We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned a Lot”

Bomber Command Museum of Canada
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Nanton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Learned a Lot”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went there as a birthday present for our friend who turned 90 years old, as he is fascinated with World War 2. Almost had to drag him away, and ourselves as well because it was so interesting. There were several restored planes which we could actually enter as well as information on other aspects of the War. I even found a mention of my father's regiment and he was from BC. We all completely enjoyed it, and our friend most especially was happy with his birthday present.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank menhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A world class Museum in a small friendly town”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stopping at the Bomber Command Museum of Canada in Nanton is a must for anyone travelling south on #2 From Calgary with an interest in Aviation history.. They have built a very interesting collection of aircraft and memorabilia to honour those that served in Bomber Command and the B.C.A.T.P.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1tiredtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing museum”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

we toured the Museum and were so impressed by the work that has been done and the continuing ongoing work, each display has so much detail and history. We spent 3 hours and want to return as there is so much to absorb. The Memorial Wall outside the Museum is worth the trip alone. An excellent job done by the volunteers. Don't miss the opportunity to tour this Museum

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I took a bus load of school kids there and it was a VERY interesting visit. The staff are very Knowledgeable. I would highly recomend this stop to anyone that's travling and site seeing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnepeopleOneblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nanton Air Museum”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I live about 45 minutes from this Museum, so if your coming from Montana up to Calgary you will drive right thru this town.. Not only is it a clean town but lots to see, besides the Museum the little main street has fabulous little shops and a FANTASTIS CANDY STORE, candies from back in the day. You can't miss the Museum, as their are Fighter Jets sitting outside, the museum itself is located inside a huge hanger . and most displays are open and you can wonder around. If you are into Military this is a must to see. They have a little gift shop inside , and if you are travelling with smaller children there is a park right outside and picnic tables. There is a beautiful memorial to all the Canadian pilots that were killed in missions surrounded by a little memorial garden There is a suggested donation to get in and all the money go's back into keeping this museum open and functional, all the personnel working thee are volunteers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomber Command Museum of Canada also viewed

 

Been to Bomber Command Museum of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing