We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when on business. As I was going to arrive after my host had gone out for the evening she was nice enough to leave me a key to allow me to get in. Lovely house, room had everything you need. the room I was in had its own full bathroom just down the hall with more than everything you need. I was lucky enough to be able to have the deliciouse breakfast before leaving in the morning. The only criticisum I had was that when arriving in the dark it is not abvious where to park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi - Thanks for your nice comments. I do have a Lea House Parking sign on the gate but truth to tell, people don't always see it in daylight! We live in an unlit village so I am not surprised you may have been confused in the dark. If I had been here, you would have seen me leap out to greet you and show you where to park, but sadly, as you say, I was not. Do hope it won't deter you from calling again if you are back in the area.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
145
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When we were looking for somewhere to spend a well earned weekend off our priority was to find a dog friendly b&b around an hour from home.
We fortunately made a good choice. Caroline is very obliging & her attention to detail & concern about her guests well being is second to none.
Lea House is very efficiently run & nothing is too much trouble.
Yes there are rules about keeping dogs under control but this is Caroline's home as well as her business & she obviously does not want it trashed by inconsiderate guests.
I am a chef so I know what I'm talking about when it comes to grub!
The choice of breakfast is extensive & of excellent quality, I just loved the veggie breakfast for change with the courgette fritter & the smoked haddock was equally good.
The accommodation was clean & Caroline could offer plenty advice on days out & restaurants.
Would We go again? ....Yes & so would my dogs. Caroline's little dog Jelly Bean is a delight as are her feline companions. I struggled a little with the shower in our room but I don't consider that to be a reason to put anyone off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggerWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello both - many thanks for your review and, yes, you are right, I have so many guests who bring their dogs to stay that I do have to be a little careful otherwise there would be no lawn or garden for everyone to enjoy. But owners like you are really very good and I rarely have any problems even when, like last weekend, there were your 2 lovely dogs and another black lab as well staying.
Sorry if the shower was not perfect - I certainly didn't realise but, despite that, it is the bathroom that is due for a complete make-over and enlargement during the winter so hopefully you will be pleasantly surprised if you do choose to come and stay again.
Jelly and I send best wishes to you and the dogs!
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a great location to visit sites in the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean. Caroline's knowledge and recommendations on local sites and restaurants were a great help. A lovely place to stay and a lovely lady - thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much. It was a great pleasure to meet you both.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A good location to tour the Wye valley. Very comfortable with good home cooked food. Caroline's recommendations on local sights and eating places were a great help.A pleasurable and friendly experience .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello
Many thanks for your kind review. I am just so glad I was able to steer you to good dog-friendly places to visit and to eat. Jelly is missing her doggy companion!
Come back soon
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I chose Lea House because of its locality but it proved to be far more than convenient. We could not have asked for more. Caroline had thought of everything just to make our stay that little bit more special e.g. biscuits with our tea/coffee making facilities in the room, hair dryer, cotton buds, face cloths etc. We would have given five stars but the shower was not particularly efficient, although what you should expect from a beautiful old house. Very tasty breakfast made with local produce. Should have been £39 per head (£78) for the Hayloft (2013 prices) but we were charged £88. Despite this we will be back.

Room Tip: We treated ourselves to The Hayloft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to give me a review and for pointing out that the shower was not great, thanks for the tip, I hadn't realised. As it happens that bathroom is being enlarged and upgraded this winter so I hope it has not put you off returning.
Regarding the pricing - the room is indeed £78 per night this year but for a one-night stay there is an additional £5 per head surcharge which is clearly stated. You must not have spotted that but, because you booked through Booking.com, the price was fixed when you booked anyway. But I am sorry if there was any misunderstanding.
I hope your son is getting on well at college and that you will be back to see him soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The house is gorgeous with carefully selected furnishings. This accommodation is perfectly located to enjoy the Wye Valley and Goodrich Castle. Try the homemade bread and marmalade and the rest of the local produce for breakfast. Caroline made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed a comfortable night in a very pleasant place. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeAC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks. It is great that Goodrich Castle is so close by. Nearly all my guests visit it and all come back saying how great it is, but so little known.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A warm welcome and a comfortable stay in this beautiful old house. Caroline is full of useful tips on what to see and where to eat etc., invaluable advice. The room and food were first class.
Excellent location to explore the whole Wye valley, Forest of Dean and beyond, with the attractive town of Ross only 10 minutes away.
There is a lot more to see and do in this area than at first it seems.
Plenty of historical sites and outdoors-type activities. Loads of walking along the river or in the forest.
An abundance of good restaurants, bistros, pubs, etc to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_and_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
How lucky I am that the Rugby League World Cup brought you in my direction to do a bit of exploring. So glad you were impressed and hope you come back soon to see some more.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#6 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White House Guest House
The White House Guest House
#15 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing