We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stayed at Lea House for a couple of nights after Easter with my ten year old daughter and my dog, and I would strongly recommend it. Caroline is a friendly, welcoming and informative host, the rooms are attractive and clean, the breakfast is delicious and the location good. I'd never been to the Forest of Dean and it turns out to be full of things to do and see. I shall certainly make a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
150
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maids Moreton
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Lea House is set in a pretty village, with quite a few rooms, and a beautful garden. The rooms are very clean, and tidy. The food is excellent which included breakfast, and you can have evening meals, which I can recommend. Alot of the produce was homegrown, and homemade which is even better! The owner made guests/dogs very welcome!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaread_585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have just spent a 3 day Easter weekend break at Lea House. We cannot

speak too highly of the welcome by Caroline ( and Cocoa the dog). The

accommodation and meals were perfect and worthy of 5 star rating.

Thank you, Caroline, for looking after us so well. We can certainly recommend

Lea House as one of the best B&B’s.



Marjorie and John

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Lea house as we needed somewhere close by for a family party and were greeted by the owner who made us welcome and took our order for a home made, locally sourced breakfast in the morning.

A great house with plenty of character - easy to find in a little village south of Ross on the A40. The rooms were clean and a good size with some very nice personal touches.

Really enjoyed breakfast in the morning and would like to try the evening meal on offer if we have chance. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We were very well received. Our room was nice and comfortable
and dinner and breakfast were excellent. We advise you to dine in, the food was delicious! Before dining you can take a drink in the pleasant sitting room.
The house is nearby the road (A 40), but it is a quiet place; we have slept very well.

  • Liked — dinner, the room, the hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaapHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We spent three nights and had two dinners, which are offered as an option. The food was excellent, being well prepared and tasty. You are offered choices of menu (limited by the size of the B+B) of one, two or three courses. Not licenced but there is a a very good village store just across the road which offers a wide selection of wine (for the size of the store). Caroline will keep your wine cold for you if needs be. There is afriendly little pub next door if you don't wish to dine at the B+B.

There is a very comfortable residents lounge. All guests eat at one table, which makes for the opportunity to chat with fellow guests. There is a lovely garden at the rear where you can relax with a glass of wine (which we did)

Any one arriving for their first stay should be aware that the entrance is on a rather awkward junction. Not a reason to avoid Lea House, but there is a need to be careful.

  • Liked — food, ambience
  • Disliked — access from road
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_in_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Had a superb weekend and made extremely welcome. Lovely breakfasts with home made breads and jams. Cosy room with all the facilities you could require. Very considerate about my old car!
Quiet location but pub serving food and real ales next door. Would certaily book again.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
719 reviews
8.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing