We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a very well located hotel in a most beautiful part of the country.There were just a few letdowns that took from our overall experience.The menu in the dining room is very limited if you want to eat there more than a couple of times.The breakfast was just ok but the service was poor.The prices in the bar were in my view very expensive indeed.There was very little storage in our room "Angelos" and the main window could not really be left open when the kitchen was working as the vent from there came out just above the window and the cooking smells were unbearable.The other window was behind the headboard of the bed and very difficult to get at.
On the plus side the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was large and comfortable.There is a nice walk from here to Burton -on-the Water.The hotel is quiet
We only paid £95 per night so the value was ok

Room Tip: I think getting a cottage could be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinjoecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Dinjoecurry, thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

With regards to your couple of letdowns, we try to keep our menus small as all of our food is fresh, but we are always happy to go off menu spec if any guest requests in advance. Our bar prices are comparable to the other establishments in the area and a good deal cheaper than some.

I will take a look at the room lay out, to see if anything can be done to make access to the window any better.

I am glad in the whole you found it an enjoyable exsperiance with us, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    336
    79
    27
    9
See reviews for
152
768
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently visited here and could not have asked for more. The hotel was stunning and ideally situated with lots of places to walk and visit within the surrounding area. The staff and food were exceptional. I did visit a few months ago and thought the place needed a little TLC and had something lacking but I am guessing that with the name change etc is now under new management as there was a completely different atmosphere to the place. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janem4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked two rooms and phoned twice to confirm that rooms were on ground floor. On arrival we had been allocated rooms upstairs. One of our party was unable to climb stairs and wish to be very near us. All lights blew 7 am and room very dark. Food undercooked, grilled goat cheese served straight from fridge, calf cheek so tough unable to cut. Special fish night no choice and piece of fish only served with undercooked boiled potatoes with nothing else, second supply of pots equally hard, bread eventually offered with no butter. Breakfast had wonderful croissant but eggs normally overcooked. staff very friendly and we felt sorry for head waiter who took all complaints from everyone. it wasn't his fault the kitchen staff can't cook. ever had runny chicken liver pâté?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Charlotte M, I am very sorry for the confusion with your booking, but was glad we were able to change your rooms straight away.

Our special fish night, does only offer one dish for £9.95 including a glass of wine, but we do also offer our full bar and restaurant menu on this night to give more choice.

Styles and cooking preferences are always a matter for subjectivity and therefore debate within our team, but I was disappointed that the meal you received did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you, perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly, either by email, gm@theslaughtersinn.co.uk or on the telephone?

Kind Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Idylically situated this hotel does not compare well with similar places in the same price range. It is veryF expensive and definitely NOT value for money.

The front line staff were helpful but the management either have no idea how to run an up market establishment or were just too interested in trying to gouge every pound of profit they could.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable but lacking. There were no bathrobes, no slippers, no safe, no pen, no paper upon which to write notes, no shower cap, no face washer, and only one very very small piece of soap - not anseparate one for the shower and hand basin.

The lighting was impossible (lowest wattage bulbs to save electricity) the plumbing was ancient and the shower leaked all over the floor. The cleaning staff were not trained. The standard of cleaning was dreadful - glasses not washed or replaced for example, and maintenance was poor - too many lights out.

Breakfast was so far below standard for a hotel of this price. Cheapest ingredients, continually running out of glasses, plates, food, and serving tea in chipped cups. They had great difficulty managing 15 guests. The coffee was so dreadful that we had to go to a nearby village every day.

If you are looking for a quality experience go elsewhere -you will get much better value for your money in any of the other nice places in this beautiful district.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Adam 157, I am sorry that your experience with us was not all that it should have been, but I afraid we do not offer bathrobes or slippers and we do try and use energy saving light bulbs.
Although it sounds like a cliché these days, it is often through the comments from our guests that our business moves forward. Naturally we don’t like to receive criticism and hope that we do meet our guests’ expectations but when things do go wrong, we must respond positively to keep improving, so thank you for your comments.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i visited Washbiurne Court for the second time.After a rather disappointing first visit we were unsure how this would go.
We were upgraded on checkin to a beautiful room with roll top bath in the room.Absolutely gorgeous.
We dined in Stow in the Wold and then relaxed for the rest of the evening in our
room.
The bed was huge and we had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of choice and a freshly cooked english breakfast.
All in all a fantastic second visit

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having stayed at a number of hotels in the Cotswolds over the years, my wife and I found the Washbourne Court hotel to be exceptional in service, setting and comfort. Yes we were upgraded after securing a Late rooms booking, but whatever room we had, I am sure it would not have detracted from a great experience. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, food was excellent. The only criticism was the same menu was on offer on the second night (Sunday) as the first, which prompted us to try another restaurant in nearby Bourton on the water for that evening.
A couple of good real ales on offer, and a comfortable and scenic patio area on which to relax. It was quiet and realxing on our nights, although there had been a bif wedding at the venue on the night before we arrived. The staff may have been weary, but they didn't let it show. Good breakfast too. Would we go again? You bet your life we would! Terrific.

Room Tip: The Cottages are placed about 10 metres from the main hotel and add to the feeling of peace and tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarringtonSilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here on 1/09/12 for my birthday. We had been given a voucher as a gift, when booking the room that was specified on the voucher was not available so received an upgrade. Our room was beautiful, huge with a sette at the end of the bed and a huge bathroom with an even huger bath. Very warm and professional welcome, lovely views from our bedroom. Our evening meal (also included in the voucher) was very good, the food was exceptional and we were very impressed. However we were designatedf to eat in the Scholars Bar rather than the restaurant which was rather odd - the bar was almost deserted and lacked ambience. The restaurant which we ate our breakfast in the next day was much more appealing, not sure why the hotel would differentiate for our evening meal in this way unless the restaurant was full? The breakfast was good (although no vegetarian sausages?) and why do you serve baked beans in little pots (baked beans are not caviar!). Very friendly welcome for breakfast and prompt and efficient service. It is a lovely place, the village looks somethig like a film set, and the hotel and its staff were welcoming and not pretentious, we will definitely return again but please can we have our evening meal in your restaurant?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartleyHare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: (Formally Washbourne Court), Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in search of peace, tranquility and the epitome of English country life you need look no further than The Slaughters Country Inn (formally Washbourne Court Hotel). Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty in all seasons. A truly magnificent 17th century hotel standing in four acres of grounds alongside the River Eye in the centre of Lower Slaughter, one of the most beautiful and unspoiled villages in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter
The Slaughters Country Inn Lower Slaughter, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing