We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying in a fiberglass box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Ok it's budget but thus is a close as motel could be to being a camp site. Staff ok but fiberglass boxes used as rooms are far from attractive. Maybe I am too fussy for the price ($80) but I think you could do a lot better for only a little more.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stay regularly at Cottage Park Motel and would recommend others to.
We arrived in bad weather, reception gave us candles just in case of a power cut, hot water bottles and extra blankets. Warm friendly service as always

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with my husband during the recent cold snap. The staff went out of their way during a power cut caused by the storm. We had a lovely warm stay and very comfortable unit. The people running the hotel were exteremly friendly and bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable during the snow fall.

My job means I travel the world staying in 4 and 5 star accommodation and I consider this much better value for money then most of the places I have stayed in overseas.

I'm 7 months pregnant and I found the bed very comfortable.

Would highly recommend to anyone who'd like a comfortable relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eztige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Obviously the management of this motel have not read the reviews because I can agree with everything written below but think it has got worse.
We stayed here for work.
We had picked up a brochure from the Otaki Information Centre which completely misrepresented this place and was totally out of date
On phoning to book the service was unwelcoming bordering on rude.
When we checked in this did not improve. We had asked to sleep 2 people in seperate rooms and were quoted $155.00. On checkin this was reduced to $138.00 if one of us would sleep in the single bunk in the lounge. When shown to our room we were told that if we got cold to pull the duvet off the top bunk and use that.
We were given enough towels (2) and facecloths (2)
We had an executive room. The skirting boards were dirty and there were cobwebs in all the corners. The sofa and chair in the lounge looked to be at least 20 years old and very well used (also very uncomfortable) and there overall impression was that this motel is not being cleaned properly.

The electric blanket on the double bed had unusual controls which concerned us enough that it wasnt used (each side was a different control).
The bunk in the lounge was the old school wire bed with a thin mattress that was uncomfortable
The linen, blankets, duvets and pillows all looked old and the linen was quite thin

The signage is very off putting and does not make you feel welcome.

The only saving grace was the shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The final insult was that the milk given in the jug for coffee in the morning was off.

Overall the worst bite was the price and lack of cleanliness. We travel for work and frequently stay in both low and high budget accommodation and this place should be priced at about $80 per night because it is basically low end camp ground motel accommodation. Had it not cost $138.00 we probably would not have been so disappointed. We have advised the information centre to not recommend this motel and would never stay there again. It is without exception the worst accommodation we have stayed in (and we are in motel accommodation at least 104 nights a year)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meg076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Previously stayed in this motel several times. Travelled as two couples. On booking at least a month in advance and discussing need for two double beds as previously booked at this motel, assured that it was available.
On booking in, we weregiven a unit with a futon as the second double bed. When stated this was not what we had booked were offered a second unit(to avail ourselves of a second real bed) at $115 extra. When asked about the usual unit we have booked previously we were told a single man had been booked in there and he arrived the night before and that he would have to be moved to make this available. Not understanding how this could ever happen we went with the flow and stayed with what was given.
Like the previous reviewer, our unit was definitely not prepared for 4 people with only one shampoo two teabags, a variety of crockery and cutlery, towels for only two. None of the explanations were worthy, the quality and feeling of welcome were no longer present as they were only a year previously and after having used this motel several times since its inception we will now look for an alternative in Otaki.
Definitely felt unwelcome and hard done by. This is not good customer service. Unfortunate really as each time we visit Otaki and stay there we have 2- 3 other units booked by friends at the same time.
And a note for the owners, these aged futons should not be marketed as beds. definitely uncomfortable and lumpy!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brillan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Where to begin?
I stayed at the Cottage Park Motel last night with my wife after being booked in there by friends whom we were meeting up with. Our unit was a small separate unit with a polished wood interior. There was a small column heater in the unit trying to heat the place up and loosing the battle.

Small is the important point here. The bed was in a small annex and to get to the head of it one had to shuffle sideways between the bed and the wall. I was concerned that if I had to get out of bed quickly I would smash my face into the wall. The Bathroom was very small with a shower designed for midgets. But the worse part was that the bathroom smelt of stale urine. This smell also wafted into the rest of the unit as well.

So we asked for a different unit. The management conceded they new about the smell but were having trouble removing it. For the privilege of not having a unit that smelt of urine and the health issues that are caused by this it was going to cost an extra $10 to "upgrade". This we accepted but never paid.

The replacement unit was vastly better than the first. A lot bigger and more modern. The bathroom was very large and fitted with modern fittings. The unit was very cold and the only heating was another small column heater. This had even less chance of heating the place up on a wet winters night and it didn't.

I should add the keys to the units seem to be one fits all. By accident we went to the wrong unit in the dark and our key opened it. So beware of your valuables if you so choose to stay here.

The bedding on the bed was a thin duvet and was not going to be enough. Fortunately there were a set of bunks in the lounge and we used the bedding of these to stay warm for the night. The Bathroom had one hand towel and the toiletries like shampoo and soap were enough for only one person although we were two. There was even only one wine glass included in the unit.

The fridge was turned off when we arrived and so the jug of fresh milk had to stay in this warm fridge until it got up to speed. This is a budget mentality and does not reflect in the tariff.

There was a lot of negative sign-age in the unit such as the large no smoking sign, the sign to tell you not to change TV channels and even larger sign on the door telling to you to be out by 10am. Little things that did not make you feel welcome.

The unit was priced at $125. $10 more than our original unit as we did not fancy smelling urine all night. Now I stay at the Ritz in Greenlane for $125 a night and this is a modern well fitted motel in central Auckland. I have just booked rooms at the Pathumwan Princess a 5 star hotel in Central Bangkok which includes a buffet breakfast for two and this is $125. So $125 for a motel in Otaki with a budget fitout and services inadequate heating and bedding is totally over the top. The value is simply not there.

On the positive side the shower was very good. Hot and lots of pressure.

If I was going to stay in Otaki again I would not stay at the cottage park motel. There has to be something better in Otaki. So Cottage Park you just do not make the grade

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gollumnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otaki
13.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
96 reviews
11.8 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otaki Motel
Otaki Motel
#1 of 5 in Otaki
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
80 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
82 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ariki Lodge Motel
Ariki Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center

Address: 272 Main Highway, Otaki 5512, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Otaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otaki
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Park Motor Lodge is set in spacious park like relaxing surroundings. A log cabin/cottage theme was adopted with the units (separated) in the park settingThe cottages are at the Southern end of the property which retains many of the established native trees & is home to many native birds.At the Northern end of the property there are 5 separate budget cabins (sleep single or double) plus a communal building with kitchen/dining/lounge, shower/toilet facilities for the use of back packers and campers etc. Extensive car parking gives access to cottages and budget units. There are 4 Motor home parks on the property.Parking available for trucks, trailers, boats, caravans,motor bikes etc.The cottages are double glazed, fully insulated with your comfort in mind and promise a quiet stay for guests.The large reception building houses a conference room. There is also a spa pool on site. Cottage Park Motor Lodge is ideal for Sports groups, Weddings, Birthday parties etc. A courtesy coach is available upon request. Inspection welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing