We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fabulous bed and breakfast. The rooms were gorgeous, so tastefully decorated and everything available from beverages and biscuits to toiletries. Caroline is a superb host (Jelly Bean, the Jack Russell as well) and makes you feel so welcome. Breakfast was delicious including the home made bread! A pure touch of 'Olde English' hospitality with china cups and silverware.
The next biggest bonus for us is that pets are allowed. We only stayed one night but I would have liked to have stayed for longer. We would definately return to the Forest of Dean now that we know about Lea House.
Thank you Caroline !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granitetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Oooh, you are too kind Caroline. Thanks so much. I hope you can make the journey down this way again very soon and will look forward to seeing you and the dogs.
best wishes, caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    37
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
140
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Caroline managed to fit myself and my four children in for a nights accommodation - Saturday 27th, at extremely short notice. We weren't the easiest of family size to accommodate, so I really appreciated her flexibility in working the rooms to suit us.
We arrived at dusk, and had a friendly introduction to Caroline, and Jelly (the Terrier) whom the children adored. We didn't stay long before we had to dash out to meet friends, but the orders for breakfast were taken when we came down from dropping our bags off.
The children appreciated being given the choice of what they would and wouldn't like on their plates, and I guess it saves on unnecessary waste also.
The rooms were clean, warm & comfortable, and it reminded me of staying at a favourite aunties years ago. If you want a clinical, minimalistic style accommodation, then don't book here - but - if you would like to step into a home from home, cosy guest house with massive exposed beams (allegedly taken from the wreckage of The Armada) wood burner, fireplaces in the bedrooms, an eclectic mix of crockery and nick knacks, then this is for you. The house offers many historical secrets I'm sure, and it would be lovely to know more about it.
I was nervous about taking my children away on my own for the first time, but Caroline made us ALL feel very welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TisTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It was a great pleasure to meet you and your lovely children - I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We decided at the last minute to take a few days away...on looking on forest of dean website we came a cross lea house, checking trip adviser with its glowing reviews we thought this was the ideal place! On arrival we were greeted by Carolyn and jelly bean!! We were shown to our room which was delightful we had a family room, it has everything we needed tea, coffee biscuits, toiletries etc! We stayed for two nights which included a delicious breakfast with everything we needed Carolyn was most accommodating to our needs! We found our whole experience of lea house fantastic and Carolyn couldn't if been more helpful with where we wanted to go with the children and places to eat. We would highly recommend it and will look forward to returning!! Thank you for making us so welcome!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello - thanks so much for your lovely review. I can only say that it was a great pleasure to have a family with such nice and well-behaved children to stay. I am glad you enjoyed the trip and hope maybe to see you on another half-term break.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Lea House. Hostess, Caroline was very welcoming and helpful, guiding us to local attractions. Cottage is warm and beautiful, happy with our huge room. Clean and cosy with ample facilty. The bed is super comfy. Very impressed with the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmieT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
So glad you enjoyed our part of the world - and my lovely new mattresses! Hope you had a wonderful time in London too. Jelly Bean sends love to your 2 Jack Russells - I bet they were glad to see you home.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely accommodation set in lovely surroundings. Caroline is a fantastic host, as is Jelly Bean!! Accommodation was lovely and room was huge. Breakfast was delicious and we were made to feel right at home. We had a fantastic time at Lea House and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnergirl4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. Jelly and I look forward to meeting up with you again soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked directly from Israel and found out a very special place with special care.
The room is very good and you feel that Caroline thought about every detail. It is very very aesthetic!!! Caroline sent us to the pub aside for dinner and it was great. Before we went to bed after a long day Caroline asked what we want for breakfast and made a real effort to prepare us what fit to us. It was very very tasty and again aestheticly served

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I must admit I was a little taken aback to be asked for raw salad stuff for breakfast - that is a first - but I am delighted I was able to give you a spread that you enjoyed! And the Greek yoghurt I serve always seems to be a hit too. I hope the rest of your holiday went well and you found lovely Welsh hills to walk in. Do come over again soon - there is so much more to see.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Second stay in lea house. Again had great time Caroline was extremely welcoming. I felt I was at home, super breakfast, able to use wifi. Had the comforts and welcome of a b&b and the privacy of a hotel. Looking forward to staying again n it is relive to know that I can also take my dog.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaferrer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
So glad I was here this time to be able to meet and chat with you. I do hope the riding instructor exam went well - please let me know. I look forward to your return, for pleasure this time, with your dog.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
4.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#5 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing