We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner went out of his way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New owner went out of his way”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thank you very much for our stay and for going out of your way being our driver we realise this is not a service that can always be available but we very much appreciated it.
Lovely place to stay would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna9839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
22
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's like a nature park, but within a walk of the outlet shops of sweet Otaki. Log cabins, caravan spots, or room capsules. It's lovely and comfortable, clean, and friendly. What's more, it is way more inexpensive than big city accommodation an hour away in Wellington.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripoata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The new owner of the Cottage Park Motor Lodge made me feel very welcome on my first ever visit. I liked being separate from the other guests in a natural setting. Warm, spacious and comfortable cottage with large bathroom area, and flat screen television and heat pump in the lounge. Wished it had been a more summery day as the pool area and spa looked inviting. With more improvements in the pipeline I am sure this complex will be very popular. Helpful manager at reception. Would book again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed in a comfortable and clean 2 bedroom chalet. The manager was extremely helpful and informative - even bought me the makings of breakfast because we had come without a car to go shopping. No charge. Thanks Ken. Recently under new management, every effort is being made to bring this complex up to scratch for the summer season. Lovely setting, pool, friendly hosts. Close to the wonderful factory outlet shopping complex and not too far from Otaki Beach. I would definitely stay again next time I'm in Otaki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette71_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This motel has the ability to be Great. Nice setting and cabins are spacious but filthy. Would not even sit on the couch! who knows when floors last washed.." would never go back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have stayed at Cottage Park regularly over the past 3 years, and have always found the owners to be very pleasant and helpful. They have separate log cabins which makes it pleasant as you feel that you are in your own little house. Over the years I have stayed in 4 of these cabins(which were all sound proofed) and have not found them filthy (as previous comments) and the owners service your cabin every day.
I have also stayed in one of their little fibreglass boxes (as discribed by NigeJ), as at the time of my stay the cabins were all booked, I received a discount, and when a cabin became available I was given this. In this so called fibreglass box there is a double bed, table and chairs, TV, and a padded bench seat that was very comfortable to sit on, not to mention electric blanket and heater. There is also communal showers and kitchen which I didn't mind using until I was moved into the cabin. Over all the owners are great, the place is very private, warm, CLEAN and I will always stay there when holidaying in Otaki. I always recommend Cottage Park to my friends and relations.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Filthy - the cleaning is very poor. Don't believe their claim that it's reasonably new - it's very dingy. Very close to the main highways and very noisy. Extremely bossy and rude 'welcome'. We were told to wait... and wait... as they were busy doing something(?) else somewhere else. Knew we were in trouble when we saw the reception and room plastered with semi-literate passive aggressive signs: do this, do not use oven, guests must... etc. etc. We will certainly never be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yhinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otaki
13.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
95 reviews
11.8 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otaki Motel
Otaki Motel
#1 of 5 in Otaki
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
81 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
80 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center

Property: Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Address: 272 Main Highway, Otaki 5512, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Otaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Park Motor Lodge is set in spacious park like relaxing surroundings. A log cabin/cottage theme was adopted with the units (separated) in the park settingThe cottages are at the Southern end of the property which retains many of the established native trees & is home to many native birds.At the Northern end of the property there are 5 separate budget cabins (sleep single or double) plus a communal building with kitchen/dining/lounge, shower/toilet facilities for the use of back packers and campers etc. Extensive car parking gives access to cottages and budget units. There are 4 Motor home parks on the property.Parking available for trucks, trailers, boats, caravans,motor bikes etc.The cottages are double glazed, fully insulated with your comfort in mind and promise a quiet stay for guests.The large reception building houses a conference room. There is also a spa pool on site. Cottage Park Motor Lodge is ideal for Sports groups, Weddings, Birthday parties etc. A courtesy coach is available upon request. Inspection welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing