We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very please with our New year stay at Slaughters Inn the staff were very friendly and helpful and accommodation and food were first class. The package included New year 3 night stay including dinner dance party and was very good. Located in beautiful surroundings but can suffer from flooding if a lot of rain has fallen.

Room Tip: Stayed in on of the cottages in the grounds make sure you get upper floor as noise from people above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kendo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Kendo62 , I am so pleased that you enjoyed a great start to 2013 with us, and I trust the first half of the year has been kind to you?
We have just put the finishing touches to our package for this festive season, and bookings are starting to come in already. So If you would like to come back this year I would recommend booking soon
Best wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I cannot imagine a hotel with a more perfect setting than this, in fact it is so lovely I cannot think where we can go on future trips to better it. Bar set very high. Its everything you would want in the perfect english village (and I want to come and live here!) We found the staff very helpful and friendly, lovely breakfast which will set you up for the day and the rooms extremely comfortable. Wonderful huge beds, think they are Vi Sprung, and spacious bathrooms. Wainflete is a very nice room with an additional settee and pretty views of the sheep in the field beyond.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear nusha, I am so pleased you had a great stay with us. Our location is indeed idyllic next to the river eye, and now that the sun has started to come out, guests can make the most of our lovely gardens and terrace.
I hope we can welcome you back soon
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We used a Secret Escapes voucher for this hotel and had a very nice stay. Just one night but most everything worked out well. Sunday lunch - delicious, the room- just lovely, the village and surroundings - very Cotswolds and quite perfect. We had a great time. Those things that were wrong were small and insignificant so I won't bore anyone with them. Worth the stay, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: My advice would be to try and avoid overlooking the outside patio. Nice view but I can imagine on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Bill S, thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay and Sunday lunch with us last weekend. I hope I can welcome you back soon
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the very good fortune to be in the Cotswold's last weekend on a group tour. We stopped in Lower Slaughter for lunch at the Slaughters Country Inn and could not have been happier. The Inn was beyond charming and just what I pictured an English Country Inn to be. The food was excellent, reasonably priced, and the service was very friendly. If I had more time, I would have loved to stay overnight as well, but sadly was unable to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mswain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear mswain 28, thank you so much for your great review. I was very pleased that you had an excellent lunch with us. Next time you visit the area you will have to stay.
Best Wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked a one night stay at this hotel - wished we had booked more. Really lovely hotel in an idyllic situation! Staff couldn't have been more friendly/helpful/attentive. Had a nice meal in the bar - very enjoyable and relaxing - sat next to the open log fire!! Have already booked again for June and non doubt will return many times in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CM7Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear CM7Preston, I am so pleased that you had a nice stay with us. Hopefully when you come back in June we won’t need to light the fires, and you can enjoy our fantastic gardens instead
Best regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked a one night stay, through a discount booking agency, and we were happy that we paid more than half price for the room as we would have been hugely disappointed to pay the normal rate. The hotel decor was good, however the room walls were paper thin and every cough, conversation, visit to the loo etc could be heard from next door and above us. It was the downside to a very old building. Thankfully all resdidents that night were very civilised and quiet.
The breakfast offered a good choice, however the cooked option was made up of very small portions ( healthier I suppose ).
We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal, which had very outdated 1980's decor. Red, blacks and mirrors in every direction!! Wow
It was quiet that evening, however our meal took 2 hours from start to finish. Relaxed service was an understatement. The menu was fairly typical of a pub menu and I have to say I could have cooked the food at home. It wasn't very special. We wish we had eaten in the bar instead. Fancy presentation does not always hide poor creativity. Sorry.
The staff were all very attentive and were good at customer service.
Overall we will not be returning as we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Dolly367, I am saddened that you would not return and that you found you stay disappointing, may be you will change your mind when you have had a chance to reflect on all of the good points you mention in your review? Good value for money, good hotel décor, good breakfast choice and attentive staff with good customer service
Best Wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel through the Secret Escapes website, wow what a find!! For those travellers coming from Southern Engand, do not use the M40 route given as the journey gets very tedious when you turn off towards Oxford. Use the M4 Junction 15 exit instead. Check in very efficient, very helpful staff and was shown to our room, Goldophin (Superior room). Lovely room, very peaceful, quite big and bed extremely comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities and TV/ DVD player provided. Nice bar area but does get busy quite quickly. Nice restaurant where dinner is provided with lovely views. Service in the restaurant depends on what staffing were on duty, as our first night was exceptional but only average on the second night. General food quality was very good, and in some respects well worth the price. Housekeeping not so good, we stayed for 2 days and on our second day waited till nearly 4pm for someone to clean and had to ask the reception twice as to an estimated time that this would be done. Although room very clean, housekeeper only did the basics and made beds and replenished toiletries, although no further tea/coffee provided which as a result we had to ask reception for. Customer service could be better but will not put us off returning. This is a perfect hideaway for relaxation.

Room Tip: Superior rooms appear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antsuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear antsuxx, thank you for your review, and your good route tip.
I am sorry that you found our service a little inconsistent, we do always strive for our best everyday.
I hope we see you again soon
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
607 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,072 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Address: in the centre of the village, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: $117 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter
The Slaughters Country Inn Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing