We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chasedale Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
283
46
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
46
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadb bforest of deanwye valleypub next doorlocal areaexcellent showerguest loungegranolahome madecomfortable bedslovely houselovely couplebreakfast was deliciousthe publovely hostsold house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 334 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Excellent breakfast and accommodation. The owner gave helpful advice on the area which contributed to the enjoyment of our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is a charming bed and breakfast in a lovely rural location. The service is efficient and superb breakfasts with delicious local provenance set you up for a day's sightseeing! The rooms are comfortable and the village is quiet, but ideally situated for exploring the Wye valley and into Wales. Our schedule meant we didn´t really have time to take advantage of the pretty garden and the beautiful lounge, with its fascinating ornaments. There is a wealth of information for the visitor to the area available at Lea House, and we have no hesitation in recommending Lea House to other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticnomad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights, Caroline was very helpful making sure we had plenty of information about local places to visit -even loaning us a map with everything marked on it! It got us out of a couple of difficult loction spotting incidents! We ate at Lea House on the day of our arrival-Caroline is an excellent cook-and she's willing to share her recipe for homemade ice cream-delicious. I worked my way through the breakfast menu-I can recommend everything and Caroline was obliging enough to cook me an excellent marmalade omelette on my last day-I have suggested she adds it to her menu!! Really comfortable bed and huge bedroom. Great location. Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent 2 very enjoyable nights at Lea House last week. The House was easy to find, and though it is 4 miles from Ross on Wye, was still in a picturesque and convenient spot. We stayed in the Cider Room, which was fairly large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Caroline provides a tea tray which is re-stocked every day with tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. and a jar of cookies which we thought was a lovely touch, we have stayed in 5 star hotels who do not provide this. The bathroom for this particular room was next door (I think all other rooms have en-suite) but as it was ours exclusively and was very well stocked with complimentary toiletries this was not a problem. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, and although Caroline does try to steer you towards a specific time, she did accommodate us when we needed an early start. Lea House has WI FI, and will even lend you a net book if you need it.
Caroline reccommended an Indian resaurant in the village of Lower Lydbrook callled River Spice which we tried, and it was fantastic, one of the best Indian meals we've had. The second night, exhausted from a 14 mile canoe trip we decided to fall into the pub next door, and although like the last reviewer we found the service slow, it was just great to be able to walk next door and not have to drive anywhere, as so often happens when staying somewhere rural.
All in all, fantastic value for money, at £65 a night, We certainly would not expect anything more in this price range. Thanks to Caroline for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

A good B&B and I'd recommend it to anyone. Slight negative on being asked to choose breakfast for the next morning immediately on arrival. Could ask for more leeway here, maybe fill out a tick list and leave it downstairs? No breakfast if you forget? Just a thought. Food is excellent, we also had an evening meal and loved it. Avoid eating in the pub next door except for fresh sandwiches.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff2ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews