We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful b & b. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a welcome pack that had obviously taken to a lot of time and effort to compile. The room we had was larger than we expected and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable and a great nights sleep was had. Breakfast times are as flexible as you want and the options on the menu are endless plus all the produce is fresh and locally sourced and tastes great. Would recommend this place to anybody thinking of visiting the Forest of Dean. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flash14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thanks a lot - I do try to put lots of information in the Information folder in your room. I think it is really important that you know all about everything that is on offer locally, to have the best time possible while visiting the area. And eat in the nicest restaurants!
Glad you enjoyed your stay and see you again soon I hope.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Such a lovely and beautiful place, excellent breakfast and a clean, well facilitated room. Our dog was welcomed with open arms also! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break ! Caroline and jelly bean (her dog) were very helpful and have great knowledge of the surroundings .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you so much. It was really lovely to meet you, and I loved your dog. Come back soon.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A fabulous B&B in a really good location. Caroline was very welcoming and friendly - we had a really good stay. It was also brilliant for our dog too who also had a great time! The resident dog and cats were an added bonus for us and I would really recommend for dog and cat lovers alike!
The breakfast was first class, comfort and cleanliness unbeatable. We loved it as a base for 2 days exploring the area and chilled out in the dog friendly Crown next door for the evenings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Ooh! How kind of you to say such nice things. I shall look forward to seeing you again, maybe with Matthew the King Charles, very soon.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My mother and I stayed for one night at this gem of a Bed and Breakfast, which we were so lucky to find at quite short notice. We had a room with twin beds and a private bathroom (The Cider Room). It was just what we needed, in fact it exceeded our expectations in every respect. Every need was catered for, the house was beautifully presented and Caroline was the perfect hostess. We would recommend it to anyone and have begun doing so already.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Tracy, thank you so much for taking the time to write me a review, especially when I know you are very occupied with family matters. I do hope you come this way again, and look forward to seeing you and your mum again.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Lea House to see The Bore and were made very welcome by Caroline who was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Luckily we stayed in for evening meals which were delicious as Caroline is and excellent cook. This is a lovely walking area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granary Room - the bed is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

It was such a pleasure to cook dinner for such appreciative guests and I am glad you got to see The Bore. Come back again soon
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, primarily to see the Severn Bore. Caroline was very helpful and friendly plus the added bonus of being an excellent cook! Our room was really lovely and comfortable, very much 'home from home'. You also get a lovely welcome from Jellybean the gorgeous little dog! Brilliant base for the Severn Bore, Gloucester, Hereford, Ross-on-Wye, Monmouth and The Forest of Dean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleV&C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Glad you got to see The Bore but I hope you can come back for some of our gorgeous spring weather and to see the bluebells maybe.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Lea House; it is a lovely place, the breakfast was fabulous and Caroline was very helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend staying here to anyone.

Thank you very much Caroline

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorecambeDebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words.
Hope to see you again one day
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
7.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
269 reviews
4 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
430 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range: $95 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing