We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to relax with excellent food,great company and breathtaking views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortijo Puerto el Peral
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almogia
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax with excellent food,great company and breathtaking views.”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were met by the Owner of the Hotel without fuss or delay at Malaga airport and driven for 40 minutes inland deep into the Andalucian countryside. The Hotel built some 6 years ago nestles a mile or so from the Antequara road some 5 miles north of Amoglia and is built in the traditional Spanish Cortijo style with a Mirador and large courtyard. The Gardens are well tended and and to the rear is a large swimming pool with umbrellas, loungers and a small "help yourself" bar. Downstairs there is a large lounge ,traditional dining room and small bar area. Hetty the Owner's wife met us on the vine covered terrace and greeted us with coffee and requests for our "menu" likes and dislikes. We soon became aware that Alan and Hetty ran the Hotel themselves and only brought in staff when absolutely necessary.This actually worked extremely well during our stay. The cusine was very good to excellent and we were very pleased with all aspects of this family run hotel. During our stay I managed a round of Golf and visits to Cordoba and Granada....we plan to return next year and are recommending this venue to our local "Bridge" Club..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HertfordshireDavidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I already stayed several times in this marvellous hotel and I always enjoyed it very much. With the very personal service of Alan and Hetty it is the perfect place to relax, but also to be active in nature just around the hotel. For photographers like me there are tousands of nice spots. I am already looking forward going back to Puerto el Peral next time. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misueno67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojen, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This astonishing country hotel is managed by the British/Dutch couple Alan and Hetty. The service is friendly, personal and never invading. The 10 suite-size rooms are all different using warm colors respecting Andalusian tradition and each offering wonderful views on unspoiled landscapes. They are decorated with magnificent modern acryl paintings painted by Hetty. The cuisine is fabulous and creative. The small roads both from Malaga and from Antequerra are not too long (30 min by car) and pass through incredible landscapes with the El Torcal mountain range as a unique background scene. We often stay at the Cortijo Puerto el Peral, most recently to attend the annual Antequera Blues Festival.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spriehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

My search on the internet for somewhere to stay within an easy drive of Malaga airport, came up with Cortijo Puerto el Peral. Our expectations were reasonably high having read the previous reviews on 'Trip Advisor' and I am pleased to report that we were not disappointed in any way. In fact, the warm welcome that we received from Alan and Hetty on arrival, was the pre-cursor of a very enjoyable, albeit short, stay in their beautiful hotel. They have managed to create an 'experience' that is somewhere between a conventional hotel and 'house-party'. Hetty cooked a wonderful meal for us in the evening which we washed down with some very acceptable red wine from Alan's 'honesty bar'.
Situated where it is at the end of a road that winds up into the hills, the views are stunning and we intend to return for a longer stay and do some walking and exploring. It is the perfect place to 'chill-out'. We were genuinely sorry to leave next morning.

  • Liked — The relaxed ambiance
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This is a modern building in a traditional style. the mountain views are great and the welcome is warm. The English/Dutch couple who run it are friendly and very helpful. Allen will cook you great poached eggs for breakfast in addition to the buffet.

The bedrooms are spacious they have generous wardobe space and large bathrooms. There is outside seating in the courtyard, by the good sized pool and under a shady terrace. While inside there is a large comfortable sitting room and a quiet room at the top of the third floor with 360 degree views.

You may not be lucky enough to have the cabaret supplied by the hostess and one of our fellow guests we enjoyed one evening but you will undoubtably enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Quality accommodation, great position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkSpinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We say the best hotel in Andalucia, although we haven't stayed in them all! From the first moment we entered the courtyard we were captivated with the Puerto el Peral. Hetty and Alan have created the kind of atmosphere that makes its guests feel like they are staying in a home rather than a hotel. Behind the scenes all works so efficiently, always with such a smile that you simply can't believe there isn't a team of helpers hidden away behind the kitchen doors. And that was despite us staying at a time when Hetty had fewer staff than normal. The bedrooms are spacious and so comfortable it is difficult to get up in the morning, luckily everything is geared towards relaxtion. The views out towards El Torcal mountain will have you standing at the window, or the poolside for hours. The pool is far bigger than most hotels of this size offer (16 metres) and kept gleamingly clean. In fact, we found it pretty difficult to tear ourselves away and visit some of the local sights, and there are plenty worth visiting. We absolutely loved our stay and cannot fault the paradise that Hetty and Alan have created. You will never be looked after so warmly. We defy anyone not to fall in love with the Puerto el Peral

  • Liked — Hetty and Alan, the owners and the view
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupert_and_isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnhem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

CORTIJO PUERTO EL PERAL, MONTOROSO, ALMOGIA - MALAGA. June 2007. Reviewer Mr & Mrs Schenk from the Netherlands. For a second time we visited this magnificent hotel in authentic ambience, build on a hill
with a wonderful view over the Andalusian hills and the Torcal Mountains. Alan and Hetty Handforth give their guests a personal and warm attention, you become a member of the El Peral family and they do everything they can to make you feel at home. The quality of the rooms, the beds, Hetty's delicious cooking in combination with the tranquillity of the lovely terrace and courtyard made us forget about
everything and again we had such a joyful time which we'll never forget. Obviously we hope to come back there in the future. Absolutely recommended hotel for the happy few!!

  • Liked — location, high quality, silence
  • Disliked — nothing we could think of
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martin-roelof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almogia
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
9.6 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
9.5 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
116 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
129 reviews
11.0 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Puerto el Peral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Puerto el Peral

Property: Cortijo Puerto el Peral
Address: | Monterroso, 29150 Almogia, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Almogia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almogia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Puerto el Peral 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Puerto El Peral is widely recognized as one of the most beautiful and exclusive country hotels in Andalucia. Situated in the middle of some of Andalucia's most spectacular countryside it offers, to our guest, all the luxury that you would expect in a four star rural hotel but with a "laid back" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cortijo Puerto el Peral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Puerto El Peral Almogia, Spain - Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing