We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am writing the review from the hotel. We had hoped this would be a nice place to stay. It is not.”
Review of Schloss Binningen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schloss Binningen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Binningen
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I am writing the review from the hotel. We had hoped this would be a nice place to stay. It is not.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am writing this from the hotel. We had hoped it would be a nice place to stay. It is not. It is quiet. However, the service is totally indifferent. The young woman on the front desk can not get her story strait. The rooms are not very clean.
The service is better for the Swiss and the Germans. I fail to understand why since I speak German and we have been totally polite. However, promise after promise has not been kept. Yes the laundry would be back tonight. Promise made at 4 pm. Now it will be tomorrow. There is no one on the desk at night. The wifi does not work well.
The hotel is managed by a young lady who is totally over her head. Do not come here.

Room Tip: Do not come
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalgaryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
27
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We got to watch a football match Maccabi Tel Aviv vs Basel.
Hotel within driving distance of about 15 minutes to the stadium.

We have only one night at the hotel, the service was excellent, large and spacious rooms.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DovGazit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On entering room twelve you find a short corridor with two doors the door on the left is the large well appointed bathroom and the door in-front leads to a large bright comfortable room with windows to two aspects. Coat hooks and hanging space are in the corridor and in the main room is the bed and flat screen t.v and a desk. The room and the bathroom were clean and tidy we only had one pillow each but a few minutes after speaking to the helpful receptionist extras were provided .The complementary breakfast was great and had lots of choice to tempt any fussy traveller. We only spent one night here but would of happily stayed longer.In summary a very good choice on tram line 10 ten minutes from Basel station and the centre highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 was good but I think any room in this hotel would have been equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Castle Garden is a perfect accommodation, very well designed according to needs of all types of travelers. Property is very clean and beautiful. Everything is perfect here and in short, our 2 days stay at this place was wonderful and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very easy to get into the centre of Basel by tram, which stops outside the hotel and takes about 10 mins into town. Unless you have a pressing reason to stay in the centre, the Schloss Binningen is a great place to be: easy to find, car park available, friendly helpful staff, Swiss levels of cleanliness and efficiency, great breakfast, and a great restaurant on the doorstep (albeit Swiss prices...)
We had a large room facing the Schloss which, although contemporary/sparse furnishings, felt welcoming. Fun arrangement of bathrooms with sliding doors between showers and sinks and toilets. Extremely comfortable beds, very well soundproofed even though we were above the breakfast room. Breakfast a leisurely and good offering.
If we came back to Basel we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if they do bad rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
200 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had just the one night at Hotel im Schlosspark as we were attending a wedding reception at the restaurant next door. What I would class as my perception of being typically Swiss, very efficiently run, very smart, very comfortable and clutter free.
Our room was on the first floor (watch out for the small step that we encountered entering our room) and was large, adequately furnished with a large ensuite bathroom. All in perfect working order.
The beds were very comfortable and fresh.
The breakfast was full and plentiful with the usual cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats, yoghurts etc plus the bonus of scrambled eggs and bacon. I was driven to the venue so have no concept of where we were in relation to the city but trams pass close by on a very regular basis.
It is very unlikely that we will return as it was a one off occasion but if we wanted a base to use whilst we toured Basel then this I am sure would fit the bill and we would have no hesitation in coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

this nice old style hotel is just 2,5 km from main train station in basel,
the entrance is not very impressive but the rooms are nice and spacious - prices range around 175 CHF.
there is no reception service in the night time.
very clean and good beds as well as very low voice level.

the attached restaurant is really excellent and a must for visitors.
super service excellent kitchen and nice and cosy environment

very recommendable place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binningen
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 51 in Basel
871 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
361 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
845 reviews
Hotel Jenny
#1 of 1 in Hagenthal-le-Bas
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Binningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Binningen

Property: Schloss Binningen
Address: Schlossgasse 5, Binningen 4102, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Binningen
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Binningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schloss Binningen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schloss Binningen is a hotel with restaurant in an historic castle in Binningen near Basel, Switzerland. The hotel offers 23 rooms. Every room is individually decorated. All rooms are smoking-free. The hotel is located in a small park. The elegant smoking-free restaurant has as well a terrace. The restaurant offers a combination of French and Italian cuisine. For cigar-smokers there is a separated cigar-lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Schloss Binningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing