We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally under-whelming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Totally under-whelming!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

When you read about a place and then see photographs that fill you with anticipation before booking, it is almost painful when the balloon of expectation has all the air let out! So it is with this Country Inn.

One is beguiled into thinking that this would be of the quality of Gidley Park because of common ownership - not so. The property is tired, the reception poor (we were welcomed by someone whose English was difficult to understand and who reeked of tobacco) and the food service is amateur hour. Scruffy, unkempt, non-uniformed young people masquerading as food and beverage service staff; no bell person to help with luggage to the upstairs room, no luggage racks in the room and no luggage racks available. So....you pay the big money and have your suitcase on the floor....or the bed, as we were advised!

Lovely letter in the room from the manager who was invisible...this could be an exceptional experience but needs a lot of help to get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HCH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear HCH45, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, but as I have written on here before –
We are indeed part of the same group of hotel as Gidleigh Park, but as a group of hotels we are all very individual and offer many different things, at some very differing price points.
With this in mind we do not have a bell boy and our staff uniform is to wear jeans.
I apologize if you found our receptionist local accent difficult to understand and that they smelt of Tabaco.
I am sorry that I did not get to meet you in person during your stay, but if you would like to talk through any of your points please feel free to give me a call
Kind Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    336
    79
    27
    9
See reviews for
152
768
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I were touring The Cotswolds and called into this hotel for morning coffee, what an excellent choice we made, the staff were welcoming and helpful. Sat outside looking onto the gardens and had excellent Cappucino And Cafetiere. Would like to stay here in the future and sample the hotel food and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Cathryn F, I am glad you enjoyed your coffee with us, I hope we can welcome you back for a stay soon.
Best wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanpshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at The Slaughters Country Inn, we were upgraded to a cottage room quite pleasant but a little dated and tired.The hotel grew on us during our stay, might have been that we were more relaxed.Enjoyed lunch in the bar area and dinner & breakfast in the main dinning room.Found quailty of food excellent and staff very attentive.Nearly perfect if they tried just little harder, some things like tea pot chipped, stains of carpet in bedroom, no table clothes on tables at dinner time, very repetitive menu same in bar and restaurant and menu was lamanated ! ( tacky ) , staff wearing jeans at dinner time to serve customers not nice. Would we return yes as well looked after just attention to detail and it would have been perfect which they are capable of doing down to management skills.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hampshirehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear hampshirehome, thank you for your review and your constructive comments.
I hope we see you again soon
Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

After staying in December 2012 we thought we would like to stay again in the summer (what summer) ! Unfortunately we didn't get to sit outside as the weather was a little 'hit and miss' although the sun did come out now and then. Hotel and staff still very accommodating and friendly, food very good along with breakfast. We stayed in the Wotton' - lovely room although you could hear everyone's conversations in the bar below, so don't think we would stay in that room again. It was my birthday weekend and was greeted with a glass of complimentary fizz which was a very nice gesture. We are now looking at the Christmas package, so hope to go back again. Another good stay at the slaughters country inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Susanpamela, I am so pleased you decided to come back and enjoy your birthday with us.
I hope we see you again before Christmas
Best wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a standard room for dinner, bed and breakfast at The Slaughters Country Inn during May and had a brilliant experience. We had to check with reception whether we had been upgraded as the standard of the room was exceptional, much better than other standard rooms we have stayed in. The food was superb and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to arrive on the hottest day of the year so far and spent a lovely afternoon in the garden drinking Pimms and enjoying the surroundings. The location is really lovely and we took the riverside walk to nearby Bourton on the Water, which in my opinion is not as nice as Lower Slaughter as it is very commercial. I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel and cannot wait to return, hopefully for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Val H, I am so pleased you got to see us in all our splendour, when the sun is shining I can not think of many better places to be than sat in our gardens with a glass of Pimms.
I hope you bring the sun with you again on your next visit
Best wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at The Slaughters in March and our room was one of the very best we have seen. It was a beautiful room, decorated very well and we felt very well looked after there.
The hotel staff were pleasant and considerate and I would heartily recommend a stay there.
We had a particularly pleasant afternoon sitting in the hotel bar with a few snacks and a drink reading the newspapers with the log fire warming us.
A beautiful hotel in one of the prettiest villages in England. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PETER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear PETER F, thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. I hope we will see you again soon
Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very please with our New year stay at Slaughters Inn the staff were very friendly and helpful and accommodation and food were first class. The package included New year 3 night stay including dinner dance party and was very good. Located in beautiful surroundings but can suffer from flooding if a lot of rain has fallen.

Room Tip: Stayed in on of the cottages in the grounds make sure you get upper floor as noise from people above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kendo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Kendo62 , I am so pleased that you enjoyed a great start to 2013 with us, and I trust the first half of the year has been kind to you?
We have just put the finishing touches to our package for this festive season, and bookings are starting to come in already. So If you would like to come back this year I would recommend booking soon
Best wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
512 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: (Formally Washbourne Court), Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in search of peace, tranquility and the epitome of English country life you need look no further than The Slaughters Country Inn (formally Washbourne Court Hotel). Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty in all seasons. A truly magnificent 17th century hotel standing in four acres of grounds alongside the River Eye in the centre of Lower Slaughter, one of the most beautiful and unspoiled villages in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter
The Slaughters Country Inn Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing