We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sunday lunch in an idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited The Slaughters Country Inn on Sunday 18th November for the first time. From the chatty professional staff to the beautifully presented and tasty Sunday lunch, I just couldn't fault and am looking forward to the next time I can visit. I had the chicken parfait starter, the Seabass and a crime caramel - perfect portions and lovely presentation! Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hclcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Hclcampbell, I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, we like to think that we offer one of the best value Sunday lunches around, with £18.50 for a two course lunch.

See you again soon
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in the Cotswolds with mixed experiences and never really had the time nor the inclination to leave feedback, but on this occasion I had to. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and looked after in such a friendly manor that we were instantly able to unwind, relax and enjoy such a wonderful spot. And this never changed throughout our 3 night stay - from the staff, service, the rooms, the breakfast...it was all beyond our expectations and so perfectly inkeeping with the gorgeous and peaceful surroundings. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Chrishsmith, I am delighted that you had such and nice time, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on 9th and 10th November, for our 4th wedding anniversary.

Having neither stayed at this hotel before or been to the Cotswolds before, we were apprehensive as to whether we'd made the right decision. Our typical UK weekend break would usually either be a city break (London/Edinburgh etc) or a weekend in the Lakes.

We arrived on the Friday afternoon to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who informed us that we'd been given a complimentary upgrade to a suite (Hopgarden). The suite was perfect for the weekend - the separate living area meaning we had somewhere to relax/read/watch tv. The bathroom was huge, with separate bath and stand alone shower cubicle.

I'd already pre-booked the restaurant for the Friday evening, but when we went down for dinner we preferred the setting of the bar, so we ate in the bar both evenings. This was just our personal preference, there was nothing wrong with the restaurant, but the bar area felt cosier with the fires going. The restaurant/bar menu varies slightly but you can have items from either menu in either location.

The bar is spread over 4 or 5 small areas, a couple of which had open fires in them, which made it very cosy. The restaurant was more formal (and mirrored!).

The food was excellent - we were in Barbados 5 weeks ago, and my pork belly dish at The Slaughters Country Inn was on a par with some of the meals we were eating there (at a fraction of the price!). Not only did it taste amazing, but the presentation was excellent too. The bar staff were also fantastic, and kept wandering round checking we were ok and if we needed anything - nothing was too much trouble for them.

We had champagne afternoon teas in the hotel on the Saturday afternoon, which were also great.

Breakfasts were taken in the restaurant, and you had a choice of either the cold continental (cerials, croissants etc) or a cooked breakfast. On a chilly November morning, the cooked breakfast (bacon, sausage, fried bread, beans, mushrooms, black pudding, tomatoes) was a no-brainer really!

Overall this is a beautiful country hotel, and great value for money, perfect for a weekend getaway or a base for an extended stay in the Cotswolds.

We will definitely be back to the The Slaughters Country Inn - it's simply perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank art200380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked a superior room for one night. We were allocated the Westbury room in the old part of the building. The room was very characterful. It had stone mullion windows overlooking the garden and church, fantastic.The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, however there were no bedside tables and one of the lamps shades was broken and required a new bulb. The bathroom had a separate corner bath and shower, this perhaps requires a little updating, maybe a modern roll top bath. The towels are large and fluffy! We had lunch in the bar, excellent! Then had a stroll around the village which is a dream, would love to live there. Dinner in the restaurant was good and staff very helpful, however We do prefer to see white linen table cloths in a restaurant otherwise we may as well have eaten in the bar. Breakfast was great. If you are thinking about staying here then I would say go ahead and book. We loved it and have already booked our next break there for a romantic valentines stay! Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for a birthday celebration. The staff are absolutely lovely and went out of their way to help, the food was amazing and the rooms really stunning and extremely comfortable, it felt like home from home.

Would definitely recommend for a lovely quiet stay in the countryside!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandybusby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Slaughters is the perfect base to explore the Cotwolds, situated within walking distance of Bourton-on-the-water. The rooms are superb, with luxurious beds (ie soft & big), the staff are very obliging, although one or two did not have a good grasp of spoken English.
The restaurant is a lovely setting for a romantic meal and the food is 1st class. The grounds are extensive and a good place to chill, weather permiting.
After a day wandering around the Cotswolds to go back to a superb meal, then relax by a log fire sampling the well stocked bar suited us down to the ground.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if the bank balance will allow, tall people mind your head in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two daughters over half term.Accomodation is very good and food and service was excellent.Great location from where to explore Cotswolds and beyond.Would recommend for short break.We had Manor suite which comprised a living room, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom with seperate bath and shower cubicle.All the staff were friendly and most helpful and willing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
616 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
395 reviews
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Address: in the centre of the village, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: $148 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter
The Slaughters Country Inn Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing