We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, even worse hosts”
Review of The Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Froxfield B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, even worse hosts”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We decided to eat at the Pelican as they advertise rare breed near, well the rare breed was not rare breed, the portion size for one of our party was pathetic and when we asked too see the chief "he was too busy with service" to come and see us...there was about six people eating of which we made up four, however we were offered another piece of meat at the same size for just over £5!!! The attitude of the serving staff was far from good and obviously there was a case that none of them wanted to be there. At an early end to our evening we refused to pay all of our bill - they did point out that they had not charged us for the meal we had refused...like they were doing us a favour! We paid just under 2/3 of our bill and left this rather lovely looking pub with its poor staff, food quality and even worse customer service behind never to return again. If you are looking for good hospitality and food I would recommend driving on past this establishment and heading into Hungerford.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madge7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
65
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Extremely comfortable room, very efficient at reception and pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. Only negative comment was the noise nuisance caused by kids rolling around in the bar but this seems to be fairly common these days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I cannot understand the negative reviews!

I stayed at The Pelican with no previous knowledge of the place, just a rating of 8.2 on booking.com. However, I arrived at a very well kept, warm and clean pub and was checkied in quickly and efficiently and shown to my room - clean, tidy and well decorated.

I ate in the restaurant in the evening and for breakfast the following morning. Both times I was served excellent food very speedily.

The staff were very welcoming and I had one of the best night's sleep in ages, despite the main road being outside (the double glazing was very effective in reducing the noise).

Highly recommended - I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch today to celebrate my birthday with friends, not been here for quite a few months now and it appears to be under new ownership?
The food really is superb albeit maybe a little pricey. However, the service was awful. So slow with no explanation or apologies until questioned as we paid the bill. They said they were very busy today but surely they should allow for a busy day?
Such a shame as the food was really good but the entire dining experience was ruined by the service - and a kids birthday party in the middle of the restaurant which was so noisy.
Overall, my birthday lunch was not as enjoyable as it should have been. Probably won't be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Brianm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on the way to Hereford. We were met by a very happy lady who appeared with our wine almost as soon as we had ordered. Teh savignan was excellent and the red my lady had was of equal quality she told me.
We ordered steak sandwiches and we did not expect to have almost a dinner. The sandwiches were large stuffed with meat and salad, excellent value, presented very well my lady could barely finish.
Although recent signs of a refurbishment are apparent they have not detracted ffrom the the overall ambience of the pub it is veery nice, We stopped here on the way back for coffee which also of good quality and very drinkable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is easy to find, being on the A4, and there is plenty of free parking.

On arrival the staff were not overly friendly, but they were not rude or unfriendly either. We were just shown to the room, given a flask with some milk for making tea and coffee and told a few facts. There was no chat or interest in where we were from or why we were staying etc. To be honest, it made a pleasant change - it just wasn't what I expected!

We stayed just one night - a Saturday.

The room was above average in size - about 17' x 16', with a good-sized ensuite.
There was a double bed, and our two children used a single bed and a sofa bed.
All the beds were comfortable, and there was still enough space not to feel cramped.

The bath sealant looked a bit grubby and in need of replacement - see picture. And the dado rail was dirty in one place near the door - see picture. The room looked like it might need redecorating in the next 6-12 months.
Other than that, the room and ensuite were both clean.

Sometimes it's the little things that I miss in hotels - e.g. there was no coat hook.

There was a small TV with freeview, as well as a kettle etc.

There was some sort of humming noise that I thought was going to go on all night.
It wasn't really that noisy, but fortunately it stopped some time after we went to bed - maybe around 11pm. After that it was quiet until morning - which was a relief as we stayed on a Saturday night, and didn't know if there would be drunks shouting or something!

The only meal we ate there was the breakfast, which was excellent.

We would certanly stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 3, which was one of the biggest judging by the small map on the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassOfEightyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At the last minute we decided to take a couple of days away. Whilst the forcast was ok I looked for somewhere we could cope with rain or shine, being the antique shops of Hungerford or walking the Kennett & Avon canal.
We lucked out with glorious weather and the walking was great.
Having found vacancies over the bank hol weekend and seen the last review we approached the Pelican with some trepidation. What we got was a great 3star hotel with attentive staff a clean fully equiped room (including fresh milk for my morning cuppa) and reasonable food,the breakfast was great, the steak sandwich I had for lunch possibly one of the tastiest ever, and the dinner reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froxfield
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
305 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
280 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
633 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Crown & Anchor
The Crown & Anchor
#2 of 2 in Ramsbury
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Property: The Pelican Inn
Address: Bath Road, Froxfield SN8 3JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Froxfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Froxfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelican Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Free House has a large locals/walkers bar and three cosy restaurant areas, whilst upstairs there are eight comfortable ensuite bedrooms. Outside there is a large garden with stream, duck pond and two car parks. Situated in a perfect spot for those enjoying the local countryside, being a 5 minute stroll from the Kennet & Avon Canal (bridge 90 and lockgate 70). Walkers, fishermen, cyclists, boaters, children and friendly dogs are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Hotel Froxfield
The Pelican Inn Froxfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing