We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Slaughters Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
$252
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dial House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
$77
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$152
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$119
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$178
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Lords of the Manor Hotel(Upper Slaughter)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,394)
Filter reviews
1,394 results
Traveler rating
837
401
109
35
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
401
109
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashbourne courtthe cottagesupper slaughterroll top bathsuperior roombeautiful villageold milllovely hotelbedroom and bathroompretty villagesister hotelfish and chipsenjoyable staybeautiful roommain buildingevening mealshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,243 - 1,248 of 1,394 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, in a lovely pretty village, very clean & well kept in all areas & full of character. Very helpful & polite staff in all areas, went out of their way to help in any way they could. Food was excellent and extremely comfortable beds.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe room at the start of our stay; upstairs of a lovely little cottage, very comfortable, clean, spacious & warm, bath/shower very tight, can't stand up under shower if over 5'5. Then we moved to a Superior room, very comfortable, huge bathroom, lovely views; only downside would be the expenses, but if you can afford it, well worth it. Good supply of good quality toiletries.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EDT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear EDT2013, thank you for such a glowing review.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a weekend two night stay at this Hotel.
It is a charming place located in easy reach of the surrounding sights and places to visit.
We booked a Superior Room and were allocated the Westbury Room which is in the main part of the old building.
This is a large room with a double aspect facing the Church and Main street on one side and the grounds at the rear premises on the other. It has a large bathroom with a corner bath and separate shower cubicle. As expected in an old building the floors are not level and creak when you walk on them, this adds to the ambiance but has resulted in negative comment in previous reviews, we could hear the people in the room above moving about, also when the showers operate you can hear the pump working, this did not spoil our stay as this is part of the fabric of the building but something to be aware of when booking.
The bed was enormous and comfortable and the room warm and cosy.
We received a friendly greeting from the reception staff and all staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is taken in the main restaurant where we also had dinner on one evening, don't expect an intimate atmosphere for dinner as they are catering for all the residents some of whom had young children with them, food was adequate and the service good.

Room Tip: The external rooms look more modern than those in the old building, beware that those in the old building can be susceptible to noise due to creaking floor boards and noise travel, also the shower pumps can be heard operating.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear HoilidayExpert, I am very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
As you say some of the rooms in the older part of the inn do have little quirks, but I am glad that you found this added to the experience.
I hope I can welcome you back soon
Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped here for cream tea and sandwiches after a circular walk from Bourton on the Water to Nounton and Upper Slaughter, having missed the lunch hour with the cooked food option. The scones were warm, fresh and orange-peel flavoured, a nice touch. Cakes were home made style, with proper flavours, so that was a pleasant surprise. The sandwiches were almost gourmet, we enjoyed them.
The atmosphere is not as you would expect a cosy country inn to be, it's a modern, functional, rather cold bar with a log fire in a room which was full so we couldn't sit there.
They were quite helpful to give us a (paid) lift to the Morton train station on a Sunday afternoon when we couldn't find a taxi/bus back - if that's you, book one in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0rangeBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear OrangeBlossom, I am so glad that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. You will have to come back in the summer, when you will be able to enjoy your tea in our fantastic river side garden .
Best Wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 night B&B rate of £170 and stayed in Godolphin in the main part of the Inn. It had a huge bed and bathroom with a roll top bath and a powerful shower. We did not experience any room noise at all and slept very well. We ate in the bar the first evening and the food was excellent. Breakfast did take a little while but that was fine with us. We would definite stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Julie M, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable short break with us. I hope we see you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here a few months back. We had a room which was upstairs.

Pro's:

-Lovely quiet village setting, central for visiting other villages
-Staff were mainly friendly and helpful
-Breakfast was ok
-Room was a nice design and bed was comfortable
-Free onsite parking

Con's:

-The room was cold so we had to ask for a heater and blankets which we were given
-The room we were in was not well insulated from noise, (I understand its an old building but still..)
1. We could hear the people in the downstairs room quite a lot. The guy did have a loud voice but it was really too much that we could hear what he was saying almost every time he spoke. We had to turn the TV up to drown it out.
2. The room we were in had some very loud pipes or pump (not sure which) running directly on the other side of the wall so every time we had a shower or flushed the toilet it made a noise for ages and it happened when we weren't using it either which lead me to believe it was for our neighbours bathroom too..
-This isn't a big deal but they didn't replenish the complimentary bathroom products such as shower gel which would have been a nice touch.
-They didn't offer complimentary bath robes and slippers for the duration of stay which would have also been a nice touch.
-We were not allowed to sit where we wanted for breakfast even though the room was only half full when we were there.

Overall a nice place to stay if you want the picturesque setting but the hotel could do with some improvements..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Gal1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear London_Gali1848, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us a couple of months ago, I am glad that on the whole you seamed to have enjoyed your stay with us.
As your stay was a while ago I am not sure of what pipes you are referring to as we have had no other guest mention this to us recently?
It is correct that we do not offer slippers for our guests but bathrobes can be provided on request.
I hope we can welcome you again soon
Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews