We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the pub next door, and be made very welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go to the pub next door, and be made very welcome.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

As my birthday treat, myself and my sister booked 2 nights at Lea House.On arrival, the greeting I experienced was unbelievable! Caroline opened the door, I told her who I was, she told me to park the car "over there" as she was watching the Tennis, and shut the door! When she finally decided to let us in, we were ushered into the dining room and asked to choose breakfast and tea or coffee for the morning.We hadn't even seen the room!
At breakfast, I accidently spilt a cup of tea, over the table. I tried to mop as much up with napkins, and then went to inform Caroline. She asked me "how on earth had I done that" perhaps asking me had I scalded myself would of been the question to ask??!! I felt like a two tear old, and was very embarrased,as there was another family at the breakfast table.When she went back to the kitchen, I told my sister I was not staying another night and she agreed with me. I finished the breakfast (so tiny it wouldn't fill a baby bird) and went upstairs to pack.Caroline and another person were in the room.(we hadn't been given a key to lock the room, just 1 front door key) I was furious, and told her we were not staying any longer, that she was very patronising and rude, and that I had travelled all over the world,and had never experienced anything like it,anywhere! As she left the room, her passing comment was "we were in a bad mood when we arrived"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I am truly sorry that these ladies did not enjoy Lea House but I would like to address their complaints.
When they arrived I did point out where to park their car. Not quite sure how to do that other than “over there”. Yes, I was watching Andy Murray in the Olympic tennis and I did indeed pop back while the ladies were getting stuff from their car but I never shut the door on guests, and did go straight back to see them in as soon as they walked back to the house.
I was in their room in the morning, for a very good reason. I had offered to serve them breakfast late, so my housekeeper had nipped in to tidy their room while they were in the dining room. The room smelled so unpleasant that I was summoned to have a look. We found the remains of a very large take-away stuffed in the bin and empty drinks cans that turned out to be reeking of stale nicotine. They had clearly been smoking and eating in the room.
Both ladies left some of their breakfasts so the comment on the size is strange. The majority of my guests have judged the food I serve on its quality rather than quantity, as other reviews will attest to. I understand that the guest was embarrased but perhaps the reason the tea was spilled was because, in their own words they "got drunk" the night before, and were undoubtedly suffering the after-effects. When I cleared the table later, I found there was orange juice spilled all over it as well.
I supply bathrobes to the rooms that have a private bathroom which I expect guests to use to pop from one room to the other. I was pretty surprised to see these two ladies parading through the public areas of Lea House in my bathrobe and going out into the garden to have a smoke. Not the sort of behaviour I expect.
I don’t like to carp or make excuses – they were clearly not happy and pleased to leave after one night, which was mutually satisfactory as I was going to ask them to leave anyway as they were the kind of guests most b&bs rather dread. I hope next time they will find a b&b more suited to their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
153
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My partner and I booked travel to the U.K. from the States back in early 2012. Our stay would take us on a journey across the countryside for two weeks beginning in Birmingham for Crufts. From there we would be meeting with acquaintances in the Western part of the Country. Our three days in Ross-on-Wye Valley were superb...much thanks to Lea House and Caroline, Owner/Manager. We had heard of several B&B's...and, Lea House came highly recommended.
Upon arrival we were welcomed by "Jellybean", the Jack Russell Terrier, and Caroline. Our group of five adults were promptly shown the property and settled into our respective rooms...which there are various options to suit every need.
Caroline took our breakfast orders every evening for the next day....and what a breakfast!!
From there, Caroline provided directions around the area and answered any questions we had.
We did quite a bit of driving - two cars for our group. And, at the end of each day we always had plenty of parking at Lea House.
We found the location was ideal for our travel needs.
I would recommend Lea House for anyone planning to travel in the area. It is truly a gem!! We both hope to go back some day soon.
R & J

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Well, that is surely praise indeed. I am so glad I helped make your visit enjoyable.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Thank you Caroline for making us so welcome in your beautiful home. Nothing was too much, we were totaly spoilt with your wonderful cooking and really enjoyed our stay. Thanks also to Jellybean for being a fun friend to our Oscar.

Thank you again.

Mags, Colin and Oscar

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you - I enjoyed having you to stay and to serving dinner - it is always nice to cook for appreciative guests! Jelly was delighted to meet Oscar and especially with the free walk! Do bring Oscar back again soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Venue: Fantastic breakfasts with loads of home cooked food using local ingredients; a bunch of quirky fun pets; a very helpful host and a really nice, well stocked room (with quilted toilet paper so thick it could be used to make a nice summer jacket). Really can't ask for more for the price.

Location: Perfect for a short drive to Ross-on-Wye, Simons Yat and other great locations dotted around the Forest of Dean. Be sure to ask Caroline for advice on what to see based on the time of your stay, and for places to eat at. Surprisingly, Ross-on-Wye has a couple of cracking Ghurka restaurants (the one in town is the better of the two).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riz_Din
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks a lot for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you, your Mum and sister and I enjoyed having you to stay.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Only stayed overnight on business trip, made very welcome, comfortable sleep in twin room, Super Breakfast in the morning. Pub next door. What else can you ask for

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you Peter. I am glad the AA route planner picked me out and very glad you enjoyed your brief stay.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were instantly made to feel at home here. Caroline wasn't here for the first night, but she'd ensured we were really well looked after and we wanted for nothing. Our room was splendid, with everything we needed and lots more, from a completely want-for-nothing bathroom, to plenty of ideas for places to visit and things to do. Breakfast was superb, too, with plenty of variety, and as much as possible sourced locally. We weren't very lucky with the weather, but on our first night we were able to sit in the beautiful garden and read.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrigiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - I know how busy you are! Let's hope you get the chance for another break really soon.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We wanted a long weekend to relax and walk our two lively spaniels. Caroline provided the perfect place to stay. Sensible dog rules ensure that all guests are happy. jelly Bean, the resident terrier is delightfully friendly to humans and dogs alike and even went for an evening walk with our two! The rooms are spacious and well stocked with comforts, the food at breakfast was exactly right and the Saturday dinner cooked and served to perfection. Maps and ideas of where to go and what to do abound, and on returning to the house the lovely lounge is made available-in our case to watch the Wimbledon finals. We loved the area which was new to us and plan to return before too long. Lea House will be our base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks a lot. It was fun to share the excitement of Wimbledon finals with you and Jelly Bean enjoyed the doggy company too. Good job we have a good hose for when they all came back caked in mud!
I shall look forward to seeing you again
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
481 reviews
8.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#4 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing