We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B in every way, and we've stayed in many, as well as running our own in the past. The owner, Caroline Anderson, is a thoughtful and friendly hostess, with plenty of useful local knowledge. The house is full of character, and Caroline has furnished it beautifully. The very spacious guests' lounge and dining room, as well as the bedrooms, invite one to relax. Every detail seems to have been considered, including the availability of fresh milk for tea and coffee in the bedrooms. There is an unusually large choice of cooked breakfasts; we stayed two nights and enjoyed subtly-herbed scrambled eggs on toast with bacon, as well as the full English. This followed an imaginative fruit platter, though, of course, cereals are available. Lea is ten minutes' easy drive from Ross-on-Wye, which is an excellent centre for exploring the Forest of Dean, the Malverns, the Black Mountains, and the delights of Herefordshire. As well as Ross itself, Abergavenny, Monmouth, Hereford, Ledbury and Tewkesbury are full of beauty and interest – and this list of easily accessible places is far from complete.

Room Tip: Ask Caroline to advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
It is especially gratifying to receive praise from another b&b owner so, thank you Nigel so much. It was a real pleasure to have you both to stay and I hope you are able to find a reason to come again soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    41
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
148
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just a quick thank you Caroline for looking after us on our short but sweet visit from J and Alex. We stayed over the Bank holiday and thanks to our hostess directions managed to see quite a lot of this beautiful area but would love to come back and see more. Great location, very nice room with all you could ask for tea, coffee, biscuits etc plus information guides and a massive bed! Main dining and lounge area's have lovely beams and fireplace. The garden is very well kept and we would have loved to have spent a bit more time soaking up some rays if the British weather would have let us :). All in all a great time, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stchoicefancydress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Just sorry that even I could not do anything about the weather! Never mind - I hope it will persuade you to come back soon and this time make sure you bring the sun with you!
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights at this totally delightful B&B near Ross-on-Wye. Caroline Anderson, the owner, could not have been more welcoming and very helpful in directing me to local places of interest and a choice of restaurants for the one evening I did not eat in. The rooms are all absolutely charming and well appointed ... and spacious. My room had a very large bathroom right next door but some are en-suite.

Her breakfasts were superb as was the dinner I had there on the evening I arrived. Caroline is a really excellent cook. She makes her own bread and jams.

I cannot recommend Lea House more highly and look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: I only know the room I was in with the twin beds . although on the road the walls are so thick I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you Sara for your kind words. You know how jealous I am that you are living in Los Angeles - my favourite city! I will try to look you up if I get over there again. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to my home.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lea House provides an excellent location for B&B but in addition is well-placed as a comfortable and welcoming base from which to explore the geographical area around Ross-on-Wye.The House is located in the quiet hamlet of Lea with high quality accomodation and excellent breakfasts.Although Lea House is an old coaching house the service and welcome is anything but old-fashioned and Caroline provides a high standard of hosting with a friendly outgoing approach. The garden is a good place for small children to safely play away from the road.Carolines child-friendly dog is happy to play with children too,but is never a "nuisance dog"!Safe off-road parking. Your hostess proves to be a mine of information about the locality and things to do and places to visit.Excellent value,and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Having never visited this area before my search for a B & B was a shot in the dark via the internet but we struck lucky. Lea House is a very comfortable house, warm and welcoming with comfortable well equipped rooms and superb breakfasts. However, it was the care and attention to details shown by the owner, Caroline Anderson, that added to the enjoyment of our stay. She is very knowledgeable about the area and was full of good advice for places to visit including providing us with an OS map with places of interest and eating places marked making it very easy to plan our trips. In addition the breakfasts really do cater for all tastes. As a vegetarian it is rare to find a menu that allows so much choice for hot dishes and the platter of exotic fruits was a delightful start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you so much. I must say that I do consider it a major part of the role of a b&b owner to try to impart local knowledge and help one's guests to have the best time and get the most out of our area. I am glad it seems I succeeded with you two. Come again some time - I will show you more!
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Lea House provides bed & breakfast with a difference! A wonderful old house, large well-appointed rooms, great breakfasts and Caroline, a friendly and knowledgeable hostess who is happy to provide information about local attractions, restaurants etc., and will lend maps if needed. Plus for children there's a small but very active dog called Jellybean who will keep them happy for hours!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you. Jelly Bean certainly enjoyed playing with your little boy and was very sad to see you go! I am very fortunate that she is such a people (and especially children)-friendly little dog. Of course, she can be kept away if I have guests who are not happy with a canine greeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a loveley B&B with a great breakfast (lot's of choice). Caroline caters for all kinds of wishes and diets. She goes to great lengths to advice you on activities, walks and restaurants. she has plenty of maps for walkers that you can borrow. Thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArjanvdMeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#4 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#8 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
175 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing