We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious room”
Review of The Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Froxfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Pelican and would definitely stay there again. The room was spacious, immaculately clean and comfortable with a two easy chairs and a double bed which gave us a very good nights sleep. The room was at the front of the building, overlooking the A4, with view of the sloping fields beyond, and in spite of the proximity of the road, the secondary double glazing meant we were not at all disturbed. We also had a meal, which was excellent. My only criticism of the pub would be that they did not have a very exciting range of draught ales, but maybe the only two on offer were just not to my taste. There is a delightful garden with a well fenced pond, pretty to look at and safe for children. The Kennet and Avon canal is just a short walk away, so handy for walkers, runners or kayakers like ourselves.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is one of the biggest rooms, but if you want a bath rather than a shower, ask for one...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for The Pelican Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

After holding our wedding reception here last year, we returned to enjoy dinner for our first anniversary last night. Now under different management, it was really interesting to see what changes have been made since last year. The garden outside is still very pleasant and welcoming, and the inside has a much more restaurant feel to it now, rather than the pub/restaurant it had previously. The service and staff, though changed, are still excellent and cannot be faulted. The menu is varied and reasonably priced and the food is great. Plenty of choice for wheat/gluten/dairy free diets and a great variety of drinks. As a pregnant visitor, I really enjoyed the apple juice - very refreshing! The atmosphere is still lovely and the decor, though slightly changed also, is high quality. I hope The Pelican Inn stays a delightful place for us to enjoy, particularly for future anniversaries. Thank you!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HolidayHappiness_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant with a couple of friends last night.the food was excellent ,the waitress couldnt do enough for us
and good value for money
Would recommend to anybody.......

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Today (24.03.2013) myself and some family members went for a celebration at this restaurant. When we arrived we were sat at a table and left for 20 minutes with no service or menu's.
My partner then had to go and asks for menus. We ordered some starters and roasts dinners as well as bread as this wasn't included.
When our dinners arrived we noticed that the children's order hadn't arrived so we asked where it was. The staff didn't seem to even know about the order let alone when it was going to arrive! We had to Remind them that we had ordered a children's chicken goujon meal. 10 minutes later it arrived and we were all baffled as to what it was on the plate. To put it plainly it was chicken covered in thick batter and deep fat fried! We soon sent it back and asked for something else. By time it was made and served everyone else was finished. The adult meals were mediocre and to be honest I would have preferred a Toby cavery! When the bread we ordered arrived we soon noticed it wasn't the first time this bread had obviously been served! The bread had lumps of butter where someone had obviously previously started buttering it and disguarded it! By turning the bread upside town the staff obviously thought we would be too dumb to notice that butter had been scraped off the bread before serving to us!
This is a disgrace and the fact we spent over £100 in this restaurant is a joke!
Will never ever return and will be telling everyone I know to avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wiltshirelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Manager at The Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hi Wiltshirelucy,

Firstly, thank you for choosing us for your celebratory meal, I am saddened to hear it wasn’t to your satisfaction. We are not a fast food outlet and It is normal to stagger order taking, to make sure everyone's food, which is cooked fresh, comes out in a reasonable time frame. However, we clearly let you down on this occasion in a number of ways but to believe that we would offer you bread-and-butter that had been cleared from another table is extraordinary. Of course we wouldn't. How butter got on the underside of a slice I know not, but I do know it is not a side order we normally sell and I can assure you it was prepared for you specifically. I am very sorry, that despite our efforts to put things right on the day and gestures of goodwill towards the bill, you left still feeling aggrieved.

Please do give us another try, as we have some great events coming up and would like to see you again and give you a more positive experience. Please call me personally to arrange your booking.

Kind Regards Terry , Kirsty and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a group of four, we all enjoyed our Sunday lunch yesterday, in very pleasant surroundings with very good service throughout.Three of us had the slow cooked Wiltshire ham, the fourth meal was the tagine. The roast potatoes were rather dry & tasteless but the rest of the food was good enough. Perhaps the food could have been hotter.

We would recommend the Pelican for solid, dependable fayre & we hope that the issues raised can be resolved. Overall, this establishment is a cut above similar restaurants in the general vicinity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eatoutalot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Returning from a day out on our anniversary, we had pre-booked a table for two in the restraunt. We arrived early in the evening and were seated at a cosy table opposite a log burning fire. There was a good selection on the menue to choose from and our final choice came cooked just the way we like it. The staff were friendly and helpful too. Good value for money!
We have only eaten there about 3 times, so cannot comment on standards rising or falling. Needless to say, based on the few times we have been there, we would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenjo018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My girlfriend and me thourght we would spen new year with some friend, and we stopped at The Pelican Inn in Froxfield.
We landed late evening on the 30th dec, and where made to feel very welcome, and although food had stopped being served, we where offered a welcome snack, we had eaten on the motor way!!! and this was much apprecitiated, and went down well with a nice drink.
We had a double room on the road side, absolutly spotless, nicely fernished and had a nicley deep bath, as well as a shower in a very spaciouse bath room.
To say we where on the road side we could not hear any traffic noise, the double glassing is good!.
We rose in the morning, Late, missed breakfast, but Kirsty and Terry and Patrick, where very welcoeming, and arranged coffee and bacon sandwiches for us! again thank you and nice big Butties they where too.
We then went and spent some time in Malbrough and Hungerford, both lovely places and we even had somthing to eat in malbrough at a place Kirsty advised, very nice!.
The new year buffet that Terry put on was GREAT!!!!! haggis n the lot!, the Irish band (brilliant) that where on, realy got every one involved and a Top night was had by all!!!!!!.
Had another good sleep and a good hot bath to wake ourselves up, we missed breakfast again, but patrick was on hand and revived us with plenty of coffee and one of them great butties again, which was just what we needed befor the drive home!!!!!!.
I have to say Thank you to Terry and Kirsty, Patrick and all the staff for a very very relaxing and enjoyable new year, in a lovely pub with some of the friendlyest locals i have ever met!.
Thank you and we hope to come again sooner rarther than later.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froxfield
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
312 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
289 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
293 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 9 in Hungerford
223 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Address: Bath Road, Froxfield SN8 3JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Froxfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Froxfield
Price Range: $79 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelican Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Free House has a large locals/walkers bar and three cosy restaurant areas, whilst upstairs there are eight comfortable ensuite bedrooms. Outside there is a large garden with stream, duck pond and two car parks. Situated in a perfect spot for those enjoying the local countryside, being a 5 minute stroll from the Kennet & Avon Canal (bridge 90 and lockgate 70). Walkers, fishermen, cyclists, boaters, children and friendly dogs are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Hotel Froxfield
The Pelican Inn Froxfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing