring!!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are better if you take dogs as you are away from the main house. It means that your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REV003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear REV003, thank you for your kind review, I look forward to welcoming you back in the spring
Best Wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Expensive but worth it for a few days away.do not expect the service and food etc that you might get in other similar priced establishments but still worthwhile.I gained the impression that they changed it from a hotel to an Inn which means they can cut down on the staff and other services,Inns do not require star ratings. For all that is worth a visit.The first time I visited it was called a hotel,now an Inn, the difference was noticeable.Male waiting staff were casually dressed wearing jeans.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear David C, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Best Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was actually visiting on a business trip rather than a relaxing break but the totally relaxed atmosphere of both the village & the hotel made my stay a pleasure rather than a chore. My room was as you would expect from a comfortable country house with views over the stream & village. The bathroom was huge with a big corner bath & powerful seperate shower. Towels were of a generous size as were the the bottles of shampoo etc. All too often hotels skimp in this area.
A party of 6 of us ate in a private room off the restaurant in the evening from a menu that was not large but perfectly adequate. The food quality was excellent and unlike a recent reviewer the service was also very good. The hotel manager popped his head in for a quick chat and to make sure everything was Ok. Breakfast the next morning was beautifully presented with the 'full english' artistically arranged on the plate. Not large but this had the benefit of not leaving you feeling 'stuffed' at the beginning of the day.By contrast the bowl of porridge was enormous! After a comment that the coffee was a bit weak we were plied with copious amounts of hot strong coffee for the rest of the meal.
My overall impression was of a well run, relaxed hotel sensibly positioned pricewise compared to the local competition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Allan W, I am delighted that you enjoyed your conference and stay with us. We do have two conference rooms at the Inn, both of which can take up to 24 delegates at a boardroom table. During the winter month’s we are offering a special mid week 24 hour rate of £139 per delegate!
I hope we see you again soon, either on business or pleasure
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent one night at the inn in September. The location is stunning in one of the most beautiful and quiet Cotswold towns we stayed in. We had dinner in the dining room which was seriously understaffed - 30 minutes to get pre-dinner drinks, unable to find ANY staff to get the bill when ready to leave. The rooms were tired - broken lamp teetering on a base, worn upholstery and sagging couch/chair cushions. The one positive was the bedding which was fresh and crisp and a great duvet. Overall for the price charged this inn is not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank retinott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear retinott, thank you for taking the time to review your one night stay at The Slaughters Country Inn, I was pleased to read that you were happy with our stunning location and the quality of our bed linen, but saddened to read that you had some issues in your room, and that you felt we were under staffed.
We are currently undertaking a refreshing of our room stock to ensure all of our rooms are of the same high standard.
We never deliberately run the Inn short on staff, but due to the unpredictable, nature of our business we can sometimes get caught a little short, and I apologize if this impacted on your dinner experience.
As for your comment on the poor value for money, I think that given our idyllic Cotswold location and the quality of the Inn, you would struggle to find better value for your money in the area.
Best Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed one night of our holiday in this charming hotel. I liked the potted history of the place in the little book of info in our room. The Reception staff were helpful and all the staff we spoke to were very pleasant...I thought the Restaurant too garish and bright, with not a candle on the tables :0(( However, Our evening meal in the Restaurant was good, not small portions as others have mentioned and the guy serving went to pains to see that we were looked after very well (I had a problem with my meal and did not complain but the waiter sorted it and made me feel at ease). We stayed in the Cotton Hall double room which boasted a rather nice stand alone bath tub on a raised platform, with a picturesque view. There was also a good shower in the little bathroom. Our bed was huge, but cosy with wonderful feather duvet and pillows to sink into...Breakfast was fine and filling, usual things on offer - the Tea tasted extra special - think is was Twinnings English Breakfast, but maybe the Cotswold water was the magical ingredient!
There is a wonderful old Mill literally on the doorstep and we visited Bourton on the water, Stow on the wold, Cheltenham and Cirencester. I have to mention the public conveniences in Bourton O T W they were superb (yes it matters)!
A very pleasant, rested stay at the Slaughters Country Inn, thank you.

Room Tip: Cotton Hall if you are able to get in and out of the bath independently... :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firework-bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Firework-bang, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As the nights are starting to draw in candles will soon be back on the tables in the restaurant.
Best wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
592 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Address: in the centre of the village, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: $120 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter
The Slaughters Country Inn Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing