We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center

Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently had a a family wedding near Otaki & rented out your whole motel complex for the family. We were so thrilled with Cottage Park & its facilities! We were able to prepare our meals in the large & well equipped kitchen & then utilise a large dining room for eating & socialising. Just perfect for the large group. The children loved the pool table & the lovely indoor pool!! They had a ball. The units were all extremely clean & had a lot of room in them which was perfect for our large family group. The service was excellent & we had a really lovely time. I highly recommend Cottage Park Motel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
19
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at this motel with 4 small children, their parents and my wife and I (grandparents). I understand it is under new management and we found the whole complex very clean and comfortable - the owner could not have done more for us. The beds in the cabins are the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: All the cabins seem as comfortable and quiet as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 240andyw240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here we were not expecting much but thought it'd be fine to stay for the night before our ferry trip in the morning. On arriving we were instantly surprised. It was absolutely lovely! The room was very clean and cosy. The bathroom facilities were the cleanest I've seen of any of the places I've stayed in. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The manager was more than helpful and welcoming on our arrival. I can't say enough good things! Just wish we could have stayed there longer :)

Thanks so much Cottage Park! We will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thank you very much for our stay and for going out of your way being our driver we realise this is not a service that can always be available but we very much appreciated it.
Lovely place to stay would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna9839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's like a nature park, but within a walk of the outlet shops of sweet Otaki. Log cabins, caravan spots, or room capsules. It's lovely and comfortable, clean, and friendly. What's more, it is way more inexpensive than big city accommodation an hour away in Wellington.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripoata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The new owner of the Cottage Park Motor Lodge made me feel very welcome on my first ever visit. I liked being separate from the other guests in a natural setting. Warm, spacious and comfortable cottage with large bathroom area, and flat screen television and heat pump in the lounge. Wished it had been a more summery day as the pool area and spa looked inviting. With more improvements in the pipeline I am sure this complex will be very popular. Helpful manager at reception. Would book again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed in a comfortable and clean 2 bedroom chalet. The manager was extremely helpful and informative - even bought me the makings of breakfast because we had come without a car to go shopping. No charge. Thanks Ken. Recently under new management, every effort is being made to bring this complex up to scratch for the summer season. Lovely setting, pool, friendly hosts. Close to the wonderful factory outlet shopping complex and not too far from Otaki Beach. I would definitely stay again next time I'm in Otaki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette71_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otaki
13.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
11.8 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otaki Motel
Otaki Motel
#1 of 5 in Otaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
9.4 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center

Property: Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Address: 272 Main Highway, Otaki 5512, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Otaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Park Motor Lodge is set in spacious park like relaxing surroundings. A log cabin/cottage theme was adopted with the units (separated) in the park settingThe cottages are at the Southern end of the property which retains many of the established native trees & is home to many native birds.At the Northern end of the property there are 5 separate budget cabins (sleep single or double) plus a communal building with kitchen/dining/lounge, shower/toilet facilities for the use of back packers and campers etc. Extensive car parking gives access to cottages and budget units. There are 4 Motor home parks on the property.Parking available for trucks, trailers, boats, caravans,motor bikes etc.The cottages are double glazed, fully insulated with your comfort in mind and promise a quiet stay for guests.The large reception building houses a conference room. There is also a spa pool on site. Cottage Park Motor Lodge is ideal for Sports groups, Weddings, Birthday parties etc. A courtesy coach is available upon request. Inspection welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing