We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect base for our devon adventure”
Review of The Stowey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stowey Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Exminster B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just spent a wonderfull week in devon and used the stowey arms as our base, excellent clean, spacious room, very comfy beds and we liked that we could book room only and then add breakfast as an when we wanted it, ate in the dining room a couple of times and very good pub fayre, the fish & chips were amazing.Brian also let us store our bikes/boots etc in the garage, wonderfull hosts and a credit to the pub trade, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Room 4 was big and airy and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalkerGirlNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not a big fan of these sites but my excellent experience last night compelled me to sign up and leave the stowey arms a review, 4 of us turned up about 7pm and the place was full, i spoke to the young (very tall ) bar man and he directed me to Brian ( later found out he is the manager ) he said we would haveto wait 1/2 hour or so but we would get feed,and indeed in 20 mins we were ordering and 15 mins or so later our excellent food was at our table, two of us went for the rump and they were both perfectly cooked, with wonderful homemade chips, my wife had the lamb which she said was the best piece of lamb she had tasted in a long time, our fussy teenage son had a enormous gammon steak , the service despite them being full was excellent and our spotlessly clean plates at the end of our meal was testament to how good the meals were. and then to cap it all off the bill, with a couple of drinks each and 2 desserts only £48 exceptionally value for money.Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

we chose the stowey based on its reviews both on here and laterooms, and we were very impressed, the food was excellent and the room was large and airy and the bed was like floating on a cloud, brilliant location/base for exploring Devon, will be back for more later in the year

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We thought Friday Fish Night wasn't to be missed, Sorry but think again the chips were nothing more than warm greasy pieces of potatoe and the what we believe was tartare sauce was inedible,the restaurant staff very young and inexperienced asking if meal was ok before we had time to taste first mouthful. Not thier fault just a lack of supervision.
Their advertising also states breakfast served between 8am & 9am we asked for breakfast at 8am because we had to leave early to get to a wedding only to be told breakfast didn't start till 9am,which we obviously had to forego

Room Tip: find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights here and really good value for money. The food was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful.
Good base to travel from. Friday Fish and Chips should not be missed.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MURIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ate here one evening. The menu was good honest Pub fare, well cooked and well presented. Definitely worth calling in if you're looking for a good honest pub style meal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BroadlandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Excellent menu 2 for £12.00 good choice and cooked to order

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exminster
2.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,127 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowey Arms

Address: Main Road, Exminster, Exeter EX6 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Exminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Exminster
Price Range: $79 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowey Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stowey Arms is under New Managent. Lunch & Dinner now being served from Tuesday to Sunday. All our meat is supplied locally from "Lake Haven Butchers" and cooked on site we do not buy in any frozen food so if your in a hurry please bare this in mind. If your tired after dinner and do not wish to drive home you may want to stay overnight? then why not book one of our quality en-suite rooms at a working mans price And when you awake enjoy a cooked breakfast and go home happy and relaxed. Enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stowey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowey Arms Hotel Exminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing