We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view from Maharani Suite and Greenfiled room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naggar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Castle Naggar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Naggar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had booked Maharaja suite but that does not face valley. Since there was no rush we were given greenfiled (next to maharani suite) but no refund for lower tariff. Though rooms were small as compared to maharaja suite in Naggar. it had wonderful view given we stayed only for a night. Castle has its own museum which attracts tourists from Kullu/ Manali. It comes mid-way between Kullu and Manali. The entire castle is of wood and stones so gives a heritage look. View was magnificnet as you see snow first time in the Shimla-Kullu-Manali belt. Food including menu is standard all across HPTDC hotels. Gues they need to add variety. In case you need to try their Himachali cuisine, need to order 1 day sin advane.

Room Tip: Maharani, green field and one next to greenfiled, all these rooms are in line and give excellent vie...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaheshTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Castle Naggar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

Naggar castle is always a preferable one if you want to enjoy your trip. The place is serene and it is also clean and tidy. The rooms are little old and outdated but are spacious. The food is very good and the service is also fantastic. But only disappointment is that there will be people coming to visit the castle from morning to evening since its a tourist place and it will be a sort of disturbance. But this castle will make your holiday experience amazing. Do visit it if you want to have a quiet and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srinivasulu1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in the Her Highness room, and it was HUGE!!!...
Excellent location, clean sheets and room, old world charm, wood and stone structure, exquisite carving, breathtaking views all around.
You have a choice of eating in the restaurant, or in the attached balcony, over looking the valley... the balcony kind of hangs over the valley and, well, trust you got the idea? The entire experience is wow, wow and one more wow!!!
We stayed for 2 nights and still could not get enough of Naggar. Quiet, laid-back, serene, absolute bliss, just close your eyes and soak in all that is around you.
Service, can do with some sprucing up, that is all. But with so many pluses, you don't really look at such flaws. Bathrooms, are not so well lit.
For the price, one cannot ask for more: great value for money.
Even if you don't intend visiting Naggar, just visit to see this palace, you wont regret it.
Wish I could visit every year and stay here.
And there is a small museum too, in the basement of the hotel, not much, but is there.
Certainly, due to low traffic, the upkeep or the grandeur may not be to the same scale as the palaces of Rajasthan, but is certainly worth the money and the effort,, yes every cent worth.
Must Do!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nagaravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

if you do not want to make your trip to manali a chaotic one and if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, then look no further. this heritage hotel in a 500 year old castle with a breathtaking and commanding view of the beas valley is a prime property. you can sit out on the balcony and hear the silence resounding in the valley or watch the snow covered peaks resplendent in the sunshine. the feature of this property is its location and the pleasure of living in a wood and stone structure that is typical of hill architecture. if you want the fast lane then this not for you; the service can be tardy but be sure that the staff will greet you with a genuine smile. the food is palatable not gourmet. the bathrooms are basic but you do not want to spend too much time there. the suite you book is all important. be sure to book a river facing one and there are not too many. i found that the fozal peak suite is the best in terms of location. still the restaurant and the courtyard are very well appointed. there are fine treks around the place but do not look forward to too much to do; the idea is to sit back and relax. and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: book a river facing suite
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peeyush v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Castle at Naggar is a heritage hotel with wooden corridors and big rooms. The room I stayed was 'Her Highness'. The rooms are simple and big with all the retro amenities imaginable from Indian Govt. The surrounding is serene, quiet and beutiful.

It was too lonely at night even to the extent to scare the hell out of us. The town Naggar is a small town with not much activity. The best thing is to have a glass of wine with your partner in the corridors looking over hills of manali.

A different experience !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vyom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in the greenfield suite on 21st March'12, had planned to extend for a day,but cancelled after staying for a day. besides the views & decent food, the cleanliness in rooms is terrible, it was dusty, toilets were dirty.
will never recommend this hotel to anyone.
the service in the restaurant was great especially mr.nagendra pal he was very helpful.
i feel hptdc should have done a better job in maintaining the rooms.

Room Tip: stay at your own risk.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is great. There is a great scenic view just in the lobby outside the room.The food was very good and the location of the restaurant and the view from the restaurant is awesome. The hotel staff were too gentle and courteous. The best room in the hotel I liked 'FOZAL PEAK SUITE'.

Room Tip: Always go for 'FOZAL PEAK SUITE'. The room location is very good and one can see an excellen...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raminder N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naggar
1.3 mi away
Heritage Village Resort
1.8 mi away
Bharhka Countryside Cottage Resort
8.7 mi away
Apple Valley Resort
Apple Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Mohal
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sarthak Resorts
Sarthak Resorts
#1 of 1 in Khaknal
215 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 126 in Manali
990 reviews
11.1 mi away
Kullu Valley Hotel
Kullu Valley Hotel
#4 of 17 in Kullu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Naggar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Naggar

Address: Distt Kullu, Naggar, Manali Tehsil 175101, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Naggar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Naggar
Price Range: $22 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing